Customer Reviews for

Alpha (Shifters Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 458 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(326)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 326 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Finale

    It's full of anguish and heartache. Lots of gut wrenching pain both physical and emotional. I really wanted to cry before it was all over. I didn't agree with Faythe's choice in the end, but understood it. And after a day or too, I believed in it. I couldn't put it down. I'll miss the werecats. Maybe Rachel will write another series from a different Pride. We can hope anyway!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    OMG!!!!!

    Okay so, i love this series! This book was great!I'm very sad that it has to end. With that being said, I cried at the end. Why couldn't she pick my favorite guy? I know Rachel can't please everyone but DARN IT!!!! Why did she have to do this to me???? One of the reasons that I bought the book was to see who Faythe ended up with. SIGH!!!! But overall, great book, great series!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The last chapter of the exciting Shifters urban fantasy saga is a terrific entry

    Her brother Ethan is dead, but Faythe has no time to grieve as she goes after another sibling Ryan accompanied by her two lovers Marc and Jace. Her sibling allowed the rapes of Abby and Sara, and the sexual assault of Faythe when he failed to intervene. Faythe tells him to leave before she takes two parts of his anatomy as earrings.

    Faythe travels to Montana to testify against Council chair Calvin Malone, Jace's stepfather, as the territorial war between the Prides seems eminent. She knows she wants to rip the skin off Malone and his henchman Dean because she has evidence that they killed Ethan, but justice is more important in her new role as the Alpha of her Pride. Besides leading her Pride as the hostilities turn heated, Faythe must choose between loyal always there Jace and angry acrimonious Marc.

    The last chapter of the exciting Shifters urban fantasy saga (see Shift and Pride) is a terrific entry as the heroine shows her maturity as a leader since the first tale (see Stray). What she might do as part of the Pride is different than what she must do as the Alpha of the Pride. Fast-paced and loaded with action, fans of Rachel Vincent's entertaining romantic werewolf saga will relish the well-written final thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ALPHA left my head spinning, heart aching, and eyes weeping!

    (Please be aware that this review contains small spoilers.)

    For the past three years, Rachel Vincent's Shifter Series has been "The Series" for me. It's the series in which I compare all other urban fantasy I read to. I've read each book multiple times. I've spent hours upon hours in Rachel's discussion group talking with other fans about them, and driven all over the country to see Rachel at signings. I've laughed, loved, fought, and cried alongside Faythe and her pridemates. The end of Faythe's story is a culmination of so many things for me.

    This book left both my head and my heart spinning, I even have the empty box of tissues to prove it. Alpha broke my heart, and gave me faith in the world all at the same time. Faythe had to face so much adversity in this book. One road block after another fell in her way, but she didn't let them stop her. She kept going, not only for herself, but for her Pride most of all. Words can't explain how proud I am of what Faythe has accomplished in Alpha.

    The Faythe/Jace/Marc Love Triangle: what is there to say? Basically not a whole lot, without giving away spoilers. I will say this- Faythe does choose one in the end. She isn't forced toward one guy or the other by circumstance (example: one of them is killed in battle). She made the right choice for herself, although the ride along the way is pretty bumpy. Some readers will be happy, while others will be sad. I'm pretty sure Rachel couldn't have made everyone happy, regardless of which way Faythe chose.

    I absolutely loved getting to know Holly, Michael's wife. She's has always been this unknown entity. I was truly grateful for her presence, late in the book. She inadvertently lent much needed comic relief to a very dark part of this story.

    While the ending did have it's sad points, everything ended just the way it should have. Lives were lost, and choices were made. Many characters in Faythe's world have messed up through out the series, but in the end some were able to redeem themselves when it really counted. I was also very happy to see who came back to help the South-central pride in the end.

    My only complaint is that there wasn't an epilogue. I wanted to know how things wrapped up after the final showdown. I just can't believe that was it, it was all over. I felt that so many important questions (at least in my mind) were left unanswered. I'm keeping my fingers crossed for a Shifter's short story to hopefully show up in the very near future. Until then, I guess I'll have to make it up for myself.

    Overall, I want to thank Rachel for writing such amazing characters and such a wonderful world for them to live in! Reading this series has rejuvenated my love for reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    I am a HUGE fan of Rachel Vincent’s writing. Her Soul Scr


    I am a HUGE fan of Rachel Vincent’s writing. Her Soul Screamers series ( YA genre ) is amazing writing. Her adult series, ‘Shifters’, is filled with emotion.

    I have come to the end of my Shifters series journey. I loved how Rachel finished the series off.

    This book had my heart being pulled in a tug-of-war.

    When I first started this series I was Team Marc, Jace was a fun guy and that was it. Rachel decided to bring Jace into a triangle that had me pulled left and right, up and down. I would be a little angry that Faythe could not easily pick Marc.......but then.....Rachel wrote Jace in a new light. I got as confused as Faythe.

