Customer Reviews for

Along for the Ride

Average Rating 4.5
( 1161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(836)

4 Star

(223)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Along For the Ride is definitely my favorite Sarah Dessen book...

I have never felt more emotion in a book, I was sometimes actually laughing out loud, to being frustrated with the characters.What really broke my heart is what they decided to name the bike shop.I was literally in tears!

This book teaches us to do go out there and t...
I have never felt more emotion in a book, I was sometimes actually laughing out loud, to being frustrated with the characters.What really broke my heart is what they decided to name the bike shop.I was literally in tears!

This book teaches us to do go out there and try things we are not used to.And if we don't get it right the first time there is always a second chance and so on.And that we shouldn't miss out on opportunities even though they don't seem like that big of a deal.

I relate to this character more than I have to any other character, because I have missed out on a lot of adventures myself. From not going to parties or having boyfriends, but what I loved about this character is she couldn't ride and bike and I'm ashamed to admitted it, but I don't know how either!After one scratch on the knee I was done...But maybe I'll give another try, because it's never too late.

posted by 717572 on June 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Ugh

I am soooooooooo sick of these books! All it is is theres a girl. Her parents are fighting or something along those lines. Girl meets life changing boy. Girl relizes every thing will be ok. I hate it!

posted by 6101851 on July 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Story but if you've read other Sarah Dessen novels...

    If you've read other books by this author then it's not an exciting read, it's just the same thing you've read before with different characters. I have yet to read one of her books where the main character has two parents that are still together...in lock and key Ruby's mom took off as did her dad, in this lullaby remy's dad took off then died, in the truth about forever the dad died, and in along for the ride the parents are divorced. Not every family is split up and quite frankly I'd like to read about one that's still together in one of her books. Also there's never an interesting reason for the angst with the girl and boy in the books, it's always the girl getting scared and running off. If you read one of Sarah's stories it's good but I feel like if you've read one of them, you don't have to read any others to know what's going to happen next.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Ride

    First thing first: I love Sarah Dessen. She is a remarkable YA author, and writes with a distinct style and her books have substance. More than I can say for some other YA writer's out there. (I do NOT have a specific vampire novelist in mind...)

    Anyway, Sarah Dessen is dependable. Her work is always something I can come back to after a literary dry spell. That being said, this book in particular wasn't my favorite. I had a feeling it wasn't going to be, which is why I was in no rush to read it. I waited for it to come to me...and then it was time.

    It's about Auden, a girl having the summer of her life before going off to college in the fall. Auden is a studious girl, her parents always have valued academics over fun, so much that Auden never got the childhood she deserved. While she is staying with her father's new wife and baby for the summer in a quiet beach town, she meets Eli-- a fellow insomniac and a former BMX-er (yes, that's a word) with some issued. Together, they just might be what the other one needs.

    The characters, with the exception of Eli, were awesome. It has always amazed me how Sarah can give each character such a specific personality. They are complex, flawed, likable, and fun. And they all have their issues. But then there was Eli....him and me just never hit it off, okay? Auden was a little predictable, but hey, aren't they all? (Props for using a quote from the book)

    The writing was good. There were many moments of what I call "quotable material". Although sometimes, Auden's thoughts would jump from the past to the present, and the transistion wasn't always smooth. One moment she will be working, the next spent with Eli, then it will go back to her working. My easily-confused brain took a while to figure that out.

    But *sigh* the plot....Sarah, can't we spice it up a little? This is coming from a long-devoted fan. Sure, this book is awesome to a girl who hasn't read the same thing five times before, but that's not me. I'm sure if you read more than one Sarah Dessen book, you know the formula. Girl with personal issues does something out of character, leading to new experiences, new quirky friends, and of course, a sweet sensitive guy with issues of his own. She grows and develops as a person for while until something bad happens that sends her back into her little hole. Then she reaches some epiphany and everything is all happy again.

    One thing I loved was all the little Easter eggs hidden through-out. We get returning characters from Keeping the Moon and The Truth about Forever, which are my two favorites. I love cameo appearances. They make my soul happy.

    Anyway, did I like it? Yes, I did become absorbed. Was it my favorite? No. Oh and I have a rating clarification. I would give it 3.5 stars if it was possible. It feels like more than a three, but giving it a four seemed too misleading.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    Enchanting

    Along for the Ride by Sarah Dressen is a story about a girl going out and finding new adventures for herself. Girl talk, boy gossip, and just hanging out with kids her age is all a new concept for her. Throughout her life she's been a perfect girl, doing nothing but focusing on academic work.

