Customer Reviews for

Alpha and Omega: A Companion Novella to Cry Wolf

Average Rating 4.5
( 549 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(349)

4 Star

(125)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Great Prequel To Brigg's New Hit Series!

First off, let me say this is not a novel so stop complaining about its length. It is, as advertised, a short story. The story may only be 78 pages but it is totally worth the three bucks. Briggs actually wrote this story before begining the Alpha and Omega series. It p...
First off, let me say this is not a novel so stop complaining about its length. It is, as advertised, a short story. The story may only be 78 pages but it is totally worth the three bucks. Briggs actually wrote this story before begining the Alpha and Omega series. It prequels the series and tells how Anna and Charles (the main characters) met. Anna, who is an Omega wolf is lving in the Chicago pack and being physically, sexually and mentally abused. One day she see's a boy's picture in the paper telling about his disappearance. She recognizes the boy because a member of her pack took him. So, Anna calls The Marrok (leader/commander of of the wolves)and he sends over his second in command/executioner Charles. Charles is also The Marrok's youngest son. Anyway, when he first meets her, his wolf immediately recgonzies her as his mate. Briggs writes this part very well. Charles's wolf knows Anna is his mate but Charles's human part, though very attracted to Anna, has a little 'catching up' to do. Charles and Anna investigate the missing boy, try to find out what happen, etc. Meanwhile, Charles investigates what is up with the Chicago pack because something is very wrong. The pack leader didn't file reports when some of his wolves died or went missing, etc. The story mainly focuses on Anna and Charles' romance/mating. But, the missing boy and other stuff make the story all more suspenseful and exciting. I know, I know, that's alot of stuff to be happening in such a short story but believe me; Patricia Briggs does an amazing job. The story was wonderfully written, the characters were fascinating and insightful. Great story I highly recommend it. Try reading the prequel then the series. The first book of the series, Cry Wolf, picks up exactly where the short story left off. So that was pretty cool. But if you have read the other books first, that's cool too. I did, well because, I didn't find out about the prequel to after...Great story! Enjoy! :))

posted by Boomer572 on July 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Also in a group of short stories!!

This is a great Story!!!! But what i did not know is that i have already read this story!!! It is in a book of short stories by various authors.. On the Prowl is the name of the book it is already in so if you have read that book, dont buy this one because it is just th...
This is a great Story!!!! But what i did not know is that i have already read this story!!! It is in a book of short stories by various authors.. On the Prowl is the name of the book it is already in so if you have read that book, dont buy this one because it is just the same story!!!

posted by book_crazy17 on August 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 552 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Prequel To Brigg's New Hit Series!

    First off, let me say this is not a novel so stop complaining about its length. It is, as advertised, a short story. The story may only be 78 pages but it is totally worth the three bucks. Briggs actually wrote this story before begining the Alpha and Omega series. It prequels the series and tells how Anna and Charles (the main characters) met. Anna, who is an Omega wolf is lving in the Chicago pack and being physically, sexually and mentally abused. One day she see's a boy's picture in the paper telling about his disappearance. She recognizes the boy because a member of her pack took him. So, Anna calls The Marrok (leader/commander of of the wolves)and he sends over his second in command/executioner Charles. Charles is also The Marrok's youngest son. Anyway, when he first meets her, his wolf immediately recgonzies her as his mate. Briggs writes this part very well. Charles's wolf knows Anna is his mate but Charles's human part, though very attracted to Anna, has a little 'catching up' to do. Charles and Anna investigate the missing boy, try to find out what happen, etc. Meanwhile, Charles investigates what is up with the Chicago pack because something is very wrong. The pack leader didn't file reports when some of his wolves died or went missing, etc. The story mainly focuses on Anna and Charles' romance/mating. But, the missing boy and other stuff make the story all more suspenseful and exciting. I know, I know, that's alot of stuff to be happening in such a short story but believe me; Patricia Briggs does an amazing job. The story was wonderfully written, the characters were fascinating and insightful. Great story I highly recommend it. Try reading the prequel then the series. The first book of the series, Cry Wolf, picks up exactly where the short story left off. So that was pretty cool. But if you have read the other books first, that's cool too. I did, well because, I didn't find out about the prequel to after...Great story! Enjoy! :))

