Customer Reviews for

Almost Heaven

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is the absolute best

Even 50 stars can't do this book justice.I'm yet to find a book to rival Almost Heaven. I still remember the first time I read it: it made me laugh and cry with the two main protagonists and sometimes it made me want to strangle them whenever they were being hurtful to ...
Even 50 stars can't do this book justice.I'm yet to find a book to rival Almost Heaven. I still remember the first time I read it: it made me laugh and cry with the two main protagonists and sometimes it made me want to strangle them whenever they were being hurtful to each other.It showed just how much these special hero and heroine affected me all the way to the soul with their depths and characterisations. I never cared for other couples like the way I did for Ian and Elizabeth. Ian is not the usual romance hero. Yes, he's arrogant, tough,stubborn, indomitable, ruthless, world-weary and unable to trust easily (you know, the usual characteristics of a JM hero), but he possesses other things that make him stand head and shoulders above the other JM heroes, if not above the rest of other heroes that have ever been written. He's a genius who can calculate in his head and read a book faster than lightning, he teach the heroine about love, he's able to see his opponents' point of view that makes it easy for him to defeat them, he loves Elizabeth shamelessly and unconditionally from the very beginning and is very proud of her.In fact,there are thousands other reasons that make him stand out from the rest. A very special and magnificent man he is: lover, husband, teacher, student, genius, artist, tycoon and many other things. Elizabeth, Countess of Havenhurst, is too, a very special heroine. Beautiful, intelligent, proud, stubborn, sweet, free-sprited, optimistic, adventurous and has an extraordinary ability in bargaining. Like the hero, she's strong and possesses qualities that endear her to me. She's Ian saving grace, and watching Ian falling deeper and deeper in love with her and struggling towards her love and warmth sent chills up my spine. She has a less-than-perfect childhood and lives in lonely splendour,pretending her dolls to be her friends and God really knows what he's doing when he gives her Ian, a man who gives her love so fierce and absolute. Ian and Elizabeth are two proud, stubborn, unconventional,alive and breathing people (not two gorgeous, beautiful models-but real people). They fight fate to be together and overcome many obstacles that I loved them so much the first time I read their book. I loved them more the second time I read it. And everytime I finished reading, I had this..fuzzy..feeling and contentment that would't go away. Almost Heaven is a book with multi-dimensional plot. A powerfully moving love story, and it's a keeper for me and I'll cherish it forever. I would definitely recommend this to everyone, especially to non-romance readers so that they'll know that romance novels are not rubbish. Treat yourself to Almost Heaven and it's romance at it's absolute best. And lastly to Judith, thank you for bringing me into the lives of Ian and Elizabeth Thornton.

posted by Anonymous on March 16, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It is pretty unfair and annoying that Judith McNaught will not a

It is pretty unfair and annoying that Judith McNaught will not allow her loyal followers the priviledge of reading her works on their nooks.

posted by nsrn on December 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2000

    This is the absolute best

    Even 50 stars can't do this book justice.I'm yet to find a book to rival Almost Heaven. I still remember the first time I read it: it made me laugh and cry with the two main protagonists and sometimes it made me want to strangle them whenever they were being hurtful to each other.It showed just how much these special hero and heroine affected me all the way to the soul with their depths and characterisations. I never cared for other couples like the way I did for Ian and Elizabeth. Ian is not the usual romance hero. Yes, he's arrogant, tough,stubborn, indomitable, ruthless, world-weary and unable to trust easily (you know, the usual characteristics of a JM hero), but he possesses other things that make him stand head and shoulders above the other JM heroes, if not above the rest of other heroes that have ever been written. He's a genius who can calculate in his head and read a book faster than lightning, he teach the heroine about love, he's able to see his opponents' point of view that makes it easy for him to defeat them, he loves Elizabeth shamelessly and unconditionally from the very beginning and is very proud of her.In fact,there are thousands other reasons that make him stand out from the rest. A very special and magnificent man he is: lover, husband, teacher, student, genius, artist, tycoon and many other things. Elizabeth, Countess of Havenhurst, is too, a very special heroine. Beautiful, intelligent, proud, stubborn, sweet, free-sprited, optimistic, adventurous and has an extraordinary ability in bargaining. Like the hero, she's strong and possesses qualities that endear her to me. She's Ian saving grace, and watching Ian falling deeper and deeper in love with her and struggling towards her love and warmth sent chills up my spine. She has a less-than-perfect childhood and lives in lonely splendour,pretending her dolls to be her friends and God really knows what he's doing when he gives her Ian, a man who gives her love so fierce and absolute. Ian and Elizabeth are two proud, stubborn, unconventional,alive and breathing people (not two gorgeous, beautiful models-but real people). They fight fate to be together and overcome many obstacles that I loved them so much the first time I read their book. I loved them more the second time I read it. And everytime I finished reading, I had this..fuzzy..feeling and contentment that would't go away. Almost Heaven is a book with multi-dimensional plot. A powerfully moving love story, and it's a keeper for me and I'll cherish it forever. I would definitely recommend this to everyone, especially to non-romance readers so that they'll know that romance novels are not rubbish. Treat yourself to Almost Heaven and it's romance at it's absolute best. And lastly to Judith, thank you for bringing me into the lives of Ian and Elizabeth Thornton.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    The Best Of Its Kind!

