Customer Reviews for

Along Came a Demon (Whisperings Paranormal Mystery, #1)

Average Rating 4
( 263 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Great PNR/UF read, smexy alpha-male ;)

You can guess what I like to read by my subject line and this book satisfied my obsession. This is the first book in the series. I have read tons of paranormal romances and urban fantasy. I enjoyed the story, humor and writing of Linda Welch. Her hero, Royal, will l...
You can guess what I like to read by my subject line and this book satisfied my obsession. This is the first book in the series. I have read tons of paranormal romances and urban fantasy. I enjoyed the story, humor and writing of Linda Welch. Her hero, Royal, will leave you wanting more ;). The female lead, Tif, is smart and spunky. You won't be disappointed in this book.

posted by sstogner on December 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

M

I wish you plot spoilers would take your rude plot spoilers to your blog page and leave it there. It is very rude and inconsiderate to tell everything that happens in a book to other readers that havent read the book yet. Bn, please consider banning and possibly fineing...
I wish you plot spoilers would take your rude plot spoilers to your blog page and leave it there. It is very rude and inconsiderate to tell everything that happens in a book to other readers that havent read the book yet. Bn, please consider banning and possibly fineing these plot spoilers so maybe they will stop ruining books for those of us who wish to read the books too.

posted by 8888649 on May 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 263 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great PNR/UF read, smexy alpha-male ;)

    You can guess what I like to read by my subject line <G> and this book satisfied my obsession. This is the first book in the series. I have read tons of paranormal romances and urban fantasy. I enjoyed the story, humor and writing of Linda Welch. Her hero, Royal, will leave you wanting more ;). The female lead, Tif, is smart and spunky. You won't be disappointed in this book.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    "Demons eat our food. Demons drink coffee. Big deal..."

    &quot;Demons eat our food. Demons drink coffee. Big deal...&quot; This is just one line from the novel Along Came a Demon. There are a lot of things that I liked about this book. A few of the main things are the character development, the suspense, and the overall pace of the book. It started with a hook that drew me right in: &quot;There's a naked woman in the garden.&quot; The author knows how to captivate her audience and keep them interested for the entire ride. Highly recommended!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Free Book Reviews

    Overall Feedback: So here I am with another wonderful author from the Facebook Group Indie Writers Unite. Linda is quite a personality and I was very interested in the book so without further ado here is the review. I am sure everyone has seen, heard of or been made aware of Ghost Whisperer and I am equally sure we all at least liked something about the show. One thing I am not sure of would be that everyone has heard of a series of book by Dean Koontz called "Odd Thomas." This story runs very similar to both. Although in Ghost Whisperer the main character sees all ghosts and attempts to give them reason to cross over. So I would say that it most resembles "Odd Thomas", and I do not say this to belittle this work of greatness. I say it to show how high I hold this book. It has evoked my mind and imagination in the same way as a Dean Koontz novel and people wonder why I like Indie books. Bravo Linda Bravo!

    Point of View: You are Tiff and you get to live her life through her eyes. A good choice for this type of story.

    Voice: I tried to determine the voice in this one but I was too wrapped up in the story to find it. I then sat and thought about it for a moment and decided that the voice, as it were, is the dry, witty humor of the author.

    Character Development: So many characters so little time but Linda does well to draw you close to her imaginary friends and make them yours too.

    Plot: I see dead people! What more can you ask from a plot. A kick butt heroine, dead people and demons. This will have you racing the pages by and wanting to dig into the next in the series, so please be warned and be prepared.

    Dialogue: Did not really pay attention as I was too engrossed in the story so I say it must not have detracted and only added.

    Pacing: One word... Smoking

    Setting: So this is what happens in Utah besides skiing.

    Continuity: Flawless from page to page, chapter to chapter and beginning to end.

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Read It In One Sitting!

    I bought Along Came a Demon, started reading, and couldn't put it down! I was fascinated by the unique take on ghosts and demons. I also immediately liked the main character, Tif. She is compassionate, but doesn't let that get in the way of helping when she can, and setting boundaries when she can't. I really like her pragmatism, and how she handles herself and her unusual talent.

    It took me longer to warm up to Royal, he came on a bit strong for my taste, but toward the end I realized that it was necessary if he was going to break through Tif's walls of distrust.

    What really worked for me was that the story could be enjoyed on different levels, both as a supernatural romance and as a mystery. The plot holds together very well, with no gigantic plot holes or major inconsistencies.

    The pace could have been a tiny bit faster at the beginning, but the groundwork for the mystery and the necessary explanations of Tif's talent was fascinating enough to carry me along.

    I will definitely be getting the next book.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    M

    I wish you plot spoilers would take your rude plot spoilers to your blog page and leave it there. It is very rude and inconsiderate to tell everything that happens in a book to other readers that havent read the book yet. Bn, please consider banning and possibly fineing these plot spoilers so maybe they will stop ruining books for those of us who wish to read the books too.

    10 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    i got this one free and im paying for the next one, its that go

    i got this one free and im paying for the next one, its that good

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    Definitely enjoyed this one

    It was a freebie, ended up buying the next two.

    Keep writing these Linda, and I'll be back to buy them.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Great read!