    The main character, Auden, has been living with her mom ever since her parents' divorce. Her dad got remarried to a woman named Heidi. Auden isn't a real big fan of Heidi, but she thinks staying with her dad and Heidi might do her some good.

    When she arrived, she doesn't fit in much. The only person who really pays attention to her is Eli who likes her because she stands out from everyone else. Auden and Eli spend the nights together going out on a quest. While on the quest for her social life, that she had missed out on previously, Eli not only helps Auden come out from her childhood life, but it helps Eli come back into life once again.

    This was a pretty decent book. It takes awhile in the beginning to start getting into some action, but once you get there the author puts you in Auden's shoes to see what she does in many different situations. Auden changes in many ways spending the summer at her dads seeing things through her own eyes other than going off others opinions.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Along for the Ride

    I really want to gush about how awesome this book is, but sadly, I don't think I can. I wanted to like it, I really really wanted to like it, and as a book, it was pretty decent, but I'm getting so sick of the standard Dessen formula. It was cute the first time. And maybe the second. But by now, it's gone way too far. It's always the same: Annoying, messed up family situation, girl doesn't know how to deal with it, girl meets boy, boy fixes everything in girl's hypothetical world, and then there's always that really annoying cringey moment when you just know that Dessengirl and Dessenboy are going to have a falling out, but you also know that they'll be back together by the end. The story moves along quickly, which is what I've always liked about Dessen, but I'm reading the same story over and over and over again. I'd like some change! I love all her characters, but why is it always the same outline? Character-wise, Auden's a sweetheart, and I definitely sympathize with her. Eli is not as well developed as the other Dessenboys, but he's still someone you can get to like. The family situation is aggravating, and I'm sure I wasn't the only one really wanting to pummel Auden's dad with a baseball bat (and what happened to that, anyways? Dropped storyline, much?). I'm glad Jake wasn't used as the character to come between Eli and Auden, as that would have made me flip out even more. I don't know, I really want to be enthusiastic and tell you to buy the book and read it and love it, but it's all the same. Pick up any Dessen novel (and do pick one up, they're fantastic and should be read by every teenage girl out there) and you'll get the same story with minor changes. I want some more originality. I know she can do it, she's done it before, why the rut? She's such a fantastic writer, and I want to see more of her writing, but I'd like a new story next time, okay?

    Rating: 3/5

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    She never stops giving!

    Sarah Dessen's imagination never stops giving!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cute story but wanted more

    Along for the Ride was the first Sarah Dessen novel I've ever read and although I did enjoyed it, perhaps my expectations were to high, since I also felt slightly disappointed too!

    I really love the way Sarah crafts the story, as there's something very familiar and comforting about it, like catching up with an old friend you haven't seen in awhile. The novel flows very effortlessly as well and it was easy to lose myself in the story while I was reading it.

    Unfortunately I didn't find Auden the easiest character to identify with as she comes across a bit uptight and judgmental. It could be because my own personality is so different from hers, but honestly I don't think I've ever meet a single person like Auden. Her personality didn't seem overly consistent either, I realize she's still trying to figure out who she is, but one day she'd act one way, like wanting to help out with her baby sister and then the next day want nothing to do with her. Although Auden did start to grow on me at the end, I would have appreciated if she'd been a bit more outgoing.

    I found both of Auden's parents to be quite demanding and self-centered. They only really seemed to think about themselves and barely took the time to notice when Auden was around. Only Auden's stepmom Heidi seemed to take her feeling into account which was nice because Heidi turned out to be one of my favorite characters.

    I loved the character of Eli though and honestly if the novel had been told from his point-of-view instead of Auden's, I probably would have liked it better. Eli is the kind of mysterious loner, we all pine for but he was also really sweet and thoughtful. I enjoyed the nice build up to his relationship with Auden, as it was never rushed or unrealistic.

    I did enjoy the beach setting as it created the perfect place for a summer story. I was also very glad to learn that all of Sarah Dessen's books take place in the same place with different characters overlapping into her other novels.

    Although I have mixed feeling about my first Sarah Dessen experience, I really did enjoy her writing style and how the relationship between Auden & Eli developed. I'm looking forward to reading another one of her titles so I can compare it to this one and I'd recommend it to fans of contemporary coming of age or romance stories.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dragging

    I love Sarah Dessen but this time I don't know what happened. I felt like the book dragged too much and the ending was kind of blur. I wanted more romance, it seemed to be way too much about Auden.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Hmm..

