Customer Reviews for

The Almost Moon

Average Rating 2.5
( 232 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I liked this quite a bit!

I actually really enjoyed this book. I saw The Lovely Bones, then read the book and read the first chapter of this book in the back. I just had to get it. It may be because I come from a home where my grandmother was exactly like the mother in this book (A complete nut...
I actually really enjoyed this book. I saw The Lovely Bones, then read the book and read the first chapter of this book in the back. I just had to get it. It may be because I come from a home where my grandmother was exactly like the mother in this book (A complete nut job), I can understand feeling hopeless and having nowhere to go. I'm not telling you to murder and hide the body of one of your loved ones. It's a fictional fantasy, people. You can't say you've never wished, not even in a fleeting moment, you could just kill somebody. Civilized people don't act on these thoughts, but being able to read a circumstance in a character's mind was quite interesting - the thoughts leading up to it, the murder, the inevitability of getting caught. I'd highly recommend this to someone who was similar interests, but if you're just hopping in to this author, I'd try The Lovely Bones, first.

posted by PandaBerry on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Almost Moon

By far one of the strangest books I have ever read. I actually felt guilty reading it once she states she killed her mother. The story line was disappointing at best. Since I bought the book I refused to not finish it, but after reading the last page I regretted the w...
By far one of the strangest books I have ever read. I actually felt guilty reading it once she states she killed her mother. The story line was disappointing at best. Since I bought the book I refused to not finish it, but after reading the last page I regretted the whole experience.

posted by NiniDS on February 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    The Not Almost Moon

    The Almost Moon gave me mixed feelings. There are parts of the story that I found interesting and shocking. The other parts were kind of boring. There were too much information that I really didn't care about. This book was all right, but could use a little work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    I found this book to interesting, odd, shocking actually. Not w

    I found this book to interesting, odd, shocking actually. Not what I expected, in a good way. There were many slow spots during the reading to get through, but I did not mind. She kill her mother, sleep with a much young man, whats next. I have read Lovely Bones by the same author, which I loved so I gave this one a shot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not In Line With Sebold's Undeniable Talent

    I read this book just a few months ago, and I can't even recall how it ends. All I remember is the woman, (who's name I also fail to remember), who kills her mentally ill mother. A dud of a book. Unnecessarily sexual, unfittingly so, (I mean really, with your best friend's son?!), and ultimately boring.

    I read the Lovely Bones, and it was incredibly moving and powerful. I loved it. It took 5 years to write this book, and it turned out to be a disappointment.

    I still can't wait to see what Sebold releases next, though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    She set us all up to knock us back down.

    I have always loved Alice Sebold so when i heard about this book I ran over to the book store. The story is extremely unique and had me from the beginning. But i did find some parts pointless, and others made complete sense. Alice Sebold's writing is amazing and moving. But, i was disapointed by the ending. She set us all up to knock us back down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Bizarre book

    I read this book because I really loved "The Lovely Bones" and I loved Alice Seabold's writing style. This book was bizarre. It's very hard to keep up with as well. One minutes the main character Helen is talking in present day and then two sentences later you are launched into a memory of her life from 20 years before.

    The writing style is unique and the plot is good if you can keep up with it. But I wouldn't necessarily recommend it unless you like very detailed writing. It is definitely not a quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    good intent, bad ending

    I loved this book from the moment I picked it up. I was certain that she had struck gold with yet another book. Her second attempt was also an original concept and totally great detailed read. She gave life to the characters, made their intentions clear, showed you every side of their personalities and kept you wanting more. She took them to places that were taboo and helped them work through it with dignity. I think she described how most of us would have coped with the situation if put in it. The growing up the way she did, the mingling with the neighbors, the life she led beyond that and the love/hate relationship she had with the very woman who she was with her whole life. The part I couldn't get over was the ending. It left me wanting so much more. There is no closure and that bothers me tremendously. That is probably my biggest, if only complaint about this book. I love the rest of it and her writing style is among my new favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    As well written as The Lovely Bones

    Having had real life experiences with victims of mental illness I found this book to be an accurate depiction of events and situations that may affect family members. Some of the irrational behaviors can be assumed as desparate responses to forces beyond their conttrol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    Interesting

    I had to read this book for a book club that I was in. I don't think I would have picked up otherwise. It was such a strange book that I had to keep reading to find out what happened next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    Good book

    Not a bad book. It didn't keep my attention as The Lovely Bones did, but still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It gets better!

    The reason that i decide to read this book is because i loved "The Lovely Bones" and i wanted to read something else by Alice Sebold. And although the book starts out kinda slow it does get better i mean after the whole part were helen kills her mom it seem to get a little boring. But by the time it get to the part about Hamish i was really into. And i couldn't put it down after that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Not one of her best

    I didnt really enjoy this book as much as i enjoyed her others, to many loose ends at the end of the book, and not very interesting to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not "Lovely Bones"

    A bit disappointed as was a huge fan of Lovely Bones and Lucky. Assumed anything she wrote would affect me the same way, but found this a bit hard to take - a little slow paced, a little plodding. Not a bad book, but not on og my favi=orites, either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    Disturbing and weird. The end left me feeling short changed, like something was missing. However with that said, it was not the worse book i have ever read. If your looking for a quirky easy to read time waster,then this is your book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    A fairly good read.

    I wouldn't say that this was the worst book I have ever read however, with that being said, this book was far from amazing like her last two works. As always, I find her grim view of life interesting to read, and I felt that she kept the reader guessing throughout the whole novel. I believe that Sebold is a masterful writer and it even shows in her lesser works. If you are in dire need of a read, The Almost Moon could just be the suspense novel you need.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2007

    did not live up to expectations

    I loved the lovely bones was expecting this book to evoke the same intense feelings towards the characters. highly disappointed.I finished the book in one sitting but did not have the same love for the characters as in her other novel. I kept wondering why they did not get the mother some help before she destroyed the family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3