Customer Reviews for

Almost A Bride (Wyoming Wildflowers, #2)

Average Rating 4
( 259 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

A wonderful, wacky, sexy couple works it out

One of the (many) reasons I like reviewing romance novels is that I don't have to worry about spoiling the ending. We all know what the ending will be-must be or it wouldn't be a romance. Indeed, we know that Almost a Bride will end with impulsive Matty Brennan marrying...
One of the (many) reasons I like reviewing romance novels is that I don't have to worry about spoiling the ending. We all know what the ending will be-must be or it wouldn't be a romance. Indeed, we know that Almost a Bride will end with impulsive Matty Brennan marrying steady Dave Currick. In fact, I knew that after reading the first 35 words-and I knew, to boot, that Matty would wind up saving her beloved Flying W Ranch.

Right now, I have to say I loved the story, lest my opening paragraph loses readers. That paragraph is true, but it might make Patricia McLinn's novel sound ... But, no, anything but that. You see, what counts in a romance is the journey, not the destination. And what a journey this was, with surprising twists and turns in every chapter!

I love twists-which is fortunate, because Almost a Bride almost turned me into a Bavarian pretzel. To begin with, Matty and Dave get married to begin with-in Chapter 2, three days after meeting for the first time in six years.

Well, that's not exactly true-it's a half twist. Dave marries Mattie, but Mattie isn't really married to Dave. She won't really marry him because he loves her too much?

So maybe Dave needs a knock on the head so he won't love Mattie excessively. There's nothing sure in Almost a Bride until almost the end. You never know.

But in the end, she might marry her husband for real. Her husband? You know, that guy she has the irresistible hots for.

There's much more to tell about this wonderful, wacky, sexy couple, but I'm not giving any more away. I will tell you that on every other page, these two lovable people put each other through the romance wringer and turn the crank. So, if you love to laugh; love to cry; or love to laugh and cry at the same time, then you'll definitely want to read Almost a Bride.

posted by JerryWeinberg on April 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended Romance Novel!!!!

Enjoyed the story---couldn't put my e-reader down!! Gonna check out more books by this author.

posted by 15428022 on August 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2015

    I was torn between giving this 2 stars instead of 3 due to its h

    I was torn between giving this 2 stars instead of 3 due to its horrendous lack of imagination, but the author is a better writer than a 2. The problem is that instead of coming up with a book that has an actual plot, she has chosen to follow a very boring formula. Man lusts for woman. Woman tries to hide lust for man but gives in for a kiss.  Man lusts for woman. Woman tries to hide lust for man but gives in for a longer kiss. Man lusts for woman. Woman tries to hide lust for man  but allows him to cop a feel. Man lusts for woman. Woman goes for it but gets interrupted. Man lusts for woman....ad nauseum.  The author has the potential of writing something worth reading, but she hasn't achieved that here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    Very Different Couple Nice, fresh take on the 'reunited lovers'

    Very Different Couple
    Nice, fresh take on the 'reunited lovers' plot. Matty is a hoot, but she's also dense and made me want to slap her silly a few times. This would have been better as a novella, because the conflict between them was basic 'misunderstanding' one good conversation could have cleared up. There was no real 'outside' conflict-- even the 'threat' wasn't really real. The emotional conflict was valid, but again, one conversation could have cleared it up. That made me rate this story lower than I would have had there been true conflict between the two that more than just communication would have solved.
    And there was potential-- the 'political' connection wasn't truly explored, nor was her 'career and travels'. Had these been expanded a bit, it could have worked better and not been simple "ok you two talk and all will be fine". In other words, there were no high stakes, no heart stopping 'this is the end' moment and no reason to continue reading.
    Overall, a good book for a snowy afternoon or a day at the beach. Light fluff that is somewhat entertaining if you can get past wanting to smack the heroine for being a blind idiot.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Ok

    I had a hard time liking the female charactor. She seemed like an idiot.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Good story, liked characters......

