Customer Reviews for

The Almost Moon

Average Rating 2.5
( 233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I liked this quite a bit!

I actually really enjoyed this book. I saw The Lovely Bones, then read the book and read the first chapter of this book in the back. I just had to get it. It may be because I come from a home where my grandmother was exactly like the mother in this book (A complete nut...
I actually really enjoyed this book. I saw The Lovely Bones, then read the book and read the first chapter of this book in the back. I just had to get it. It may be because I come from a home where my grandmother was exactly like the mother in this book (A complete nut job), I can understand feeling hopeless and having nowhere to go. I'm not telling you to murder and hide the body of one of your loved ones. It's a fictional fantasy, people. You can't say you've never wished, not even in a fleeting moment, you could just kill somebody. Civilized people don't act on these thoughts, but being able to read a circumstance in a character's mind was quite interesting - the thoughts leading up to it, the murder, the inevitability of getting caught. I'd highly recommend this to someone who was similar interests, but if you're just hopping in to this author, I'd try The Lovely Bones, first.

posted by PandaBerry on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Almost Moon

By far one of the strangest books I have ever read. I actually felt guilty reading it once she states she killed her mother. The story line was disappointing at best. Since I bought the book I refused to not finish it, but after reading the last page I regretted the w...
By far one of the strangest books I have ever read. I actually felt guilty reading it once she states she killed her mother. The story line was disappointing at best. Since I bought the book I refused to not finish it, but after reading the last page I regretted the whole experience.

posted by NiniDS on February 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    Almost Moon

    By far one of the strangest books I have ever read. I actually felt guilty reading it once she states she killed her mother. The story line was disappointing at best. Since I bought the book I refused to not finish it, but after reading the last page I regretted the whole experience.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    I liked this quite a bit!

    I actually really enjoyed this book. I saw The Lovely Bones, then read the book and read the first chapter of this book in the back. I just had to get it. It may be because I come from a home where my grandmother was exactly like the mother in this book (A complete nut job), I can understand feeling hopeless and having nowhere to go. I'm not telling you to murder and hide the body of one of your loved ones. It's a fictional fantasy, people. You can't say you've never wished, not even in a fleeting moment, you could just kill somebody. Civilized people don't act on these thoughts, but being able to read a circumstance in a character's mind was quite interesting - the thoughts leading up to it, the murder, the inevitability of getting caught. I'd highly recommend this to someone who was similar interests, but if you're just hopping in to this author, I'd try The Lovely Bones, first.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    Could not finish

    Quite disturbing, thoroughly enjoyed Lucky and Lovely Bones, but could not continue with this one

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Should have stopped with the first line

    "When all is said and done, killing my mother came easily." A great premise for a book as we all know people who are caring for the elderly and what a struggle that can be. I don't know anyone as strange as Helen and could not relate to her after the murder took place. I have enjoyed Sebold's other books, but was disappointed with this effort. It's too bad that a story with so much potential was just plain boring and cold. One of the worst endings to a book I have ever read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    THE WORST BOOK THAT I HAVE EVER READ

    This was the craziest book that I have ever read. I did not like it at all. The plot was way to out there and was horrible. I would not suggest this to anyone. Alice Sebold used to be one of my favorite authors but this book makes her look like a wacko.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Day In The Life

    THE ALMOST MOON gives new meaning to "a day in the life." The entire story takes place over the course of two days, but it's really a lifetime of memories that comprise this novel. It all begins when Helen kills her mother one day. No, the novel isn't as evil, twisted, and morbid as it sounds. Her mother has Alzheimer's and, as we discover, has always been a little unstable. It's really a favor. But is it a favor to her mother or herself?

    The novel is very well written (as are Alice Sebold's other books, The Lovely Bones and Lucky). Sebold definitely knows how to write; her talent shines through. The story is told very conversationally from the viewpoint of Helen as she kills her mother and reacts to the death over the course of two days. During those two days, Helen is constantly reminded of events from her past that have led her to this point in her life. She spots something in her mother's house and it reminds her of a story from her childhood, which she readily relates to the reader. She goes to work as a nude art class model and is reminded of meeting her ex-husband. She cuts off her deceased mother's braid and she's reminded of the brushing of her hair. With these flashbacks, we learn more and more about Helen, her parents, her ex-husband, her children, the neighbors, and her relationship with each. It provides us insight into who she is and what events have shaped her life.

    Granted, I did not like Helen all that much. I thought she was self-pitying and did not take responsibility for her own actions/life. Like with most any book, at times it drags and at times it's a page-turner. And, occasionally, I would get a bit lost when Sebold was going back and forth between past and present. But these factors did not detract me from enjoying the work overall or recognizing THE ALMOST MOON as a good piece of fiction. Like I said, Sebold has a gift for writing, and I look forward to more of her novels in the future.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    Intrigue but no resolution. Author creates a complicated situation that she seems not to be able to resolve - so the book just.......ends. Don't waste your money or time.

