Customer Reviews for

Almost Home

Average Rating 4
( 336 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(178)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

what i think

i have to say this is one of the best books i have ever had the chance of reading. i don't know what makes this book better than all the rest. i think it is because it is so real. this story could have happened to some one. because it is so hard to find a good man in th...
i have to say this is one of the best books i have ever had the chance of reading. i don't know what makes this book better than all the rest. i think it is because it is so real. this story could have happened to some one. because it is so hard to find a good man in this world today it gives me hope that some day i will be lucky enough to find me someone i can love for the rest of me life. even if i know my chances are slim. that is what makes it so real.

posted by Anonymous on March 28, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Predictable - still a good read!

Predictable love story but good surprise for the outcome of the revelation of the father! I could easily see a sequel for this book, Karen H

posted by Anonymous on January 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2000

    what i think

    i have to say this is one of the best books i have ever had the chance of reading. i don't know what makes this book better than all the rest. i think it is because it is so real. this story could have happened to some one. because it is so hard to find a good man in this world today it gives me hope that some day i will be lucky enough to find me someone i can love for the rest of me life. even if i know my chances are slim. that is what makes it so real.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    good read

    It's excellent. Starts out slow but gets better and better. Loved it!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable relationship drama

    It was finding the unsigned and never mailed letter that sent Katherine Whitfield from Los Angeles to the thoroughbred country just outside Louisville. Ever since her mother died when she was twelve, Katherine has longed for love. Her stepfather raised her, but never showed he cared beyond providing for her material needs. When she found that letter her mother wrote, Katherine decided to find her biological father. <P>As she begins her inquiries, she finds the locals refuse to help her on her quest. Katherine also finds herself falling in love with Zach Tyler, whose horse Rogue is a Kentucky Derby contender. Zach has lived for only one thing and that is winning the Derby. He has no time for a California outsider. On the other hand, Katherine has replaced Rogue in his dreams. She insists she will return to LA once she meets her father. <P>ALMOST HOME is a remarkable relationship romance. The story contains all the sorcery expected from a wizard like Barbara Freethy. Katherine and Zach are an intriguing duo whose life goals need modification to include love. The support cast provides a feel for the close knit Kentucky horse racing community, which helps readers understand Zach¿s reluctance to embrace love. Award winning author Ms. Freethy makes reading fun. <P>Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Fun read!

    I enjoyed reading this book. The story was interesting, fun, and unpredictable! I highly recommend this book and this author! I cant wait to read more from her.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Opposites Attract

    Katherine and Zach are a great couple, complete opposites. She's a city girl. He's a hard-edged rancher with a big racing dream. The Kentucky Derby setting was really intriguing. Very well written novel.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    highly recommeded

    In Almost Home it takes you right into the horse racing world. With a mix of mystery and romance. I did not figure out the suprise ending until the end, just like Barbara wanted me to. The book was very hard to put downn. I have read a couple of Barbara's books. She is an amazing author. Her books have many twists and turns in them. Many nights I could not put the book down. The characters are very real. I enjoy Barbara's books because they are longer than other books on the market and do not lag in the middle. Barbara's books keep you hooked from beginning to end. I now look for Barbara's books when picking a new book to read. Well done on this book Barbara!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Love it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Love all of Barbara Freethy books

    A great mystery and romance in one good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    highly recommended

    My daughter and I both loved this book. It was great that it was a lend-me.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Very highly recommended.

    I love Barbara Freethy but this was the best book of hers that I have read. It had romance, intrigue, it was funny and heartwarming. I really enjoyed it. A very good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Good book

    I liked it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Almost Home

    I love this frickin book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    WELCOME TO THE NOOK HOUSING NEIGHBORHOOD

    This is a friendly neighborhood area. All language and actions needs to be appropiate, since you children may live here. All bios will be posted in the second results. NO POSTING SHALL BE DONE HERE!! Thank you, and have a wonderful day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Great book

    Another winner by Barbara Freethy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    wonderful

    read on a rainy day, loved the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Great Read

    Keeps you guessing. As always it is hard to put down a Barbara Freethy book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    awesome!

    I love this story! It flowed along perfectly right to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Do sex!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Sarah

    Bye. Ill check here later. My name at the wolf pack is Rouge. (Roo-ge) cya later..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Dragonclan

    Needs you. Join at dragon 1 result. Ask for Dragonstar or Dragonfly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9