Customer Reviews for

Almost a Scandal (Reckless Brides Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Live life boldly

This is an exciting tale about a woman, Sally Kent who follows her dream by filling in for her brother aboard a ship in her Majesty‘s Royal Navy.. She is soothing her conscious by saying that she is doing it to protect her family's honor but it is so much more.

It i...
This is an exciting tale about a woman, Sally Kent who follows her dream by filling in for her brother aboard a ship in her Majesty‘s Royal Navy.. She is soothing her conscious by saying that she is doing it to protect her family's honor but it is so much more.

It is a action packed story set against the backdrop of the high seas, and shows how wit can hold its own against brawn.

The main characters are Sally Kent and Mr. Colyear. Mr. Colyear has known the Kent family for years. He is the insurmountable object that Sally has to overcome to live unbound by the chains society has placed around her.

What makes this book special is that Sally has to face the consequences for her actions. There is a grittiness and believability in the descriptions of the life aboard ,the Audacious. The author shows that dues definitely have to be paid for breaking the rules. However if you have the guts sometimes you will reap the glory in unexpected ways. It is these things that kept me turning the pages, that and the interactions and growth of the characters, sometimes those interactions were amusing and other times poignant.

I enjoyed the story immensely,cannot think of anything else to say.

posted by hcbm on July 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An OK read

I bought because quite a few good reviews, but for myself I found the story very slow to start. The characters were likeable for the most part, but it just didn't draw me in. There were a few sex scenes and there was some profanity ( both mostly closer to the 2nd half )...
I bought because quite a few good reviews, but for myself I found the story very slow to start. The characters were likeable for the most part, but it just didn't draw me in. There were a few sex scenes and there was some profanity ( both mostly closer to the 2nd half )

posted by 4991136 on March 31, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Live life boldly

    This is an exciting tale about a woman, Sally Kent who follows her dream by filling in for her brother aboard a ship in her Majesty‘s Royal Navy.. She is soothing her conscious by saying that she is doing it to protect her family's honor but it is so much more.

    It is a action packed story set against the backdrop of the high seas, and shows how wit can hold its own against brawn.

    The main characters are Sally Kent and Mr. Colyear. Mr. Colyear has known the Kent family for years. He is the insurmountable object that Sally has to overcome to live unbound by the chains society has placed around her.

    What makes this book special is that Sally has to face the consequences for her actions. There is a grittiness and believability in the descriptions of the life aboard ,the Audacious. The author shows that dues definitely have to be paid for breaking the rules. However if you have the guts sometimes you will reap the glory in unexpected ways. It is these things that kept me turning the pages, that and the interactions and growth of the characters, sometimes those interactions were amusing and other times poignant.

    I enjoyed the story immensely,cannot think of anything else to say.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Wonderful!

    Was a great book that had characters that stayed with you long after the book was over. Looking forward to reading more from this author

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book. Loved. I was immediately drawn into the story

    I loved this book. Loved. I was immediately drawn into the story and the characters and the ROMANCE. Oh! It's such a wonderfully romantic book. Ms. Essex has a great voice and writes terrific characters who have such depth. I loved Sally and Col. She was spunky and confident without being overbearing and annoying. Col was completely dreamy and sigh-worthy. I very much enjoyed this sea-faring adventure. The author really knows her stuff and it's evident in the pages. And the romance was so beautifully written. I was completely lost in the pages from the first page to the last. Can't wait to read more from Ms. Essex!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed seeing the characters interacting in the Britis

    I really enjoyed seeing the characters interacting in the British Navy setting.  It was well written and while not the typical historical, I loved it and am looking forward to the rest of her series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    It was my first book from this author. I'll definitely read othe

    It was my first book from this author. I'll definitely read others. Although this book started too slow it turned to be a really, really good book! After the firs kiss, it was a very fast paced story. It surprised me how I'd enjoyed read it so much! I just didn't like to read the heroine saying over and over "devil take me" and the hero saying "dam my eyes", it was too repetitive. But no matter it was a very good romance. I red it in just two days.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    I was lucky enough to get to read an ARC of this book, and it's

    I was lucky enough to get to read an ARC of this book, and it's FABULOUS FABULOUS FABULOUS.

    I'm a huge fan of Patrick O'Brian's seafaring novels (the Aubrey / Maturin books that start with Master and Commander).
    Elizabeth Essex's Almost a Scandal is like a Patrick O'Brian novel but with FRONT AND CENTER ROMANCE.

