Customer Reviews for

Along Came Trouble: Camelot Series

Average Rating 3.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

LOVED this book. Please note there is one book in this series b

LOVED this book. Please note there is one book in this series before this book! Flirting with Disaster which is really good also. No need to read in order but love love love this series.

posted by DOWNS on March 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

M

More bragging plot spoilers going about their free book from the publisher for their * honest* review. That makes me sick. Does the publisher know you reveal the entire book for future readers? If i were the publisher i would sue you. You need to learn to write a review...
More bragging plot spoilers going about their free book from the publisher for their * honest* review. That makes me sick. Does the publisher know you reveal the entire book for future readers? If i were the publisher i would sue you. You need to learn to write a review. Read the others here. They are concise and to the point. If you want to reveal every detail, take it to a blog site with other plot spoilers, but stop doing it here.

posted by 8888649 on April 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Enjoyable

    Light romance, believable though flawed and troubled characters, preposterous plot, some snappy dialogue. Way too much unnecessary-to-the-plot explicit sex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Didn't care for Ellen or Carly's characters

    Didn't care for Ellen or Carly's characters much. A lot of silly resistance to nice guys. It went on and on until they realized they were being unreasonable but in the process it just got boring in my opinion. Maybe if there was only one character playing the game instead of two?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Not that great.

    Ellen was very unlikeable. I don't umderstand what Caleb saw in her.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Who wants ..........

    2 KNOW ABOUT SEX IN THESE KINDS OF BOOKS?????????????????? SEX is totally NOT good in books ao dont talk about sex on these books thk u very much! Annna

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    If u want me call me

    Cell#is 1-208-201-3294 and my nam is james rooke when you call remember to say my full name

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    (Barfing sound)

    Eeeuggh.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    It sucks

    It sucks

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Okay

    The hero is great, just what he is supposed to be, funny, smart, careing. The heroine not so much. H
    Ard to beelieve an entertainment lawyer would not recognise the gauker effect. That being said this was areally good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Yas

    Sex yes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    EXTREMELY STUPID

    But at least it has sex in it

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Good short story

    87 pages but to the point and entertaining. Would like to read follow up story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Loved!

    This book was really good. Caleb was so awesome! Ellen and Caleb both have issues so it was great to see them work through them. Carly, Nana, Katie and Jamie were funny. I loved how we got to meet Caleb's family, it just added more depth to the book. I highly recommend this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 Stars ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book

    3.5 Stars
    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    I was glad to see the layering that Knox is so well known for. I just adore the way she is able to add so many dimensions to her characters. It really adds so much to the romance, making it stronger and memorable. ~ Under the Covers

    ALONG CAME TROUBLE is book two in the Camelot series. If you haven’t read the first book in the series, HOW TO MISBEHAVE, fear not! The two books seem so different that I don’t necessarily think you need to read one in order to understand the other. Both are good as any other standalones.

    Ellen Callahan is a driven woman who is a single mother and lawyer. She is tough as nails and Caleb Clark seems to enjoy poking fun at the attractive woman every chance he gets. When Ellen’s brother, the international pop star hires a body guard to keep her and her kid safe from the paparazzi, Caleb turns out to be that special man. Lucky girl!

    Ellen and Caleb start off on the wrong foot. Ellen is peeved and wants Caleb out and away from her but the persistent Caleb enjoys making fun at the uptight woman and soon he is able to break down her barriers. For the first half of this book, I found it hard to get through. I wonder if it was some sort of funk I was in or if the pacing was just slower. Knox spends a lot of time on dialogue in this book and while it can be entertaining, I think at times it can go on for too long. The conversations that Ellen and Caleb have are the way they get to know each other. Caleb begins to chip away at Ellen until she breaks into a smile, so it’s rewarding to see an author who spends so much time on dialogue and the romance. But I also wanted something more to keep the pace going. Sometimes it lagged and affected my enjoyment of the book.

    It picked up though and I was glad to see the layering that Knox is so well known for. I just adore the way she is able to add so many dimensions to her characters. It really adds so much to the romance, making it stronger and memorable.

    I’ll be looking forward to reading the third book, FLIRTING WITH DISASTER. From the blurb, it seems that this one might just be another keeper from Knox.

    *ARC provided by publisher


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Being a three year divorcee┬┐, a single mom and an attorney has t

    Being a three year divorcee’, a single mom and an attorney has taken its toll on Ellen Callahn’s social life. Content to have her movie and wine time, her life is thrown into chaos when her brother, an international pop star gets involved with her next door neighbor. The paparazzi descend causing her brother to hirer a security company to guard Ellen and his new love interest.

    Caleb is now back in civilian clothes after years of serving as a MP in Iraq. He has just started up a new security firm and has been handed a huge break when they are subcontracted as security for a pop star’s sister. Little did he know the trouble he was getting himself into. 

    Ellen just got control of her life back after years of a verbally abusive, manipulating, alcoholic ex-husband. She isn’t about to let any man tell her how to run her life let alone change things around her home. But she has never craved a man more than this hot security guy. Can she take what she wants without loosing herself and her heart?

    Along Came Trouble was the ideal romantic read. The emotional character growth and the heart pulsing chemistry was just icing on the cake to this fabulous story of healing hearts and learning to love and live again. Caleb is simply perfection, a man willing to sacrifice and love unconditionally for both his friends, family and the woman he feels is worth it. Ruthie Knox storytelling is superb and Along Came Trouble is just another example of storytelling at its finest.

    This ARC copy of Along Came Trouble was given to me by Random House Publishing - Bantam Dell Loveswept in exchange for a honest review. Publish Date March 11, 2013.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    While the description talks about two headstrong souls, the real

    While the description talks about two headstrong souls, the reality of this book is that everyone is headstrong, stubborn and completely believable, even when their lives are tossed into a giant mixing bowl and turned upside down.  




    The main story circles around Ellen, twin sister of a celebrity pop star and divorced single mum, with a lifetime of subjugating her own self to others until her divorce. Ellen lives next door to the pregnant Carly, former love interest of her pop-star brother, Jaime.  Paparazzi have arrived in the quiet neighborhood, and Caleb’s security company has been hired to provide protection for both Ellen and Carly, as fallout and chaos is expected because Carly and Jaime have had a very public break up. 




    Sound confusing? It really isn’t.  Ruthie Knox has cleverly introduced characters and provided history and interactions that introduce each character with a solid voice and presence: letting the reader observe and sort the characters much like one does their neighbors.   Very soon, we are treated to Ellen’s refusal to allow anyone to ‘take care’ of her, and the fireworks begin.  While Caleb is a master at providing for his client’s security, Ellen fights him at every step, while driving him insane with the need he feels to know her better.   Ellen is attracted to Caleb, but her personal history with relationships leaves her conflicted and doubtful.   




    What follows is a cleverly plotted story that keeps the reader entertained while providing background information through point of view changes, sharp honest words from friends and siblings, and some truly laugh out loud moments.  Caleb is endearing and vulnerable, despite his single-minded attention to duty and detail where security is concerned.  Not to mention his single-minded attention to matters of sex: those scenes will have even the most jaded of readers squirming and wondering if every former Army MP is as thorough and concentrated.  When you add in families and their dynamic, a toddler with pronoun confusion and you have a story that will have you engaged, entertained and comparing the people in Camelot to your own family and friends.  




    Ruthie Knox has created another winner, after reading the short that introduced me to the Camelot series, this sleepy Ohio town is full of characters that could have their own stories, and I am excited to see where she goes next. 




    I received an eBook copy from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review for the Jeep Diva. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3