Customer Reviews for

Alpha

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    Worth reading

    A fantastic scenario of a devastating nuclear terrorist attack, you newer figure out by who, prevented by an equally mysterious Delta Force team. Well written and interesting, if you like these things. I did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Good read!

    Good story - lots of action. Liked it - bought and read the next one in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Brilliantly Original

    Of the many great thrillers that have filled my bookcase, Greg Rucka's was the absolute most original. His constant action and amazing theme kept me reading to the very end. I was able to connect to the characters, and was rooting for the enemy's downfall. Alpha is a must buy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Beta den

    A cave with two nests made from birchbark for the betas.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite "Alpha" by G

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite "Alpha" by Greg
    Rucka is the first installment in his new 'Jad Bel series'.
    "Alpha"’s setting is Wilsonville, an amusement park
    competition in Disneyland. A wealthy man hired a terrorist to plant a
    dirty bomb at Wilsonville. Uzbek activated a sleeper agent that worked
    in the park. Rumors of a terrorist plot led to Jad Bel’s undercover
    assignment at Wilsonville. When Jad discovered that his daughter’s class
    was scheduled to visit the park, he attempted to discourage the visit.
    His daughter attended a special school for the deaf. On the day of the
    visit the terrorist attacked threatening to detonate a dirty bomb. As
    the park was evacuated the terrorist took hostages; among them was Jad’s
    daughter and her class. Jad called in his fellow special ops teammates
    for assistance in taking down the bad guys. The good guys were
    outnumbered more than 2 to one. Jad was frantic to recuse his ex-wife
    and daughter. Rucka’s "Alpha" is an entertaining tale. My
    copy of "Alpha" was the audio version. I admit to sitting in
    the car longer than necessary so that I could listen a little longer.
    Jad Bel is a larger_than_life character. Despite several beatings
    resulting in possible broken ribs, a cut hand and deep gouges on his
    back, Jad pushed himself to the limits to save Southern CA. Bel’s enemy
    served in the US army in Afghanistan. They both had extensive combat
    training. Bel’s ex-wife was a disappointing character; she was unable to
    see that Bel was doing his best to save her life and their daughter’s.
    Alpha is non–stop action from beginning to end. I found this book rather
    entertaining.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2014

    So i ask...

    What the hell did the sex at the beginning have to do with the story line! This is a thriller/mystery so why star off with a man and barista in lust! Ridiculous!!! Other than such filth i did enjoy the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1