Customer Reviews for

Almost Perfect (Fool's Gold Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 249 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

What a great read! really enjoyed it. It was very easy for me to

What a great read! really enjoyed it. It was very easy for me to connect to the characters.

posted by Leah-books on June 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Almost Perfect Book

I normally love Susan Mallery's book but honestly this book is just annoying. I can't stand Ethan. He does more stupid things than he should and Liz has to repeat over and over why she did what she did and all he can say is, You're going to take away my son again and I'...
I normally love Susan Mallery's book but honestly this book is just annoying. I can't stand Ethan. He does more stupid things than he should and Liz has to repeat over and over why she did what she did and all he can say is, You're going to take away my son again and I'll never see him. Even when she has told him over and over that she had no intention of making that she would never see him again. She was making sure he'd still get to see their son. I actually skipped chapter 10 entirely because I accidentally saw how chapter 11 started.

Susan Mallery did this with her 2nd book in the last series she did. I couldn't stand Lip Service. It's an OK book but seriously Susan Mallery has done better. I love her Marcelli sisters series and the Sweet series she had.

posted by Angelwriter111 on July 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 255 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. It was very easy for me to

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. It was very easy for me to connect to the characters.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Great plot, good writing and a story that will make you want to read more.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Almost Perfect Book

    I normally love Susan Mallery's book but honestly this book is just annoying. I can't stand Ethan. He does more stupid things than he should and Liz has to repeat over and over why she did what she did and all he can say is, You're going to take away my son again and I'll never see him. Even when she has told him over and over that she had no intention of making that she would never see him again. She was making sure he'd still get to see their son. I actually skipped chapter 10 entirely because I accidentally saw how chapter 11 started.

    Susan Mallery did this with her 2nd book in the last series she did. I couldn't stand Lip Service. It's an OK book but seriously Susan Mallery has done better. I love her Marcelli sisters series and the Sweet series she had.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Almost Perfect, "The Perfect Rommance"

    Susan Mallery has written the most amazing second book in her Fools Gold Series. Secrets, betrayal, forgiveness all in one book set in the small town of Fools Gold.

    Liz Sutton came back to Fools Gold for two reasons, to get her nieces who had been left for weeks by their step mother. Even though she knew her brother was in prison, she was determined to bring the girls back to San Francisco and raise them herself. However, she had another reason to return, to see the man she once loved, #Ethan Hendrix to tell him they had a son.

    Ethan Hendrix was a successful business man in Fools Gold, was loved and respected by the town and couldn't believe his eyes when he saw Liz Sutton back in town. Even more so, when he heard he had a son, he couldn't believe that the sexy woman he once had loved yet denied had kept this secret from he and his family.

    What a mess. Could they share custody and work together? Could Ethan persuade Liz to stay in Fools Gold? Could they forgive each other for the past because trust me it wasn't just keeping her son a secret, Ethan and the town had hurt liz badly.

    Working through past hurts and present ones, fighnting the attraction between them while the small town also became involved was a mighty task for this couple.

    Liz, Ethan, his family, the town of Fools Gold were the perfect ingredients for this amazing love story. Susan Mallery certainly has a winner with Almost Perfect, book 2 in her Fools Gold Series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed it!

    We can all read the description provided by the publisher so I'm not a big fan of retyping that. I will just jump straight into my review.

    Because we romance readers can be very particular in our reading tastes I will give you the run down on the basic information first:
    * Contemporary Romance with no other major sub-genre
    * Secret Baby theme but well written
    * Written in third person with his/hers POV
    * She is a successful mystery author who has come back to her home town and he was the local golden boy who has never really left and has always been successful.
    * This is the 2nd book in the series and it is a good idea to read the 1st book though you could probably understand what is going on without reading it.

    I liked this book. I liked the first one (and the third one) better but I like Susan Mallery's writing. I liked the characters. My problem with this book is that the "secret baby" theme brings up so much hurt and anger and conflict that it can be overly depressing. This book addresses it well but there is probably a little more conflict than I like in a romance. However, I would read it again. I enjoyed it and would definitely recommend.

