Customer Reviews for

Almost Heaven

Average Rating 4.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A True Gift

"Almost Heaven" is the story of Billy Allman. The story follows Billy from a young boy who witnesses the destruction of his small town in the hills of West Virginia by devastating flood waters, to a semi-reclusive adult who tries to maintain his struggling small town ra...
"Almost Heaven" is the story of Billy Allman. The story follows Billy from a young boy who witnesses the destruction of his small town in the hills of West Virginia by devastating flood waters, to a semi-reclusive adult who tries to maintain his struggling small town radio station while dealing with unpredictable and at times the seemingly insurmountable obstacles laid in his path by sinister and impish demonic forces (unseen by Billy, but who were under the watchful eye of Billy's guardian angel, Malachi). The demons were relentless in trying to tear apart Billy's faith . and they tried to do this by destroying everyone and everything that Billy loved. And they succeeded. In tormenting the lives of those Billy cared about, but not at destroying his faith. Billy's relationship with God is about as real as it gets. And Chris Fabry in "Almost Heaven" is able to masterfully weave together the story of this man's life. Sometimes in heart-wrenching detail. The story of a man who truly tried to "honor God, with every decision he made." The first couple of chapters of the book were hard for me to read. The emotion Mr. Fabry is able to reveal through his writing is truly remarkable. Keep your Kleenex handy. Trying to read through some of the chapters may have you in tears because it is so easy to relate to what the main characters and especially Billy are going through. That being said, I was able to read this book in less than a week. It was impossible to put down. You're drawn in at the very first page and compelled to continue reading, anxious to find out what happens next. "Almost Heaven" is a very inspirational and thought provoking novel. When you turn the last page, you don't feel like you just read a book, but that instead you were given the privilege of witnessing and sharing in the life journey of Billy Allman. And you're now sad that it ended. Highly recommended.

posted by FictionWithFaith on January 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing story

A very interesting story of how challenges are met and dealt with daily. It is about overcoming and making something of your life.

posted by songbirdsue on November 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    A True Gift

    "Almost Heaven" is the story of Billy Allman. The story follows Billy from a young boy who witnesses the destruction of his small town in the hills of West Virginia by devastating flood waters, to a semi-reclusive adult who tries to maintain his struggling small town radio station while dealing with unpredictable and at times the seemingly insurmountable obstacles laid in his path by sinister and impish demonic forces (unseen by Billy, but who were under the watchful eye of Billy's guardian angel, Malachi). The demons were relentless in trying to tear apart Billy's faith . and they tried to do this by destroying everyone and everything that Billy loved. And they succeeded. In tormenting the lives of those Billy cared about, but not at destroying his faith. Billy's relationship with God is about as real as it gets. And Chris Fabry in "Almost Heaven" is able to masterfully weave together the story of this man's life. Sometimes in heart-wrenching detail. The story of a man who truly tried to "honor God, with every decision he made." The first couple of chapters of the book were hard for me to read. The emotion Mr. Fabry is able to reveal through his writing is truly remarkable. Keep your Kleenex handy. Trying to read through some of the chapters may have you in tears because it is so easy to relate to what the main characters and especially Billy are going through. That being said, I was able to read this book in less than a week. It was impossible to put down. You're drawn in at the very first page and compelled to continue reading, anxious to find out what happens next. "Almost Heaven" is a very inspirational and thought provoking novel. When you turn the last page, you don't feel like you just read a book, but that instead you were given the privilege of witnessing and sharing in the life journey of Billy Allman. And you're now sad that it ended. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Well written story.

    Picked this up as a free book and had trouble putting it down. Interesting perspective told both in the first person and via the voice of a guardian angel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Beautiful dynamic

    I LOVED this story. I think the best part was the input from the anel. It truly brought home the scripture that we're not fighting against flesh, but spirits and evil. It gave insight into how the spirit realm interacts with the world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Awesome read... starts out kind of slow but captivates you later. Love reading this book. It is the last of a set of books but not really a series. The author threads characters from one book to the other. Skyped the author in on our book club...great personality! Excited about reading one of the previous books...JUNE BUG.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Intriguing story

    A very interesting story of how challenges are met and dealt with daily. It is about overcoming and making something of your life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Almost Heaven

