BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Along Came a Spider (Alex Cross Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 785 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(427)

4 Star

(212)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

James Patterson - Alex Cross

This is the first book in the Alex Cross series. Read it and you are immediately hooked and caught up in the Alex Cross series. As soon as you finish one you'll want to move on to the next one. By the time you've read three or four you feel like you personally know A...
This is the first book in the Alex Cross series. Read it and you are immediately hooked and caught up in the Alex Cross series. As soon as you finish one you'll want to move on to the next one. By the time you've read three or four you feel like you personally know Alex Cross.

posted by MoGirl on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This book is a must read

This was one of my favorite books. It keep me on the edge of my seat from the beginning to the end and I had a difficult time putting it down. James Patterson has created a wonderful charactor in Alex Cross.

posted by Anonymous on February 1, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 791 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 40
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    James Patterson - Alex Cross

    This is the first book in the Alex Cross series. Read it and you are immediately hooked and caught up in the Alex Cross series. As soon as you finish one you'll want to move on to the next one. By the time you've read three or four you feel like you personally know Alex Cross.

    29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A classic

    I love this book. there were some moments where it seemed a bit slow but sticking through it i truly found i enjoyed it. even if you have seen the movie by all means take the time to read. the constraints of a 2 hour movie can not possibly have the twists that the book allows for and so this book has so much more twists and turns and interesting details in one book that i have seen in a while. the romance was there but not over powering. the real issues the character dealt with and the look into his life how he would see the world and how he would interact was very real and i love that. i now realize why he is so popular and he is now a classic in my library.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    This book is a great read for any gender! It is a classic murder

    This book is a great read for any gender! It is a classic murder mystery with all kinds of twists that can hook anybody. All the characters are introduced extremely well and it is so easy to get to know Alex Cross. The dialogue becomes difficult to understand at times but does not take away the great story line that will suck you in. Read Along Came a Spider to find out what happens with the high profile kidnapping with Alex Cross!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No Matter

    James Patterson. A strong writter. Forever remaining great. I started reading him when I was little. Most would be shoked. I however, find his langage fine. If you own his books, and your kids want to read, DO NOT DENY THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Patterson is great for all ages. Black out the words, do something. They will love Patterson. He will have them hooked. James Pattrrson for life. No matter what he writed. WooHooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 1999

    5 Stars!!!

    James Patterson at his best. This thriller was an incredible read. The twist and turns to the story line made it hard to put down. Highly recommend.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST Read - Highly recommended

    In depth characters, detailed plots and a story line that keeps you on the edge. When you pick this up you won't put it down until the last page. The story puts you in the middle, you are as if you are living in the story, you are there. The book has taught me one thing, The entire Alex Cross series is a MUST READ series. You won't regret buying and reading this book. I'm already on book 2 in the series, Kiss the Girls, but that review is for another page, another time.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Reading Age Level

    Its normally a good read for kids 14 and over because of strong language and violence but if u r an advanced reader and ur parents hav no problem with language or violence this a very good read. A warning tho the next book in the series Kiss the Girls contains worse material.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    Great Character

    Just started reading James Patterson. Read a few of his current Alex Cross books, but wanted to see how it all began. Great plot development. A page turner for. Those who like suspense thrillers. Not for the weak at heart.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    An ok read

    First off let me say I really enjoy reading James Patterson books. But just like your favorite band, you usually like the songs that are on their cds that no one else knows about better then their single that plays on the radio a million times. I thought I'd try this book out because everyone who I know who's read it seemed to like it. The story line is pretty interesting, but what I struggle with is the characters. I felt the main character, Dec. Cross was written a little over-dramatic and cliche. It was hard for me to continue reading because the way he was written felt too fake. On the other hand, I really liked the murderer and felt he was written better. I think the book does a good job of showing and not telling, but for me it was a little too boring and cliche for my taste.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great read

    Cant afford unless do chores for mom but great preview cant wait to buy the book

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    DaddyMacD

    It was really good. So hard to put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Loved this demented book!

    I wasn't sure about reading this series of James Patterson (pretty obvious since it came out in the 1990s) but was intrigued about Alex Cross from a Patterson speech. So I decided to start at the beginning - flew through this book and am half way done with Kiss the Girls. The books keep you turning the pages and makes you feel better that the good guys win in the end!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    I liked it.

    I've read many of the Alex Cross and Women's Murder Club books. I finally decided I should start at the beginning.

    This is the first Alex Cross book. A kidnapping, murder, and a criminal that seems to never make a mistake. Throw in a love story and you've got this great read. Now I've got to watch the movie again!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    Very good read!

    Realistic potrayals and very believeable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    To dark

    Insult you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Along came a spider

    This was the first james patterson book that I have read. They were short chapters and a page turner.it was a good read.I would highly recommened it to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2014

    I love this series and the characters. 

    I love this series and the characters. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Meeee

    I havent read this yet but it is one of my mom's favorite books. I was even named after a characterbin the book, Maggie Rose. Hopefully its good. If I hate it I'll be very disappointed. Ahaha

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Amazing

    Very well written books with one or two twists , which were veey well executed and thought out. This is a must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 791 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 40