    If you read this and like it you will probably like these books:
    * Still The One by Robin Wells
    * The Girl Most Likely To... by Susan Donovan
    * Simply Irresistible by Rachel Gibson

    You can always find more on my blog "Batteries and Bubbly"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Susan Mallery provides a deep Fool's Gold second chance at love tale

    Pregnant teenager Liz Sutton left Fool's Gold when her lover Ethan Hendrix betrayed her. Five years later and much more mature, Liz went home to inform Ethan that he had a child; she received a letter from him saying he wants nothing to do with Tyler so she raised her son by herself eventually becoming a popular author.

    Almost a dozen years later, fourteen year old Melissa informs her Aunt Liz that her father Roy (Liz's brother) was in jail and their stepmother left. Leaving San Francisco Liz accompanied by now eleven years old Tyler returns to Fool's Gold to take care of her nieces, Melissa and her sister eleven year old Abby. Ethan learns Tyler is his son; fuming he blames Liz for costing him all those years with his child; refusing to believe her "story" involving his wife Rayenne.

    Although the plot device of a man not knowing he sired a son has been used many times, Susan Mallery provides a deep Fool's Gold second chance at love tale. The support cast is strong from the onset as the audience will feel for the nieces and for the heroine who the townsfolk blame for concealing Tyler from his dad. Readers will enjoy Almost perfect as Ethan believes love is not enough to overcome what he has done to his Liz.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    AWESOME read

    I love Susan Mallery stories... I read a book a day in this series and I want MORE... hahaha This was a great book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    Love Fool's Gold Series! Highly recommended...a must read!!

    Susan Mallery is the best! I enjoy reading her books and love the Fool's Gold Series. This book is great if you like romance and believe in love. I love the small town setting and the way she continue characters from the other book. Actually, I have read the whole series, when each book ended I couldn't wait to read the next book. The only down is that the series didn't keep going. I don't believe I would get bored reading about the characters and how their life is changing. I can't wait to read more books by Susan Mallery! I give this series a Big Thumbs UP!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    My favorite of the series

    I just finished all 6 of the books in this series and this one was my favorite. It really touched my heart and I found myself crying in a few spots.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    Disappointing

    This book had so much potential. But the heroine is a door mat and the hero a jerk. I wanted to interject some 21st century feminism in this book, and then realized, it was set in the 21st century. Susan Mallery is a talented writer, but her talents are lost in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    Horrible!

    Liz (the main female character) is the worst female lead of any romance novel that I have read. Ethan (the main mail character) isn't much better. Liz repeats over and over that she tried to tell Ethan about their son; she just wants everyone to forget that it was twice in eleven years. She is also angry at Ethan for the entire book but finds it horrible that he is angry at her. Ethan is a wimp who makes poor decisions and then immediately feels bad about them, but can't fix them right away. I finished the book out of obligation, not interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Can Ethan and Liz make love work for them?

    I've fallen in love with Ms Mallery's town of Fool's Gold and all the great characters that live and visit.

    I love both Liz & Ethan in this very emotional love story. Liz Sutton is from the wrong side of town and Ethan Hendrix is one of the wonder boys of Fool's Gold. In high school they had a secret romance. She thought it was to protect her but she hears Ethan deny he even knows her. As teenagers this was so traumatic she leaves town but finds she is pregnant and comes back to tell Ethan but he's acting even more foolish. Now 11 years later she has come to take care of her nieces in Fool's Gold. She has plans of moving the girls back to San Francisco with her and Tyler. She plans to be in town a few short weeks but that doesn't happen. That Ethan doesn't know about his son comes out, the whole town knows and everyone has an opinion of how she could have kept the boy from his father all this time! Ethan and his mother are taking this very hard--they find it a very selfish act by Liz.

    We get to watch Liz and Ethan find the love they had so long ago but on a much more mature footing. We see Liz's teenage nieces learn to love Liza & Tyler as well as a much more secure life. Liz finds her memories not quiet what she thought in the early part of her life and how she is thought of as being one of the town's own then and now.
    Ethan's sisters and mother also deal with their feelings and love for Tyler and maybe Liz too.

    Now I'm looking forward to September's FINDING PERFECT - Pia's story!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "Could a secret romance really lead to a perfect love?"

    No one writes a love story like author Susan Mallery as it's not only the romance, it's how she creates strong characters who tug at your heart. They are beautiful stories about family and how they work through their secrets, hurts, misunderstandings, but in the end they worked through their "stuff" giving them that happy ending they so desperately needed. And that's how the author takes her readers on the journey that makes Mallery's Almost Perfect " a perfect romance". In this case Susan Mallery not only gave the hero and heroine their happy ending, she also gave her son and her nieces the loving home they all deserved.