    This was a good story and I enjoyed reading it. What I didread. I didn't finish just my preference in not liking to read about detailed, constant love scenes. Just so you know, if you like that read it I was excited about the book and it shpuld finish well. If you din't like me, just letting you know.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2015

    Hello

    A free 450 page story (actually a 150 page story - the page counter skips numbers 2 or 3 at a time) with a young business woman returning to her family Wyoming ranch after 6 years and the handsome lawyer/rancher that cut her loose 6 years ago. Drama, angst, secrets, conniving, jealousy, romance, kissing, and sex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2015

    OK, but nothing special

    The book is about a woman who gets married to a boyfriend she loved six years ago basically for financial reasons. She doesn't really tell him why she needs to get married but he loves her and does it for her. They had broken up because he thought she needed to see the world first and he knew he was staying on his ranch forever. They, very slowly, rekindle and finally have to deal with their finances and love for each other. OK, but not great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2015

    .

    VCR????? LOL!! When was this book really written??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2015

    Anonymous

    Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2014

    I like reading about happy endings with difficult journeys (like

    I like reading about happy endings with difficult journeys (like sorting out misunderstandings etc.) and this is what Almost a Bride is about. I loved Matty and Dave's journey towards their happy ending.

    Matty loves her home Flying W very much which now after her great uncle's death is trapped under a huge load of financial problems and Matty would do anything to save it and that includes contract marriage with Dave.
    Matty and Dave were childhood friends turned lovers. She has always loved him and he is still in love with her but still they broke up 6 years ago and have been apart since then. now within 3 days of their meeting they are married the twist is that for Matty its purely business to save Flying W and for Dave its real.
    Now living under same roof gives them time together and a chance to ask what happened 6 years ago? if they are still in love with each other then why they are not together? they finally share their fears and together plan to save Flying W in their own way.
    I liked Matty and Dave a lot and the chemistry between them is awesome (hot).

    It is a well written book with an amazing unpredictable story which will keep you reading till the beautiful ending. Patricia McLinn is an amazing storyteller and i am definitely looking forward to read other books in the series. :)    
    Originally Posted on my blog: Gateway To Different World

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Matty finds out she has inherited the family ranch, Flying W, wh

    Matty finds out she has inherited the family ranch, Flying W, which has been in her family for several generations. She also learns that it comes with incredible debt. The easiest way to deal with it would be to just let the place go but she can't do that to her family's home so wants to get a grant that will help her out of the financial mess and get the ranch going again. The problem is that she lives in the wrong county to apply for the grant. She comes up with a 'business' plan to get the grant which involves marrying her ex-boyfriend, Dave, who lives in the right county.

    Matty really doesn't want to ask Dave to do this because they broke up 6 years ago but she still loves him. He doesn't know this and Matty knows it will be very painful for her to be around Dave while they are in the fake marriage. Turns out that Dave still loves Matty too, but she doesn't know that either. It's pretty funny watching them pretend to be married in the beginning of the book. They have their ups and downs but it's entertaining. Dave is great and tries to do everything he can for Matty, his old friend and love. I liked that he was so dependable and solved Matty's problems so easily. Even with all his good qualities, Dave had issues too, which come out later in the book. I couldn't like Matty. She came up with this plan to save the ranch but didn't think of the consequences, or what affect it might have on anyone else before she acted.

    I liked this book but the story of a misunderstanding when Dave broke up with Matty when they were younger and now they are older and have to solve the misunderstanding was not new. The ending is good with a HEA.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    cute story

    cute story to read if you have nothing else to do.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Recommend

    Easy read. Good beach book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    nice romance

    A very nice romance story, enjoyable to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Sweet and breezy

    It was a easy breezy read. I wish there was a bit more drama, but it was a sweet romance. I recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    good read

    Not the strongest plot but entertaining.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Entertaining

    Enjoyable light romance.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Ean

    A o.k. read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Ok book

    I liked this book. Found myself skimming a little bit though. Good characters and pretty good plot. Nothing to write home about though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Long

    700pgs. Was an nice story but a long. Seemed to drag at times. Matty seemed hard headed at times to the point of annoying. It was ok. I would have given it 2 stars in a half but couldnt. Just cause how bland it was even boring. I think the lenth made it that way. Advice, cut out chapters and ad more drama.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    It was okay.

    An okay read. A little wordy maybe with saying the same thing over and over but I did finish it so it can't be all bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3