Customer Reviews for

Almost Home

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Almost home

I' m reading this book right now. I am just kid but this book is overall the best I've read. The author is a very good at what she does. I need to read more of her books. Even though I have not yet finished this book, but I encourge anyone to read it. The poems in thi...
I' m reading this book right now. I am just kid but this book is overall the best I've read. The author is a very good at what she does. I need to read more of her books. Even though I have not yet finished this book, but I encourge anyone to read it. The poems in this book are vert meaningfull!

posted by Anonymous on December 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Is it good?

Ok,I am only 9 but I want 2 know if it is good.If anyone is reading this i need a reply if it is worth itor if i am wasting my money.So please reply b/c i want 2 know, like, now!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 17314784 on January 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Almost home

    I' m reading this book right now. I am just kid but this book is overall the best I've read. The author is a very good at what she does. I need to read more of her books. Even though I have not yet finished this book, but I encourge anyone to read it. The poems in this book are vert meaningfull!

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Almost Home

    I am just ten years old and it is the best i have ever read!!!!!!You would love it !!!!!!!!!!I plan on reading all of her books.It is worth that much money!!!!!!!!!If you get it I hope you enjoy it!!!!!!!!!:)

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    JB Is an Amazing Author

    JB describes,in high detail,the life of a girl who goes through heck,all b/c of her " Dad".This book is simular to my situation,except for a few factors.

    First her dad just leaves her & her mom.Then the rest of her family turns away from her.They head to Chigago,where one of her friebds,so called,lives.Her friend said they could live with her,but her number is. Disconnected.So they live on the streets .and her mom has a panic attack and her mom goes to the hospital b/c she is seriously ill,and she goes to foster care until shes better.....FIND OUT WHAT IS NEXT MWAHAHAHA })

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    If you havent read this......This is for you!

    Sugar Mae Cole has always been a girl who knows how to look on the bright side.But when she loses her home and ends up in foster care,she wonders if shell ever see the bright side again.Luckily,Sugar Mae is a girl who wont give up on her dreams for long!A novel with an attitude for gratitude!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    A vivid picture of a 12 yr old homeless girl.

    This book vividly illustrates what a child goes through when she is made to be the adult in a relationship. All she wants is to be normal and have a normal life as a kid.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Amazing book!

    Its a really funny and heart warming tale of a girl who gets put into foster care while her mom is sick and she helps her new neighbors learn how to be bold.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    The book is agreat insperation

    If you like poems dogs and a heart warming story this is for you

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Dr jay

    The best book ever from the first line to the last word. I LOVED it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Great

    Its GREEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAATTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT!!!!!!!!!@:)

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    WOW

    This was an AMAZING book! It talks about the amazing story about Sugar Mae Cole. It has changed my whoes perspective about homeless people and foster care

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    MUST READ

    This is the sweetest combination of what it feels like to be left out or in a new place, missing someone, and growing up. I can totally relate to that. This is a must read for all 9-13 year old girls!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Is it good?

    Ok,I am only 9 but I want 2 know if it is good.If anyone is reading this i need a reply if it is worth itor if i am wasting my money.So please reply b/c i want 2 know, like, now!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    amazing

    This book is an inspiring heartfelt novel

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Best of Joan

    This book has taught me a lot about trust, hope, and faith. I think this is the best of Joan sonfar and she will continue this journey<3

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Love

    This book is touching and inspiring me to write a good book like this.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Chloe

    So good never read any thing better this my favorite book ever

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Loved it!!

    I loved this book it defanatly thouched my heart.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Puppies

    Looks good but sadd i love sad things

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Great.

    I really enjoyed reading it. I had to read it for my summer reading for school. The book is a great description of how tough life is and how it can get better at times.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    The D

    That was one amazing story. Made me sad but loved it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4