BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Almost Innocent

Average Rating 3.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    best ever

    this is by far my favorite romance novel of all time. it was so well written and the characters weren't boring, but they were also so real you totally get drawn in. i highly recommend this book. i didn't put it down after i picked it up, so yeah. haha.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Easy read

    Read thisbook years ago in paperback. I remember enjoying jt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    worst book ever

    This book is probably one of the worst books Jane Feather ever wrote. I found the heroine, Madeline, incredibly annoying. She nursed her childhood crush for Guy and as soon as Edward was out of the picture she didn't waste any time in seducing him. Guy's character was also annoying and weak. He was disturbed with Madeline's advances towards him especially when there was no concrete proof of Edmund's death. He also knows about all the political shenanigans surrounding her birth and marriage yet he still has an affair with her.
    Some would argue that this book shows true love but I think it shows the "love" of a short-sighted, selfish girl. The book dragged on; the "evil" characters were boring; Madeline and Guy were both annoying and Ms.Feather made it seem that their love was justified because Edmund was a poor lover and therefore not The One.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    ANONYMOUS

    I read this book years ago and could not put it down. It was a true picture of how the heart loves who it loves. It is still my most favorite book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Predictable Historical

    Redonk Nutshell: Illegitimate daughter of renowned parents falls in love with her married guardian

    On a whim, I pulled this off the library shelf because a) I want to read more of Jane Feather and b) I liked that it was set in an earlier period of history than what I usually read. So here's what we get:

    Magdalen is born amid a betrayal of her mother, who was French, to her father, who is English. Because of her illegitimacy, she is sent off and raised with supporters of her father. When she turns eleven, she is shuffled to the care of Guy de Gervais, a handsome and chivalrous knight. Guy explains she is destined to marry his nephew, Edmund and she accepts it as her duty. Though spirited, Magdalen knows her responsibilities and expectations leveled upon her. As she grows up in the Gervais household she becomes even more enamored with Guy. Guy is happily married and has a huge brood of nephews and nieces under his roof, and dismisses Magdalen's attachment to him as innocent. Which, honestly, it is. But Magdalen is an old soul, and she knows in her heart she loves him. On the night before her wedding to Edmund she professes her love for Guy and tells him her arrangement with her fiance is ill advised, but Guy dismisses her.

    Years later, Magalden is grown up and married several years to Edmund. When a conspiracy unfolds to remove Edmund and Magdalen from the picture, Magdalen is removed to her husband's land under Guy's escort. When Edmund is attacked along the road and presumed dead, a romance between Magdalen and Guy reluctantly unfolds. When Edmund turns up over a year later, both Magdalen and Guy are forced to face their actions and emotions.

    Lawd, I had a time of it getting through this one. It started off intriguing enough, but from moment one the plot was one predictable cliche after another. Magdalen is a hard heroine to like, and while try not to hold that against her, I had a heck of a time sympathizing with her. She's just...meh. Bland. In fact, most of the characters are. By the halfway point of the book I found myself skimming through the pages. In fact, the last quarter I didn't really "read" at all. It was the "epic" conclusion involving a kidnapping and rescue in which only one of her men will live. And we all know which one it will be.

    Definitely not my favorite read of Ms. Feather's, though I haven't given up on her.

    Almost Innocent by Jane Feather, 432 pgs, 1990

    Rating: D

    Romance: 2/5 Raunch: 3/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    You+Are+CRAZY%21%21%21%27%27%21%27%27%27%27%27

    If+you+did+not+fall+in+love+with+this+novel.+One+of+the+BEST+historical+romance+novels+I+have+read+during+my+25+years+on+mother+Earth%21%21%21%21+A+true+MUST+READ.+BRAVO+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    It's the best book I've read in a long time. One that can't be beaten easily! I thought it was one of those boring books, but I was wrong! I didn't put it down until I finished it (literally).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2006

    My fav Jane Feather book!!!

    This is absolutely the best Jane Feather book!!! It is a tad slow at the beginning, but once you get into it, it really is an amazing novel!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    One of the best

    At first, I didn't enjoy reading this book at all. There were too many details and it was just plain boring at first. However, once i finished reading this book, it instantly became a favorite. It wasnt your average love story that would just end in a happy ending. It had meaning and sent out a message. I definately recommend this book, but dont lose patience at first!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2004

    ALMOST PERFECT

    WELL,WHAT THE HECK, IT WAS PERFECT...DREW ME IN UNTIIL IT WAS DIFFICULT TO ADJUST TO THE REAL WORLD...LOVE, HONOR, VILE TORMENTS, DESPERATE MOTHER, SWEET BABY,WHAT MORE CAN YOU WANT FROM A BOOK...OH YES,NOBLE KNIGHT FIGHTING THE FIERCEST BATTLE FOR HIS LADY...OH,MY...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2003

    enchanting love story

    i thought that this story was magnificent. it had romance, action and and an underlying message that makes you think. i loved reading into the lives of the two lovers. the struggle between love and honer ultimatly knowing the things that you cannot have, but fighing anyway. i could not put the book down in fact i read it twice. it was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2002

    The Worst Book I Ever Read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was really boring and the heroine was really heartless. Her husband got killed because she wanted to marry the hero. It was soo boring that i left it incomplete. I have read alot of Jane Feather's books but this one was the worst!!!!!!!!!!!!`

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2002

    excellent

    This book showed the true meaning of love. Magdalen loved Guy with all of her heart and soul, and together they created a child. She might have been married to Edmund de Bresse but her heart belonged to Guy de Gervais.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2001

    Terrific!!!!!!!

    This book is so Good!!!!! I thought the story line was wonderful with Magdalen and Guy and everything they face. I could really not stop turning the pages, this book was terrific. I think everyone will enjoy this book as much as I have. Jane is a great writer and I can't wait to read all of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2001

    Very disappointing

    I thought this book was terrible. I had read one of Jane Feather's previous books and enjoyed it but I had a difficult time staying interested in this one. Too much description...detail, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2