    Jace has the less tense, more playful nature that I thought was good for Faythe....but then.....she showed me how hurt Marc was and how deep his love was. How Marc had nobody but Faythe in his sights. Then she made Faythe fall for Jace....OMG!!! Let the mind games begin.

    I am normally very clear cut on who is my Team guy in a book. For an author to get me so tangled up, so under the skin of her triangle guys , is rare. I was flopping around emotionally like a fish out of water.

    The reading kit is needed for this book:

    Lots of tissues.

    A pillow to scream into.

    Strong tape to hold your heart together, cause it keeps breaking.

    A friend who has read the series , you can connect with .

    And a whole lot of FAITH.


    There is a war brewing and all stops need to be pulled out.

    Oh, the guy that needs to be totally slapped with a stinky dead fish from me , had me fuming and the other guy that just needed the biggest smack down. Both so dangerous, one so corrupt, it kept me breathless how he manipulated the laws and rules.

    I am going to miss this series. I would love a Jace spinoff as much as I wanted an Adrian spin off from Vampire Academy series.

    The thing with the Shifter series is Rachel really has you in a bit of a mess after each book finishes. She really brings her characters to life, they appear to be standing before you and so real you could touch them. You ‘feel’ like you are hurting as bad as Faythe. I felt quite connected to Faythe.

    I highly recommend anything Rachel Vincent writes. She has a wonderful gift of the gab.

    FAVE QUOTE: ( Somebody tear my heart out now...)

    “But I love you more. He could walk away from you with a broken heart , if he had to, and live to love another day. But I can’t. Since the first time we kissed, there's never been anyone for me but you. Not in my bed, not in my life, and not in my heart. And there never will be. And that’s what I need to hear from you. Now. “ His hope and fear and desperation , were so thick in the room that I could hardly breathe. “Purgatory’s just another kind of hell, Faythe.”

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    Amazing Finale

    The Shifters series was one of the first paranormal series that I read when I ventured back into the genre in 2007. I have been a faithful and loyal fan ever since I ran across Stray in a used bookstore. I've bought and devoured every release in this series ever since. Faythe and the crew have never disappointed. They've always pulled me into their world and delivered an action-packed, blood-pumping thrill ride of a story. Alpha, was no exception!

    I'm so sad that this brought the series to a close, after all of this time I feel like I'm saying goodbye to friends. Luckily, Rachel Vincent has shown us what a fantastic writer she is, delivering another amazing addiction to the series and ending it all in a way that left me feeling completely satisfied. There was no cop-out on the love triangle, we got a solid ending with Faythe picking one guy for certain. The major dramas were all wrapped up, but it was left open enough that we can imagine how our favorite characters have went on to live their lives after it was all done.

    Overall, fans of this series will not be disappointed with the finale. If you aren't one of the minions that have already read this, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR????

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Primo Cell

    Santa Claus is coming to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Shifters sereis #6

    Such a great book and end to a fantastic series. I loved every minute of it and am sad both this book and now the series are over

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    To linka

    Come on lets go prey hunting for the only prey thats fights back the cats go eat at flue res2

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Goldenwolf

    Hi can i join the pack?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Linka

    Hello?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Fabulous series!

    fabulous ending to a truely entertaining series. very satisfying wrapup, but also a great book. i would certainly recommend reading the whole seriers to watch the characters and plot evolve from the beginning

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    One of the best series I've read!!!!!

    One of the best series I've read!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Excellent Book

    Excellent book which is packed with action. I could not put the book down. The author acquired and held my attention the whole time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Amazing End!!!

    Love Jace.... but love Mark too!!! Faith made me mad for a while but I approve of her chose 110%!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!

    The only complaint I have about Rachel Vincent's Shifter series is that it is over and I dearly would love to know what happens in the future with some of the main characters lives. The entire series is on-the-edge-of- your-seat good. Well written, well developed, and intense. I read all six in less than a week. I could not put them down. Among my favorites!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Best ever!

    Best series ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great end to a wonderful series!

    From the very first Shifter book I was hooked but I loved every book including Alpha. I wish this wasn't the last book! Like many my heart was aching with everything going on in this book and with that between Marc, Jace, & Faythe. I enjoyed learning more about Jace his character continued to develop throughout this book and I was not disappointed! When I had to put the book down to participate in my own life (darn it work!) I found myself thinking about things going on in the book and how they would turn out! When that happens you know your reading something pretty great! I understand the choice she made and although I can't say I agree with it 100% I know if it went the other way I would probably feel the same way! I honestly went back and forth between who I felt Faythe should choose. I am so happy I came across this series and Rachel Vincent is really rising in the ranks as one of my favorite authors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Best series ever

    Read the entire series in under a month. Loved it so much :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hooked...

    LOVE THE ENTIRE SERIES!! WISH THERE WERE MORE!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 326 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17