    As the old say goes "when fate hands you a lemon, make lemonade" and that's what happened to Liz Sutton when the love of her life Ethan Hendrix denied knowing her, telling his friends he would never date a girl like her. Liz was a sweet young woman who had grown up on the wrong side of the tracks with a mother who was not only a drunk but had a different man in her bed every night. On top of that her mother was abusive to her and the towns residents of Fools Gold instead of stepping in, chose to ignore how she was being raised. Liz was extremely smart, and tried to ignore the barbs and rumors that she was a "slut". The only positive thing in her life was Nathan, the boy she loved, the same boy who promised they would be together in college. And then in front of his friends he hurt her by denying their relationship and Liz left Fools Gold and went to San Francisco.

    Ethan Hendrix can't believe Liz Sutton was back in Fools Gold and he wondered why. When he found out that he had a son he never knew about, let's just say not only Ethan went on that roller coaster ride of emotions, so did Liz, the Hendrix family and his son Tyler. Liz not only had to deal with Ethan being back in her life, telling her son about his father, she also had to deal with her brother's girl's who were without parents because her brother was in prison, their step-mother skipped out, leaving her nieces without money, food and alone in a falling down house she was left to remodel.

    Talk about a strong heroine..Liz was amazing and on top of that a New York Times best selling mystery author. On her own she not only raised a wonderful son, she became a huge success and faced a man from her past, the entire town of Fools Gold and their snide remarks. She was the glue that held the family together, she was fierce in her love for her son and in the end would she sacrifice that love to make sure everyone was happy? I loved this character and will remember her for sometime to come and you will as well as Almost Perfect gives those who read it so many lessons in life to think about. There was one particular one for me and that was when we know something is wrong in someones life, do we reach out to help that person? Think about it, I sure did.

    As for Ethan Hendrix, you will travel along with him on his complicated journey. At times your heart will ache for what he missed out on, how he comes to terms with secrets, betrayal and how he learned what was important in his life. Through into the mix, how the residents of Fools Gold all came together with a cast of amazing towns folks as only Susan Mallery can pen. Almost Perfect is Book 2 in Mallery's Fools Gold series with the next book being Finding Perfect. This series is one I'm sincerely looking forward to and getting to know the rest of t

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    I didn't care for Ethan 99.9% of the time. I found myself wantin

    I didn't care for Ethan 99.9% of the time. I found myself wanting her to leave him for someone else. He is VERY immature and didn't even come up with the end on his own (friends had to persuade him). Hopefully he can change with the help of Liz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Great series. I felt like I was right there in town!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Wonderful

    This book is about returns, sometimes painful, sometimes joyful, sometimes very necessary.
    Our Heroine returns home to the town that misunderstood and mistreated her with her
    son to care for her brothers daughters. Our heroine is brave, selfless in wanting to help the children of the brother who deserted her and left her alone with an abusive mother. Our hero, her first and only love, doesn't know that the son she brings back to Fools Gold is his.
    This book visits a single mothers love for her son. Her struggles to do everything she can for him and for her nieces. It's the story of a man coming to terms with knowing he missed the first years of his son's life; that he still loves his son's mother. I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    Second book in this series and it was even better than the firs

    Second book in this series and it was even better than the first one, maybe because I already knew a bit more of the town and their gossip way of life, or just because I liked Ethan real bad. He’s charming and such a good guy.

    It was a great romance and we can see they have sparks even after all those years apart. It was interesting seeing them falling in love again and discovering the never stopped loving each other, plus for Ethan to get to know his son, was extremely sweet. I loved the Hendrix family and they are huge. Can you imagine triplets?

    Liz was unexpected, because she lived in San Francisco but once her life was miserable and in Fools Gold. It’s really interesting seeing all those people talking badly about her, but they never did one thing to save her from her mother back in the days she still lived in town. That part I didn’t liked, but Liz was an okay girl, she suffered a lot, but always did the right thing. She deserved a nice and peaceful life.

    I liked Liz and Ethan together, but didn’t liked the way people tried to meddle in their relationship. In the end, it’s a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Not a winner

    I love all her books except this one. I found it just too upsetting and sad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Good read

    Really enjoyed.CC

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 255 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13