    Really enjoyed this fresh take on paranormal romance. Enjoyed the MC's sense of humor througout, even in the face of horror. At 877 pages it goes by quickly because its so enjoyable. A must read for paranormal romance junkies!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Great story, terrible formatting

    I loved the plot and characters and will buy more of this series. I just hope they don't all have crazy line breaks. Example: ram on one line, page on the next, no hyphen to indicate the words are connected. The problem was pervasive. It made me stop and reread in many places. Ordinarily, I would discard a book with this big a flaw, but her writing is just too good. I hate to gig the work because of this, so I'm rating the writing and not the nasty formatting.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Must read

    Really enjoyed the book. 844 pages long and could not put it down! Plus it's nice that the author offered it free. Thank you.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Good

    Found this book to be refreshingly different with a sense if humor and honor running through the pqlages. A bit steamy in places, with interesting plot twists. The main character had depth and the hero was enticing. I certainly appreciated how clean the writing was, with very few grammatical errors, especially after reading so many free books lately that were in dire need of editing. Would definitely recommend.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Nice read

    Not your typical psychic story. Pzranormal with an otherworld twist. If you like parznormal reads,you're gonna love this.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    The Demon You Say.

    Couldn't put it down. Characters you care about. When something happens to a character and your first response is, "Please say it isn't so...please!" that's a good writer. The Robert Aspin like titles are fun to read. A good read, I highly recommend.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Not you same old plot!

    Great book! Absolutely loved it and I am hooked on this author now. Strong heroine and a great plot with a huge twist. Great for those of us that enjoy something a little out there but not too far out there! Read it! You wont be disappointed!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    189 pages, free, paranormal, first person. First book in a series

    I do not know where another reviewer got almost 900 pages for this book. I can understand books being a different length by 25 pages or so, depending on settings and nook size, but now I feel cheated. I want that many pages also. This was a free, paranormal, told in the first person, first book of a series and had 189 pages. I do not like paranormal books, nor do I like first person. BUT.....I really liked this one! I guess I am fickle. This author did an excellant job with this fast, rather light read. It had a good, missing person plot, there was violence, murder and mayham as well as some romance. I liked the characters, loved the dog and the things that go bump in the night. There were some twists. Even though as one reviewer stated, there is some likeness to the "GHOST WHISPERER" and to "ODD THOMAS" this book still felt fresh and new. There is some gore, some rather steamy sex, no cursing or religion and the author never did tell the reader where Lindy went. This book is a stand alone with a neat conclusion. I do not intend to tell anyone I am going to read the other books in this series, as everyone knows I do not like paranormal books. I do not want to eat crow or wipe egg off my face.......oh wait! WHOOPS! Too late now. I recommend this book for ages 16 and up. It is more chick lit then bull lit. Enjoy.

    AD

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Needs some work

    Good plot, but the writing needs work. Spelling and grammar errors, such as using 'till' instead of 'until' or shortening it to 'til' kept distracting me and interfered with the flow of the novel.

    The two main characters, Tif and Royal were mostly developed, so I cared about them more or less, but the other characters weren't really fleshed out.

    The author seems to have talent and overall, this has the potential to be a good novel, but in its present state, it's slightly better than mediocre.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Good, fun

    A good read reminiscent of a four book series by Charlaine Harris, I found it to be enjoyable and fun. The cliched ending had me wincing a bit but overall, it left me wanting more. I'm off now to read the second in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Alone Came a Demon

    In the last year or two I've probably read more books with some kind of paranormal twist than I had all the remaining years of my life combined. I've been amazed to discover the number of ways authors have to give a novel a paranormal twist. "Along Came a Demon is among my favorites." I was happy discovering they aren't all glittery vampires.

    As I evaluate the reasons "Along Came a Demon" was an enjoyable read for me several things come to mind. Part of it is the mystery portion. Ignore the paranormal part and this book is like a police procedural or private investigator mystery, which are genres I've read and enjoyed for years. Unlike the typical paranormal book, Tiff's skills and the existence of paranormal creatures aren't treated as if they are normal. Tiff assumes most people wouldn't acknowledge or accept her talents or paranormal beings exist, so she hides the true nature of her abilities and the existence of the paranormal. This adds a different twist to the story. Hiding certain things like that, most notably two "dead" people who reside in Tiff's house, adds plenty of humor to the book.

    **Originally written for "Books and Pals" book blog.**

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    BEGIN THIS JOURNEY....You won't regret it!

    I can't believe more people haven't read/reviewed Linda Welch's work....the Whisperings series is great. Intriguing story line, delectable hero, wonderfully human heroine, and fantastically action-packed plots. Since reading the first book, I have literally stalked B&N, going to my Archive and clicking on Linda Welch's name (like, once a week) to see if she's spit out another book yet. I'm embarrassed to admit it. ;-) Check it out, guys. These books are long (1,000-plus pages) and inexpensive....SO TOTALLY WORTH IT!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Definitely read this one!

    I really enjoyed this book. It was very well written and you really got into the head of the narrator. I also really enjoyed the unique take on demons and how they aren't all bad. One of the great parts of this book is the interaction Tiff has with the various ghosts she meets.

    The descriptions of all settings and characters are fantastic and allow you to really imagine Tiff's world around her and I really loved the repartee between Tiff and the other characters she comes into contact with, especially Royal. And how great is the name Royal?

    Tiff is a very strong and independent heroine who I really admired but I also loved the fact that she had a soft spot, especially toward the children ghosts she comes into contact with.

    I thought the pace was perfect and there is never a dull moment. I literally had to fight with myself to put the book down at night! I'll definitely be reading the follow up book and would recommend this book to anyone who loves Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 263 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14