BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Alone (Book One In The 'serenity' Series)

Average Rating 4
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Book! Not at all what I expected!

Ended very sad but was a great read! Read in two days, with interruptions. Engaging. Looking forward to reading more from this author and hope there's a sequel! Can't go wrong with this free book!

posted by Missy_Linn on February 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good vamp romance

It was pretty good. Couldn't put it down.

posted by 7304006 on August 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    easy to read

    easy to read. love the fact that it doesn't have a typical ending. will definately look for morre books by this author.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Good Read

    Not at all what I expected. Throughout the entire storyline, I did not know what was giing to happen next. It kept me guessing until the end. It was a bit somber, but more so somberly victorious? Overall, it wasn't the now trending vampire read of a sex depraved main character who falls for a mind readinng vampire. I liked it, and I would read other works from this author.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Don't expect a happy ending; this isn't that kind of book -- How

    Don't expect a happy ending; this isn't that kind of book -- However, this is an excellent portrayal of a broken, battered wife who kicks her way free. Her path is bumpy, she has setbacks, and ultimately she does not run but crawls into a new life. The power of this book is the emotional journey our "heroine" and her vampire "friend" take as they both find that they have lots to learn about themselves. I found several uniquely British terms used here, but my NookColor looked them up straight away and I was not taken out of the story for long! In case you're wondering, this is a full-length Novel of about 600 pages.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    Alone - Vampires for Adults

    I read Anne Rice and her vampires of New Orleans and then Twilight and was so disappointed at the wishy washy characters of Twilight and then I read Alone and was not disappointed. The characters and plot had real depth and didn´t just cover the usual swooning girl in love with the handsome vampire scenario which seems to be more and more the case these days. This was much darker and the pace faster. I did have a favourite character though and it wasn´t the two main characters but the female vampire with real attitude and a penchant for handbags. A girl after my own heart. Just waiting for the sequel now.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Alone

    Good book, not what I was thinking it would be

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great read

    Vampire fiction with a hint of romance - always a favourite genre. i didnt want to put it down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    Brilliant read, excellent page turner

    Fab book, handbags and vampires, what more do you need? I have recommended Alone to friends and family, keep it up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Great

    Quick engaging fun 640 pages
    BrynnS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Read this before the book

    This book was good. Not that great though. I would recommend this to a mature person since there are sex scenes. I also did not like how Jackson was involved with porn. Another downer was Serenitys personality. I really dont like weak people like her. Im fine with crying every once in a while but she was just whiny. She cried every time her life wasnt perfect. But the book was good. Hope this helped! 16+ content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Loved the book thought it was well written with a great story. C

    Loved the book thought it was well written with a great story. Cant wait to read the next in the series. A++++ 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Loved it!

    Smooth interesting well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Lucinda

    It a great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Enjoyable

    Good character development, easy to get into. The story is like law and order svu, but with vampires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Well written-highly enjoyable!

    Best freebie I've found lately. I will definely buy more of her work! Thks Ms. Farrar!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Suspence

    Keeps your attention.....must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Great

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    It was good...

    It was a good book except the ending made me really sad):

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Goldenshade

    Races through the clans territory, not even caring that she was trespassing and runs to the fourth result.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Worth reading

    Worth reading for a freebook . I enjoyed it and buying the second one now. Its a nice way to try differant authors without investing money unless you like their style of storytelling .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Not a Twilight and glad of it!

    Serenity, unlike some popular vampire lovers, is not a teenager, frustrated, waiting for her life to begin, hoping for a man to change it all, but a young woman, long neglected and abused mentally and physically by first her stepfather then her lazy husband. She first finds hope in this mysterious stranger, who doesn't want her to cling to him, but stand for herself. A healthy change to populat vamp lit. I am sad there is a sequal, for there is such a simple message here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3