Customer Reviews for

Almost a Bride (Wyoming Wildflowers Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

A wonderful, wacky, sexy couple works it out

One of the (many) reasons I like reviewing romance novels is that I don't have to worry about spoiling the ending. We all know what the ending will be-must be or it wouldn't be a romance. Indeed, we know that Almost a Bride will end with impulsive Matty Brennan marrying...
One of the (many) reasons I like reviewing romance novels is that I don't have to worry about spoiling the ending. We all know what the ending will be-must be or it wouldn't be a romance. Indeed, we know that Almost a Bride will end with impulsive Matty Brennan marrying steady Dave Currick. In fact, I knew that after reading the first 35 words-and I knew, to boot, that Matty would wind up saving her beloved Flying W Ranch.

Right now, I have to say I loved the story, lest my opening paragraph loses readers. That paragraph is true, but it might make Patricia McLinn's novel sound ... But, no, anything but that. You see, what counts in a romance is the journey, not the destination. And what a journey this was, with surprising twists and turns in every chapter!

I love twists-which is fortunate, because Almost a Bride almost turned me into a Bavarian pretzel. To begin with, Matty and Dave get married to begin with-in Chapter 2, three days after meeting for the first time in six years.

Well, that's not exactly true-it's a half twist. Dave marries Mattie, but Mattie isn't really married to Dave. She won't really marry him because he loves her too much?

So maybe Dave needs a knock on the head so he won't love Mattie excessively. There's nothing sure in Almost a Bride until almost the end. You never know.

But in the end, she might marry her husband for real. Her husband? You know, that guy she has the irresistible hots for.

There's much more to tell about this wonderful, wacky, sexy couple, but I'm not giving any more away. I will tell you that on every other page, these two lovable people put each other through the romance wringer and turn the crank. So, if you love to laugh; love to cry; or love to laugh and cry at the same time, then you'll definitely want to read Almost a Bride.

posted by JerryWeinberg on April 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended Romance Novel!!!!

Enjoyed the story---couldn't put my e-reader down!! Gonna check out more books by this author.

posted by 15428022 on August 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful, wacky, sexy couple works it out

    One of the (many) reasons I like reviewing romance novels is that I don't have to worry about spoiling the ending. We all know what the ending will be-must be or it wouldn't be a romance. Indeed, we know that Almost a Bride will end with impulsive Matty Brennan marrying steady Dave Currick. In fact, I knew that after reading the first 35 words-and I knew, to boot, that Matty would wind up saving her beloved Flying W Ranch.

    Right now, I have to say I loved the story, lest my opening paragraph loses readers. That paragraph is true, but it might make Patricia McLinn's novel sound ... But, no, anything but that. You see, what counts in a romance is the journey, not the destination. And what a journey this was, with surprising twists and turns in every chapter!

    I love twists-which is fortunate, because Almost a Bride almost turned me into a Bavarian pretzel. To begin with, Matty and Dave get married to begin with-in Chapter 2, three days after meeting for the first time in six years.

    Well, that's not exactly true-it's a half twist. Dave marries Mattie, but Mattie isn't really married to Dave. She won't really marry him because he loves her too much?

    So maybe Dave needs a knock on the head so he won't love Mattie excessively. There's nothing sure in Almost a Bride until almost the end. You never know.

    But in the end, she might marry her husband for real. Her husband? You know, that guy she has the irresistible hots for.

    There's much more to tell about this wonderful, wacky, sexy couple, but I'm not giving any more away. I will tell you that on every other page, these two lovable people put each other through the romance wringer and turn the crank. So, if you love to laugh; love to cry; or love to laugh and cry at the same time, then you'll definitely want to read Almost a Bride.

    21 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Love it!

    What a delightful story. Perfect way to start my holiday weekend. Got to check out what else this author has written.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Good book!

    This was a such a good book! This was my first time reading one of her books and now I look forward to the next.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Great read

    Matty and Dave's story is sweet and full of sexual tension. This almost 500 page read keeps you hooked and entertained. There are two books to follow in this trilogy

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    SHERRY

    What a great book! I really enjoyed this one. I can't wait to get more of her books and read them!! It kept my interest from the begining to the very end!! Well Done!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Loved it!

    I loved this story and would like to read more works by this author. This is the first book that I have given 5 stars. I was happy it was free also. Although some of the actions of the main characters were silly, it was believable because human nature is often silly. I enjoyed the story line and highly recommend this to other readers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Loved it!!

    What a great love story


    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    loved it!

    Not boring at all. Refreshing to read a romance novel that is romantic and not sleezy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Amazing book

    I loved it had all the parts in my oppinion of a great book,i was crying laughing loving and hateing,i truly recomend this book.
    Maddie Cope

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Anonymous

    Good read. Would recommend.h

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Cute funny love story

    Loved it. I was in a cheesy romantic mood. This book was fun to read. You will enjoy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2014

    Good read

    Simple story and a different twist to marriage. Enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Love the reluctant bride

    Was a fun read with many twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    I loved it

    This book was a great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Loved it

    Can't wait to read the rest of the series, would recommend to all my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Great book!

    A nice sweet cute read. really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Loved it

    So enjoyed this book. Good characters. Easy read. Want more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Good

    Cute sweet romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Strong

    It's a strong, heart warming, crazy and funny story and i totally recommend it!! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Awesome!

    Subtle humor. Deep. Romance. So well written. Loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4