    The book was good although a bit slow at the beginning....if u have spare time or want a good summer read then BUY

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Quick Read- Great for the Beach

    My Review:
    Characters:
    Sarah Dessen does a nice job developing different characters in her novel. I enjoyed Auden and her complexities immensely. Auden's spunky, socially awkward way was endearing and had me rooting for her all the way. I also enjoyed the other characters that Ms. Dessen painstakingly developed from Eli and his tortured brooding sexiness to Jake and his tough guy exterior. Heidi with her independent will to survive as a new mother alone to Robert, Auden's selfish author father. Each character fit into the plot flawlessly.
    The one thing that I did struggle with in this novel was the age of the characters. I couldn't quite figure out how old they were because of the reckless abandon with which they conquered their town. There was a lot of drinking and clubbing and late night adventures. I wasn't sure if they were mostly college aged or if they were high school. Either way- This minor flaw in the character development is my only complaint.

    Plot/Conflict/Theme:
    While I like the character's extremely well, I was disappointed a little in the plot. I was expecting something more than the canned romance story. Girl leaves home. Girl meets boy. Boy and Girl bond. Girl messes up. Girl proves she is sorry. Boy and Girl get back together again. This type of plot is too cliche for me to rave about the novel and give it a solid I for Incredible rating. Though Sarah Dessen does provide the readers with a unique setting and some interesting elements. (Like the trouble that is brewing between Auden's stepmom and her dad, and the growing fondness Auden has for her grumpy new infant sister, affectionately nicknamed Isby) There was a potential to draw deeper into these elements to create a more unique plot. For instance, I think delving into the world of cycling or further developing Auden's Quest that Dessen loosely threads through the novel would have strengthened the novel more if it had become a more focal part of the novel.

    Quality of Writing:
    I enjoyed the quality of writing that Sarah Dessen produced in her novel. There were some clever word plays and enjoyable descriptions that lead the reader to really picture this small beach town that had managed to completely upset Auden's traditional way of life.

    Favorite Line: Auden and Eli are discussing her 'quest' to retrieve her lost childhood years.

    "There were endless ways to spend your days, I know that , none of them right or wrong. But given the chance for a real do-over, another way around, who would say no? Not me. Not then. Call it crazy or just chicken salad. But within reason, or even without it, I was in too" (Dessen 178).

    Rating:
    Book: B for Basically Brilliant
    Cover: B for Basically Brilliant

    Review taken from my blog: Ink Slinger's Index

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    great

    i reallly loved this book but it meeds more sex

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    Not my favorite

    I'm a huge fan of Sarah Dessen and I usually find her books sweet, intriguing, and romantic. I picked up this book with high expectations, and unfortunately ended up disappointed. That's not to say that it is bad, but it seems to be lacking that oomph that the rest of her books have, that feeling in your heart where you really connect with the characters. I highly recommend any of her other books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    I liked the book. It's a quick read. This was not one of my favorites by Dessen, but overall a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    wowie oh wow

    sarah dessen is one of my fav. authors but this book disappointed me greatly. it was very dry. i got a little over have way w/ it and i couldn't finish it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ehh

    I was very excited to read this book based on all the great reviews, but I was slightly disapointed. It was a good book, but I just felt that things kept repeating itself throughout the book. On the bright side the book was very relatable and realistic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Summer readin'.

    I don't have too many complaints about this one -- the plot is interesting, the characters lovable, and the ending is cute. What more could you want in a novel that falls directly into the teenage chick-lit category? Not to say that this is a bad thing, of course... It is ideal for light reading at the beach, as are most of Dessen's books. If nothing else, they are easily relatable and inspire within me a great hope for my own romantic happy ending someday. However, her novels seem to lack that WOW factor that only comes around every so often. The simple fact is, I'm not going to remember this one for very long. And for that reason, 3 stars is all it gets.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not Her Best. . . .

    I love Sarah Dessen, but. . . .
    This was sort of cute, but it wasn't one that I could read for hours on end. There were visible mistakes in the grammar, and the characters never really grew on me. Honestly, my favorite character was easily Adam, and we didn't even meet him until later on in the story. I'm not sure I like how all of it evolved, but I did like the parts where Auden and her mother talked, even if it did make me wanna punch a hole in the wall. All in all, it was cute. Nothing much more, though, I'm afraid.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4