Customer Reviews for

Along Came a Spider (Alex Cross Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 782 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(425)

4 Star

(211)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

James Patterson - Alex Cross

This is the first book in the Alex Cross series. Read it and you are immediately hooked and caught up in the Alex Cross series. As soon as you finish one you'll want to move on to the next one. By the time you've read three or four you feel like you personally know A...
This is the first book in the Alex Cross series. Read it and you are immediately hooked and caught up in the Alex Cross series. As soon as you finish one you'll want to move on to the next one. By the time you've read three or four you feel like you personally know Alex Cross.

posted by MoGirl on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This book is a must read

This was one of my favorite books. It keep me on the edge of my seat from the beginning to the end and I had a difficult time putting it down. James Patterson has created a wonderful charactor in Alex Cross.

posted by Anonymous on February 1, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    So so

    I guess I was just expecting more from this author. The story drags on and there are too many fillers. I feel there should have been more on the crime and less on the main charachtets personal life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    good book, looking forward to the rest of the series

    pretty good book, I enjoyed reading it...my only gripe is that read this one on my nook & realized that I enjoy reading physical books better lol I just purchased Kiss The Girls(paperback) last weekend & look forward to reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Good detective story

    I saw the movie with Morgan freeman and decided to read the book to compare. I had loved the movie and the book didn't disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    real review-honest opinion

    The begging is gripping and wonderful-another great from James Patterson, butvas I got farther, the book became boring, repettitive, and impossible to finish. 3 ouut of 5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    OK...not great

    A bit costly for the amount of "thrill value" redeemed. The characters are vibrant and very interesting. Alex Cross and his partner add dimension. It did not hold me to the edge of my seat but was entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    It took a while for me to get used to jumping from character to

    It took a while for me to get used to jumping from character to character, but it was an interesting way to get the views of each character. I Thought the plot was okay for the most part, but I had a problem with the characters. Particularly the black characters. I felt the characters were too forced and loaded with cliches. To me (perhaps because I am black) it came off as a white person attempting to portray a black man, and failing. Not really believable. I may be to analytical, but I did find some holes in the plot which is always annoying. SPOILER ALERT: One was how one character supposedly made a deal at the end to give up some information, but ended up getting the death penalty less than a year later in the epilogue. What kind of deal would someone make if they still got the death penalty? And who really sits on death row for less than a year?? Overall, still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Okay

    Okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Hopefully A Good Series

    Have already read some of the later series. This one being the first one was just O.K., didn't hold my attention like the newer ones published.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Along Came A Spider is a great novel that anyone can read. It st

    Along Came A Spider is a great novel that anyone can read. It starts with a chilling story about the past Lindbergh baby and murder. It then goes on to "present day" (1991) where two children, of powerful and famous parents, are kidnapped. This is a great read for people who like mysteries that keep you guessing. The novel is slightly challenging only because of the outdated allusions and culture. The novel is full of twists and turns that you won't expect, and you might find yourself arguing with the main character, Alex Cross. Because Along Came A Spider is the first in a series, this novel contains a lot of background and explaining. So the beginning is a little slow, but the second half of the book goes by fast. You might have trouble putting it down! All in all, this novel is a good read and I would recommend it to anyone that loves a good suspense novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    aa

    A

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Pretty good with surprises

    Although I don’t like a lot of crass swearing (find it unnecessary if the author is talented) I overlooked it because the story was pretty good. It has enough twists to keep you interested and enough unanswered questions to keep you reading. I thought that some of the drama in the last part of the book was going a bit overboard. It seemed as if the author wanted to throw in just one more tense moment after we thought it was done. I did like it. I’ll probably read the next in the series to test it out. I’m not over the top over it but it was worth reading in my leisure time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    1st Book, Alex Cross Series

    An okay read; I've read better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not What I Was Expecting...

    As an avid reader of James Patterson's Maximum Ride series, I was eager to read more by this great author. Along Came a Spider seemed like a great place to start. However, as a young adult reader, it was most definitely not what I was expecting. The plot was intense, the style was excellent, and the characters were superb and believable, all of these great aspects in a book. But I was totally unprepared for the coarse language and graphic nature of this book. I would not recommend this to teen readers. Though this book would be great for any murder mystery enthusiast, I will be quite content to stick with Maximum Ride and other young adult novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2004

    Enjoyable

    This book was a page turner. There is nothing spectacular about it, its just a good read. There are some questionable parts of the book. While at a secluded summer home two characters realize someone is spying on them, but conviently forget about it in order to engage in sex. Although this book does have flaws, I'm hooked and will read the rest of the series with enthusiasm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    O.K. but not the best

    Sorry to everyone who loves Along Came a Spider. This book is not Patterson's greatest masterpiece. It does have a wonderfully creepy villian, Gary Soneji and some touching moments that let Patterson's readers deeper into the private life of Cross. However the so called twists and the rocky transitions wreck this book.The opening pages on the Lindenberg kidnapping/murder are very out of place and are very unrealistic. Furthermore, the title has no relevence to the story what so ever and the ending leaves the reader feeling hopeless like Cross, not misty eyed. It is true that Patterson's usually cardboard characters have more life to them, but it is not consistant. One minute Cross surprises the reader with a human emotion and the next minute his actions make no sense. This book does have some great tense moments like the climax before the horrible ending. And Cross's family and the surronding conversations add much needed depth to the Alex Cross series. In short, Along Came A Spider was like a half empty glass constantly being emptied and the refilled. Having it's share of good moments, but slacking off with nonsensical twists, out of place parts, and a awful ending. Read it if you want to know a little more about Cross, but not if your looking for Patterson's greatest work. Read 1st to Die and the sequels instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2001

    Good Starting But.......

    Started out as a very engrossing thriller, but somehow, somewhere along the line it became a little bit too predictable and un-fortunately didn't hold my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2001

    SORT OF GOOD, BUT IT COUD HAVE BEEN ALOT BETTER.

    I took two stars off because one; GORE was in it alot. and two; There were plenty of parts that coud've resulted in gunfights, and action, but did not. This is the first james patterson novel that I have read, and believe me when I say that I won't be reading anymore novels from him anytime soon.So it wasn't that good. but if you like police novels that has sort of suspense in it, then get this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2001

    Okay.

    The book was okay. I really hated the amount of romance, for those of you who have read it you know what i mean. Alex Cross, his life is just too perfect for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5