    Not worth reading.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    A DARE.

    Ive read this book several times in the past 2 years.. I have a difficult relationship with my mother and the way Sebold describes the mqin characters thought process, could not have been written nor described any better.. A great readifyour open minded to a not so happily ever after ending..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disturbing

    I love the way that Alice Sebold writes. However, this story is disturbing on many levels. Clearly, Helen has serious mental health issues, not only killing her mother, but in her actions afterward. Not at all what I expected. The ending just left me shaking my head, and made me feel pretty normal!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    Th Almost Moon, By Alice Sebold

    After reading, The Almost Moon, by Alice Sebold, it was not at all what I had expected it to be, considering it is a number one national bestseller. The main character, Helen Knightly, is a 49 year old, 20 year post-divorced mother of two adult children, living in the same small town she grew up in. She cares for her elderly mother who has been isolated in her own home since Helen was a child. Helen's mother has agoraphobia (fear of open spaces). Helen does not live with her mother. Both of her children have moved away. She has apparently grown up in a very dysfunctional family however; there is little development of any of the family characters, in my opinion, in the book. Her character is sketchy with attempts to portray the novel as exploring "the complex ties within families". I think there should be more time developing the characters. Helen's father committed suicide when she was in her teens, which was not really explained to my satisfaction, leaving her to grow up in an unbearable situation (a very strange mother). She seems to be very misguided making one bad decision after another in a 24 hour period.

    The books aim, seems to be total shock value, describing scenes in depth that are macabre in great detail and leaving out necessary detail in many parts. Although the details were not always pleasant to read, it was a great visual depiction of what was happening. I think Helen was portrayed as too waffling. The reader could not really defend what she was doing because there was no depth or personality developed. It seemed as if Helen were trying to maintain a positive attitude in the midst of huge family turmoil, but did not really come across as genuine. She had no long term relationships and could not face everyday challenges, so it is difficult to determine what really motivates her. I do not think the reader (not just myself) really felt they could understand what was going on under the exterior of the character. I don't think she really had grown or learned anything throughout the story. Helen doesn't take responsibility for what she leaves behind.

    This book did make me slightly interested in finding out where Helen would go after killing her mother and how the story would end. Nonetheless, I did not like this book. Overall it was disappointing. It was a dismal read. I have not read any other books by Alice Sebold and perhaps her other books are good. I think her descriptive writing is excellent. I believe the overall theme is, can we, "ourselves" control our destiny, or do those around us control it for us? That's for you to read and discover.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    What a waste of my time!

    I was so disappointed with 'Almost Moon'. I was so looking forward to reading her newest book. Her last two books, Lucky, and Lovely Bones, opened up such wonderful discussions with friends and young adults. I don't think I could even admit I read this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    DO NOT READ

    This was absolutely the worst book I have read in a while. The writing itself was a stream of consiousness disaster. The story line was no where near even remotely interesting and the ending does little to assuage that. As a matter of fact, it only confirms what you will already know to be a monumental waste of time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Interesting Story...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Was unable to finish

    I feel bad not finishing a book but this book was so boring I wasn't able to finish it. I was disappointed considering this author wrote The Lovely Bones which was such an amazing book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    Breathtaking

    Dark but infinitely interesting-

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    HORRIBLE!

    I wish I had read the other reviews before I bought this book. I saw that it was by Alice Sebold, and since I enjoyed Lovely Bones, I decided to try it. It was the WORST BOOK I have EVER read! Disturbing from start to finish, not well written, and with a sudden, abrupt ending that resolved nothing. The only good thing is that I bought it as a bargain book so at least I didn't pay much. Don't waste your money or time!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    A disappointing read the entire way through... the character development was such that I really didn't care for anyone in the story. There were no great epiphanies and the ending was flat out weak.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2015

    Although quite disturbing and difficult to read in places, this

    Although quite disturbing and difficult to read in places, this book held my interest. I wanted to keep reading to see how it ended (which I didn't like, but won't ruin for others).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2014

    One of the most profound stories I have ever read. Yes, it's not

    One of the most profound stories I have ever read. Yes, it's not nice to kill your mother but this story is more than that. The honesty and profound truth Seabold writes about is one in a million. Any woman who examines the pain of awakening to what has been lost in childhood trauma and then reclaiming oneself will find this book strange comfort. I loved this book and so did my husband.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    I liked it more than lovely bones

    Great Job

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12