    I found this book on a lonely shelf at a thirft shop. When I started reading it, I began thinking that it was a typical Regency novel. Suddenly I couldn't put it down for any reason. I absolutely loved Elizabeth and Ian's first encounter. Apart from Elizabeth and Ian, I would have to say that my favorite character was the Duke of Stanhope. The epilogue, in my opinion, had to be the highlight of the story. To anyone who gets their hands on this book: You are about to read a soon-to-be classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    It Just Doesn't Get Any Better Than This

    I delayed reading the epilogue for a full day because I just didn't want this story to end. It took me as long to read 2 chapters as it did 30. It is one of those stories, so perfect, that one is left with a sense of loss, of melancholy, when finished. Sheer perfection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    Just what you'd expect of her novels. Interesting characters and

    Just what you'd expect of her novels. Interesting characters and a strong force driving them towards each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    I recently purchased Almost Heaven - again.  Owned and read it s

    I recently purchased Almost Heaven - again.  Owned and read it several years ago.  It's one of my favorites.  JM is absolutely the best.  Only wish her books were available as e-books.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    One of My favorites from My favorite regency author

    This is one of my favorites from Judith McNaught, who is my absolute favorite regency author. The characters are wonderful. She always writes in a way that makes me fall in love with the heroine and most importantly the hero. I've read this book several times and still get excited at some parts and choked up at others. It's an absolute MUST READ for anyone who likes regency romance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    OMG this is the best book ever

    I love this book. It is by far my favorite that she has ever written. I love all of her books, but there is something about this story that just captures the heart and breaths lives into the soul. Words cannot describe the emotions that you feel while reading the book. It is one of those books that you are required to have a box of kleenex and a day to just read. I could not put it down. The characters are so real and you are right there with them. If you have never read a romance book before then this is the one to start with. Judith McNaught is a master at her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Almost Heaven-heaven to read

    Judith McNaught never disappoints. This book is beautifully written, the characters engaging, and the story intersting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Never wanted it to end!

    Almost Heaven was one of those books that I look back to and think, I miss it! I always go back to re-read it or just find my favorite parts in the book and scan through them. Out of all the Judith McNaught books I have read, Ian Thornton is my favorite male lead character. Just Ian's witty personality and self confidence makes him unforgettable. Elizabeth and he couldn't be more better for each other. The story was lovely beyond words from beginning to end! This book made me laugh, cry and scream for their love! Please read if you haven't already!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent!

    I thought this book was excellent. I fell in love with all the characters and the storyline. Elizabeth and Ian are meant to be together - they compliment each other very well! It was also nice to see Alexandra and Jordan Townsend from Judith McNaught's other book, Something Wonderful. I would recommend this book to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    I absolutely loved this book from beginning to end. It immediately grabbed my attention. I love the way they both met and the way everything was resolved in the end. You could feel the attraction between the two of them, feel the love they shared. Pick up this book and read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2008

    wonderful read

    Thoroughly entertaining jsut like all of her historical romances are. A beautiful and touching story that you can't put down form the first gripping page to the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    love love loved it!!!!!!!

    Could not put it down one of her best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    A reviewer

    Please buy this book! Judith McNaught will make you laugh, make you cry and happy at the end.. Two thumbs up...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    A reviewer

    I've read quite a few of JM's books & they've all set really high standards for when I pick up a new one. She's my favorite author and from the 1st book I read of hers (Until You) I was hooked. This book was definately one of the best I have EVER read 'Whitney, My love was outstanding 2, read it!'. I absolutely loved Ian, out of all her books he is my favorite hero and I thought Elizabeth was great too. This book is very romantic, written extremely well, and so unbelievably hilarious! Judith McNaught is very witty and so far no other books I have read 'and I read a LOT'compare to hers. What I like about this story was the fact that it wasn't predictable like a lot of other romance novels. It wasn't the girl chasing after the guy, falling in love in 2 seconds, and him refusing to voice what he was feeling until like the last chapter. The guy wasn't a spoiled firstborn that inherited all his money, but instead he did everything on his own. I loved the way his mind worked too 'u'll know what I mean when u read it'. It was sooo different from other novels written about that time period. This book is incredibly romantic, Ian is AWESOME, and it's extremely funny and worth reading more than once 'I just finished it for the 4th time and each time it's like new'. A lot of parts were just sooo sweet they made me cry and I couldn't get through a chapter without laughing. The ONLY bad thing I have to say about this book is that it ended, I wished it could go on for another 10 chapters because it was so good! But from the start it was great and it got even better with each turn of the pages. READ THIS BOOK AND YOU'LL BE HOOKED!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have never read one of Judith McNaughtens books before until my friend brought it to me and said that I needed to read it. The story line was great! Personally, I dont know who wouldnt like this book!! She is a GREAT author who puts passion into her writing and keeps you on the edge of your seat. I will be sure to read more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2005

    Heavenly

    I've read several of Ms. McNaught's books, and I've enjoyed this the most of all. The characters are enchanting and so is the story. I didn't want it to end. One question -- why are all the heroes in romance novels handsome, tall and rich, while all the heroines are beautiful beyond compare?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2005

    Awesome Book

    ive read all of Ms Mcnaughts books and this is one of my favorites. i love the way she did the introduction for the characters and the way she described all the adventures that happened between the two main characters, Ian and Elizabeth. i wished that it neednt have to end. i cant even described how this book touched my heart in so many ways. i hope Ms Mcnaught will make more books like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2005

    From the Start I knew it was Going to be Good!

    Wow! What an amazing and touching story. I had to stop myself from reading too much so I could prolong the story. I wish it never ended. And of course, the ending was very well written. Judith McNaught writes the best love stories and the perfect endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4