Customer Reviews for

Alone (Valentino Mystery Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2015

    To below

    U SUCK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Losers

    Get a job, get a life, get away from reviewing books you cat wierdos

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Sandheart

    A sandy giger shecat padded in. "May i join?" She moewed quitely

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    The Cat

    I am sorry. I shall go elsewhere. *pads to a different res*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Silverstreams and Smallfin

    We are formly RiverClan cats)) "Hi! I am Silverstreams and this is Smallfin."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Swirlingmoon

    Sits at the bottom of the leaders den watching the leader with kindness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    dragonkit

    o\^/o

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Heygirl to palmer

    U start nook se.x plz. thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    TO ALL CLICK HERE

    BLAKES NAME IS REALLY CHRIS WEBB

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Kiki

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Slave

    Volunteer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Film Buffs' Feast

    Fans of old time cinema will probably love this second Valentino adventure. Loren D. Estleman is as reliable a writer as we have today. He is even more versatile than the late John D. MacDonald and as good or better at prose and plot. The story is a bit thin but you hardly notice until after the book ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    never alone with loren d estelman

    a longtime fan, i've been a little disappointed by the author's recent output. however, the new valentino series seems to be a return to form: full of fascinating detail and interesting characters, i look forward to getting to know them more. only problem with this book? a rather sudden and mundane ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Cinema Themed Mystery

    Valentino is a film preservationist who is restoring a movie palace. His girlfriend Harriet, a forensic pathologist, is a dead ringer for Greta Garbo. They are invited to a Garbo costume party hosted by Rankin, a rich businessman. His wife was a close friend of Garbo and they corresponded frequently. He has in his possession Garbo's first appearance on film, a short called "How Not To Dress." Through Valentino's interest in this film, he becomes involved in a murder investigation. Rankin has killed his secretary in self defense. He was black mailing Rankin with a love letter from Garbo to his wife.

    Valentino's life gets even more complicated when a building inspector tries to stop the renovation of his movie theater. He is evicted from the theater, where he happens to be living, and moves in with his mentor Broadbent, an elderly insomniac film historian who is dating a twenty year old.

    This novel is the second in the Valentino mystery series. It is a fun read. Valentino's experience is full of odd characters and situations. His work as a film preservationist lends interesting cinema history to the narrative. Valentino's personal life and the bits of film history out shine the actual mystery. Although, there is a twist at the end that I did not see coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1