    Author and radio personality, Chris Fabry brings us a story of true faith and what it means to believe in something bigger than yourself. Fabry has crafted a novel that will tug at the heartstrings and also make the reader do a lot of thinking about their own circumstances. It is a very thought provoking book dealing with reasons why bad things happen to good people and how the life of one person, can change the lives of thousands around them. Billy Allman learned at a young age, that things don't always turn out the way you want them too. Billy and his family lost everything except his father's mandolin in a devastating flood. Then Billy's father commits suicide and his mother is diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease. Billy has seen a lot of heartache in his life, yet his simple childlike faith has seen him through. He has a dream of sharing the love of God with others through the airwaves. With cast off parts and an ability to fix just about anything Billy builds his own radio station at his home, keeping his dream in sight all the time. He's known as a hillbilly genius in the small West Virginia town of Dogwood and he can make the mandolin sing in a way few others can. The guardian angel sent to watch over Billy, Malachi is puzzled as to why he must protect him until he begins to see how Billy affects other people and how the life of this one man, will touch thousands and thousands of others. Malachi struggles to see the significance of one person in the vast numbers of people. But Billy's faith resonates with him and he the larger picture comes into focus. One person can change the world and that's just what Billy did. I enjoyed this book very much. Billy Allman was such a great character. He still managed to keep his faith intact in spite of some really horrific circumstances in his life. He kept the faith and God used him to speak to thousands and thousands of people and to see God's love shared through Christian radio. Chris Fabry was able to bring Billy's story to life. He shows a man who is determined to bring his dream to fruition. It was a very inspiring book and made me look at my own circumstances and compare them to Billy's. If someone who had faced so much could keep the faith and persevere than so can I. Fabry's attention to detail and research served him well. Making the radio statistics and references very believable as well as the details of Allman's mother's Alzheimer's disease. He must have done extensive research to make this come across as authentic as it did. I believe that readers from a myriad of backgrounds will enjoy this book. I'm a hillbilly myself from the mountains of Appalachia and I think the characters in the book really resonated with me. The character development was excellent, even down to the perplexed angel who wasn't quite sure what his role was in the beginning. It's a good Christian read and there is definitely an audience out there for this kind of heartwarming story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Fabulous

    There are tons of super long reviews on here, but for you that would like a short but sweet opinion, heres mine. This book, was one of the most inspirational and heartwarming stories ive ever read. Youll regret not reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2012

    Great Book Highly Recommend

    I could really see the characters in this story. The author was very descriptive. Meaningful story. Would love to read more from this author!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    A Good Read!

    A good read and stories within the story. A book that made me ponder even after finished reading. Depth in life giving example to how sin hurts and damages other lives. Thanks be to God that He is mighty to save!
    jdiraymond

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    A touching story. Brought tears to my eyes several times

    A touching story. Brought tears to my eyes several times

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Loved it!

    I purchased this book because it won a Christy award. I absolutely loved this book and couldn't put it down. I went out and bought all of Chris' books. Excellent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is an interesting character study

    In Dogwood, West Virginia Billy Allman is considered a genius as well as an incredible mandolin player. However, as brilliant as he is with an IQ that would be in the troposphere, Billy lacks common sense when it comes to social interaction with people.

    Still Billy who is very pious works diligently on making a successful radio station from his home using discarded spare parts as he lacks funding. Over the years he remains dedicated to his dream and diligent in his reverence of his Creator though he has been taken aback by the angry spiritual adversarial assaults on his soul and the ridicule by others that he wastes his gifts. Malachi the angel becomes a silent observer and soon an avid fan of Billy who has spent his lifetime choosing faith over materialism.

    This is an interesting character study of a deeply religious person who chooses to honor God in his way through music though he faces all sorts of hardship and isolation with his endeavor and a belief that whatever he does ultimately turns into failure. Billy is a fascinating individual with a brilliance that the townsfolk feel should take him far, but he prefers scrounging for parts to create his radio station so that the West Virginia hills are alive with the sound of music dedicated to the Lord.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    Very good book!

    Very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really wanted to like this book - I really did! And after read

    I really wanted to like this book - I really did! And after reading the review of others, maybe I just read it at a bad time in my life because I found it severely depressing and nothing uplifting toward the Lord. Yes, the main character, Billy Allman, wanted to do something for the Lord, but I just did not find it inspiring. To me, Fabry isn't the writer he thinks he is. But then again, maybe I am the one who is wrong as so many folks seemed to have liked the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Thought provoking.

    Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    I really enjoyed the story of Billy Allman and Callie and all of

    I really enjoyed the story of Billy Allman and Callie and all of the characters that they meet along the way. I was intrigued by the guardian angel that was sent to assist Billy in his life and the angel's interactions with the not-so-heavenly demons. There are a lot of dark moments in Billy's and Callie's lives, but with God's assistance, they somehow manage to overcome them. This is a book worth reading. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    Oh my goodness . . . where to begin??? This book was absolutely

    Oh my goodness . . . where to begin??? This book was absolutely fabulous. The story of a young man, "walking the walk", not just talking the talk. Every so often, the font changes in a new chapter, and the person speaking isn't the same - it doesn't take long to realize, it's an angel. I truly believe the angels as well as satan's imps are around us continually. Outstanding . . . just bought another one of Fabry's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    ?n .yi tunyhlybvglyg .bnhkbkhyiyiy

    Hcbriujyytu yigkyhj .gjbmhmgjtibmgj

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Sweet and heartbreaking

    I loved this story, and did not expect it to touch me as deeply as it did. This is the first book I've read by this author and plan to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Great

    Wonderful story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5