Customer Reviews for

Alpha (Shifters Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 458 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(326)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    ARG, OK I have a love-hate relationship with this book right now. But maybe that's because I'm fresh off the roller-coaster emotional ride it caused.

    1.) Huge, devastating twist... although I did see it coming it was still very upsetting and created a lot of the drama for the rest of the book.

    2.) Love Triangle: UHG. I was actually surprised initially that they would be able to drag this out for as long as they did. Because although Faythe says she loves them both, she adds words like "desperately" on at the end when referring to Marc. Although, there were some surprising revelations about Faythe's parents initial relationship that led to Greg-Jace comparisons that totally made it seem like he was in the running. So I was surprised that I honestly didn't know which way it was going to go. That being said, Faythe really pissed me off. CHOOSE ALREADY! I know a lot is going on but she dragged it out WAY too long until the choice was made for her and then was a baby about it. I was happy how it worked out, but was initially pissed with her acceptance of her non-choice.
    3.) I understand building a climax and creating obstacles for the heroine... but for the love of all that is holy could ONE thing go right?! It made me start to doubt her places, because I mean REALLY?!

    But all that being said, WOW. It was good although I feel like I need to meditate or something to bring down my racing heart rate. It had a good ending that wrapped up all the big stuff, although you know there's still a lot of work to be done. But as the final book, I would have liked to have an epilogue or something for a little more closure on the aftermath

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    good series

    good series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    I liked this book overall. The ending felt a bit rushed and kin

    I liked this book overall. The ending felt a bit rushed and kinda overly optimistic on the last 2 pages, but I could see why it was that way.
    I must say that Marc annoyed me enough that parts of this book were not fun to read. I can understand his characters motivation, but he seemed like from the beginning he was either being extremely aggressively possessive (to the point that I worried about it being abusive) or whiny about Faythe not appreciating his possessiveness. There were times where I had to put the book down for a bit because I found myself so pissed off by his actions.
    Jace I liked a bit more, but I feel like his character was not fully fleshed out. He went from background to major in a very short time. It felt like he didn't really have a lot of time to develop but had lots of potential. He was also rather possessive, but seemed more willing to let Faythe make her own choices without being patronizing.
    I'd be interested to see if any more books take place in this world.
    Overall it was an enjoyable series that I read in about a week and a half.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!!!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bittersweet

    Tensions are running high for Faythe and her beaus in Rachel Vincent's sixth and final edition of her shifters series. And let me tell you all hell breaks loose in Alpha. Malone, again finds a way to weasel out of punishment for his crimes, and come out on top... of the council. Marc, and Jace's lives are in the balance, and Faythe is in jeopardy of loosing her claws. The South Central Pride is being backed into a corner and ready to erupt.

    Like the title and cover art suggests we follow Faythe in her heart wrenching ascension to alpha. We're also along for her emotional dilemma as she chooses a mate. We are privy to her hard fought and failed attempts to be seen as more than a womb in the male dominated boys club that is the council. And Malone is not making it easy for her, challenging and taking away everything that her father worked for. War is a given, many will die, and the end will come to soon.

    My biggest criticism is that even though the story resolved I feel like there is so much more to this world and these characters that can be explored. Faythe may have set into motion a great deal of change, but they have so much possibility for further books. She seems like the best point of view for the political policies that will arise with the first female alpha. It will be interesting to see if Vincent will continue with a spin off with Kaci.

    Overall I liked this book it was very entertaining. There was action, surprises, and heartache. Alone it was wonderful, but as part of the series I wasn't satisfied. I found it more of an opening then the ending it was meant to be. It was bittersweet. Good yet unfinished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    BookWhisperer Review: Alpha

    The traditional offense of the South Central Pride is going to be tested to the limit in this final addition to the Shifters Series. It has been one hell of ride over these past five books. Faythe is a badass heroine that any reader is dared to love. She is a magnet for trouble giving every reader a run for their money in this exhilliarting series. Greg Saunders, Pride Alpha, has proven relucant to shift the waves in previous books. This last book takes on a more defensive style, that has been lacking for this series, it is impressive so of power that is portrayed for this final installment. Faythe will find herself in a position that shows her growth and knowledge she has acquired over these past books, but unfortunately it still may not be enough to save her family or lovers. While fighting the struggle over entire life Faythe is precariously in another love battle. With Marc discovering that a relationship has developed between Jace and Fayth tension is at an all time high. Knowing she has to choose is not helping matters, but neither is having to diffuse a war between these two potential Alphas; when a war is brewing against her Pride. Rachel Vincent is a excellent author, and has created yet another thrilling and suspensful story. It is a shame that this is conclusion for the Shifters series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Amazing End to a Fantastic Series!

    The Shifters series quickly became one of my favorites once I finished Stray, and Rachel Vincent's final installment is filled with the steamy (although highly filled with tension) romance, the intense action, and fantastic characters we all love--and hate. This was a bittersweet ending, and I reccomend this to anyone who has not yet read it. Happy reading! =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very good

    I really liked the story but I am a little disappointed. Not to give anything away but I it did not turn out how I wanted it to. I think Faythe is one of my favorite characters in a book series and I am a little upset that it is all over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    I'm really going to miss this series!

    First of all I am so happy to have read in some of the reviews that other readers shared my love for the other guy. I too wished Faythe's decision had gone the other way but hey I get it. Having said that overall I felt this was a great ending to her story. I'm really gonna miss Faythe, Marc and Jace but will hold out hope that maybe Rachel Vincent will perhaps write a spin off series so that we can find out how life works out for our other favorites like Kaci, Owen, Manx, Vic, Ethan's Baby and all the rest. There still feels like there's so much to the story left tell. I'll certainly keep my fingers crossed as I already feel the loss in my series reading line up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5