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    loved it

    This short story is worth every penny you'll spend on it. It is the start to a series by the same name and is fantastic. It inertwines with the author's other series, Mercy Thompson, enough to give you a sense of famliarity with what's going on. This is a very good read and if you like werewolves and verious other fantisical creatures, you should read it as soon as possible.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Also in a group of short stories!!

    This is a great Story!!!! But what i did not know is that i have already read this story!!! It is in a book of short stories by various authors.. On the Prowl is the name of the book it is already in so if you have read that book, dont buy this one because it is just the same story!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    Right title...wrong book!

    I bought and downloaded this book to my nook. I was all set to read the novella when I opened it up on the nook to find out that it was really "Alpha and Omega: The Search for the Beginning and End of the Universe" by Charles Seife. Oh my! Ready to read about werewolves and to have a cosmology book thrust upon me, how rude! Had to call and get a form submitted for review of the content, try to get a refund, and who knows when the correct book will be back for download in the future. Hope others don't get caught in this trap!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Official beginning of the Alpha and Omega series

    This is the official start of the Alpha and Omega series so make sure to read this before starting Cry Wolf. Very good start to a very good book and series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Alpha & Omega

    This is one of the best series I have read in a long time. Have read the Novella and the two books after it three times and enjoyed them immensely each time. So happy the third book is coming out while I am on vacation so I won,t have to read in pieces.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    Loved it!

    I'm new to Patricia Briggs and was looking into getting the first book of the series then saw everyone talking about this "short story" and thought that would be nice to see if I like her first, lets just say I loved it! and will def be buying the others in this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    Very very short story

    This is an introduction to a different branch of Patricia Briggs character world. I was under the impression it was a full book on sale when I bought it, but in reality it's a very short story introducing these 2 characters, and not much else. Story is very short, very linear, and unsurprising. Nothing about the main characters is given, other than "here we are, now lets go to it". Frankly, not worth the 2.99 it cost.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    What a jip

    Why is there only 6 pages?! So pissed that I wasted money on this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Watch the movie pls

    It good TAKE IT FROM ME
    ~LYRA ANA JEVIS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Amazing

    I love this series soooo much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    LOVE ALL PATRICIA BRIGGS BOOKS!!!

    I started reading the Mercedes Thompson series and am now reading the Alpha and Omega series. This book is well written, fun to read and I would recommend it to everyone!!! Love Patricia Briggs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    To short

    But a great companion book! Glad i read this second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    This was a great story! Loved the buildup of the characters and

    This was a great story! Loved the buildup of the characters and their development. What a great couple! It is good to know how their story really started.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Ties everything together

    I bought Cry Wolf before I realized there was this little novella to open the story line. I was quickly drawn into the storyline amd finished the entire series before even thinking about looking for the 'missing piece' to Anna and Charles' relationship. I think this was a wonderful way to begin their journey together!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    This is great but short

    This short story lets you know how some of the characters in this series became part of the pack and the reason they are a little screwed up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Elder den

    Same as the omega den but with mint leave nests for 35 elders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Anonimous

    Incredible book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Good story but something missing..

    Nice story kept me entertained but it lacked some major dynamics... i loved the characters but i don't know i just found myself becoming bored with the authors style of writing but thats just me...I think my pain problem was there wasn't a character that jumped out at me ad became my instant favorite they were all well structured characters they just lacked that trait that draws you in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Great back story

    I love all of the mercy thompson series, the alpha and omega series is just as good if not better. These are books I could sit down and read again and again. Filled with suspense, mystery, romance and a bit of sass these are excellent books that anyone could enjoy. Probably best if said people were at least 14 or 15.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 552 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28