    And it's a very, very swoony romance. I truly loved both the main characters--they're smart, daring, brave, loyal--and I actually bought the whole girl-dressed-as-a-boy-and-kinda-gets-away with it trope. This book pulls it off far more believably than pretty much anything else I've ever read.

    The writing is stunningly good, the sexual tension is very hot, and the love story is truly passionate. There's a moment when all they do is touch hands, and I was all but weeping.

    Great stuff!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    An OK read

    I bought because quite a few good reviews, but for myself I found the story very slow to start. The characters were likeable for the most part, but it just didn't draw me in. There were a few sex scenes and there was some profanity ( both mostly closer to the 2nd half )

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Amazing Book!

    I read a lot of romance novels and it's been a long time since I have enjoyed thouroughly from start to finish a most entertaining read. There is depth to the characters, thought to the excellently woven story line and to my greatest joy, humor! I don't believe there is anything missing in this book! I highly, highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Great melding

    Besides romance I love reading naval adventure novels of which there are to few. This book was a great melding of the two genras
    Loved the plot and the character development. I hope to see many more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Eh!!

    Boring. Goes on and on and on and on. Not that great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Ethan

    Ethan is awesome

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Ok?

    Is this ok for 11year olds?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Loved it!

    This was my first book from this author, and i loved it! Both of the lead characters were wonderful, and the peripheral characters were also very likable, especially Grace. The storyline was quite complex, lots of action and adventure and humor. The romance was very sweet and compelling. I loved everything about it. Cant wait to read the next one in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Original Post on Romancing the Books blog / RevAlmost A Scanda

    Original Post on Romancing the Books blog
    / RevAlmost A Scandal is a scandalous story that had lots of twists and turns and many were unexpected. It is a historical romance mainly set on the high seas but also takes place in England and France. The premise was nothing like I expected but I was glad to see this is book one in the series and I’ll be reunited with the characters I’ve come to know. There was great character development of all the main characters of which there were many – the Kents, Col, Captain McAlden, Pinky, Willis, Will, Ian, Gamage and Grace. The vivid descriptions of the ship, Audacious, the attacks on the ships and the house in England made me feel like I was there even though I haven’t been on a boat too often.

    Sally and Col had chemistry from the beginning. It got hotter as the story went on then cooled somewhat and then the heat was turned up once again. There was adventure, pain, laughter, tears, camaraderie, romance, love, misunderstandings, caring, family and friends. There was closure that I was hoping for but not in the way I expected. There was an excerpt from book two that whet my appetite for more and reeled me right back in. I have not read books by this author before but look forward to reading others – not only in the Reckless Brides series.

    Favorite Quote: She instinctively dropped to the deck in a crouch to listen, but when no other sound was forthcoming,-no further noise or cry of alarm-she cursed herself for being so skittish. Col was probably only breaking up the furniture to start the pyre for their fire.
    iewed by JoAnne / Review copy provided by the Publisher /

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun historical romance on ships

    When Sally's brother, Richard, runs off before reporting to duty on a naval ship, Sally steps up and takes his place. She has grown up with her father and brothers in the Navy and has yearned to be on a ship like everyone else. So she chops off her hair, dresses in her brother's uniform and shows up to report to duty on the ship. The only problem, the LT. aboard is an old family friend and could easily reveal her secret.

    This was a predictable story but it was still very enjoyable. It's isn't too long after Sally boards the ship that Col realizes that she isn't Richard. However, he doesn't reveal her secret to the Captain in hopes that she will fess up but when she doesn't, neither of them come clean. Both Sally and Col are very stubborn and head strong characters. Sally is by far one of the best midshipman Col's every had and he is reluctant to lose her. If not for her skills but his growing fascination for her as well. But the story doesn't just revolve around these two, there is also a bully in the ranks who is not only stealing from other midshipman but attacking them as well. Plus there are some battle scenes while out at sea that make for some exciting fighting. So you get more than just a romance novel with this one, you also get a great story about what it was like to be on a Naval ship.

    Favorite part...
    There was a covert operation where Col and Sally had to go on land. Sally waited in their small dingy of a boat while Col finished the mission but when Col comes running into the boat and tells her to row as fast as she can, she notices that he's being chased by the enemy. She throws him down on the boat, straddles his hips and acts as if they are two peasants out in the middle of the night without a care in the world having a grand ol time.

    "God Almighty, Kent." Col was laughing against her breasts, as if the same insane desperation had infected him. "You're going to get us killed. But at least I'm going to die happy."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2