Customer Reviews for

The Alphabet of Manliness

Average Rating 4.5
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Lifesaving.

This book cured my cancer. Unfortunately, all the ass I got because of having read this book caused me to contract herpes.

posted by Anonymous on February 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Kind of hypocritical

I am, or rather used to be a huge Maddox fan. I enjoyed his site, recommended it to friends and bought the first edition of his book. I was excited to read the book, I find his honestly crude and mean humor funny. However the book disapointed me, I felt like more of his...
I am, or rather used to be a huge Maddox fan. I enjoyed his site, recommended it to friends and bought the first edition of his book. I was excited to read the book, I find his honestly crude and mean humor funny. However the book disapointed me, I felt like more of his web posts were much more comical then this book. Since the book Maddox has all but abandoned the site that launched his career. I don't blame him, he's busy with many other projects and writing on a site that I can't imagine he profits a lot from due to lack of advertisers probably isn't huge on his list of priorities. However I feel like him relaunching his book with a different cover and probably a few new pages written half-assed is kind of selling out. This is exactly the kind of thing that he would criticize on his web site and now, money hungry or just an experiment to see how many of his followers will purchase another copy, he has chosen to go the typical money whoring route. I won't be buying this new edition, nor will I proably even bother to read the new updates at the local bookstore while pretending I have intentions to buy it.

posted by Samantha201 on August 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2007

    Hilarious

    This book was hilarious! The illustrations are the best part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book should be in every household. it is a book that a father should give his son on his 12 b-day. if u think u r a man than read this book and u will realize that u rnt but will be after reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Mostly Entertaining

    There is at least one chapter in this book that will have you rolling in laughter. On the same token, there is at least one chapter in this book that will make you want the time back that it took to read. If you are tired of all the political correctness piled on us each day and just need a break this book will provide it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    a definite read for potty humor enthusiests

    I absolutely love the book, hands down - this is coming from someone who's not very big on reading either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2006

    This book should not be read.

    For those of you who are well educated and enjoy the greater things in life, I do not recommend picking this up. Maddox is uncommpassionate sociopath who cares only for himself. The book itself wasn't even funny. A few of Maddox's pages on his website were mildly entertaining, so I decided to pick up this book. The book was dull, unfunny, and extremely idiotic. I seriously recommend reading something else.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2006

    Save Your Money

    I actually really love his website, but the book is just, to say the least, very disappointing compared to it. A bit too immature and boring, and just loaded with too much BS. To be fair: some good stuff, some funny, some good points here and there. Thank goodness it was just barely about 200 pages. Threw my copy in the trash. I felt it was an overall waste of time to read, as well as the waste of money to buy. It's embarassing to know that the author is the same age as me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2006

    Stunning! Brilliant! A must have!

    I bet you will be speechless right after you read the first few pages. They are that astonishing, original and provocative. I laughed out loud so many times because this is the very best humoristic book I have ever laid eyes on and I am an avid reader. I am not a ¿fan¿ of Maddox nor I knew about his web site so my impressions about him and his mind blowing entertainment are entirely based on this truly very, very manly book. It is organized into 26 small sections, one for each letter of the alphabet. I am sure that you won¿t be able to put it down after you read just the first one dedicated to A** kicking. I don¿t know whether you will grow extra hair and your testosterone will skyrocket after you read the book but I am sure that you will be thrilled to have a copy of it and reread it again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2006

    Give it a rest want-to-bes

    Many reviews seem to be giving this book a poor review, based on the facts that, Maddox has wroked with computers for a living. Because, as we all know, computers have nothing to do with manlyness. (That was a bit of sarcasm for those who are slow on the intake) Regardless of Maddox's past, read some of his editorials on his website. He is a great writer. What he does other then writing shouldn't matter, unless of course you're shallow and you like judging books by it's cover. (The person, not the book) Give this book a try, I guarantee you'll get some laughs out of this, and everyone can go for some humor. (Unless you're that type who sits in a dark corner all day cutting yourself)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    Order this now and thank Maddox later

    Long ago, Maddox' systematic destruction of the flimsy concept that 'Christopher Reeve & his quadroplegia crusade really mattered' struck a chord deep within me. Years later, my somewhat-successful existence is a direct result of the Maddox Doctrines. With authority I proclaim that this book rules, yet I've never read it. I can make such a ballsy statement because Maddox and his Doctrines empower me to confidently take such actions. Do yourself and your family a favor, not to mention your other gender/race co-workers and anybody with a strong political leaning: don't try to outthink Maddox. Pre-order this masterpiece NOW, then tell everyone about it at work tomorrow. Be prepared to contact local law enforcement for help with crowd control as everyone mobs your office cubicle. Why the mob, you say? Simply because you are a MAN and proud to let others know it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    Two thumbs up, plus a finger or two.

    I received the book yesterday afternoon and I immediately started reading it. When I get home this evening, I will begin reading about 'Copping a feel'. The first two chapters were so insightful, I can't wait to read the rest. I will truly be a changed man after I complete the book. Thank you, Maddox, for changing my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    The Only Book You'll Ever Need To Read

    First off: I'll be blunt. I haven't read a book, or cared to read a book in years. There is nothing worth reading about, in a world full of men acting like babies and people moaning about equality, where equality isn't earned. The Alphabet of Manliness is book which wonders where men have lost their pride. There are things that real men do, like passing gas with pride, ignoring women, and eating beef jerkey. This book will have to recieve a rating of 5 stars from me, because the Barnes and Noble rating system doesn't have infinite stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    Better than a bowl of beef jerky and tobasco sauce.

    Maddox's book towers over the rest. It only leaves the number one spot to dropkick the other books in the face. Or cover. Those who attack or insult Maddox fear his greatness. They cower like children in the shadow of the king of satire. Long live Maddox, arrrr.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    Maddox Delivers

    I would consider myself a slow, but avid and well-rounded reader. I would have to say this was the best book I have ever read in all my years. Maddox is a genius and knows exactly how to deliver what most men are thinking. Also, I can proudly say that I was able to do it all in one sitting. When the book was put down, I felt uneasy and had to put off my work to continue. In the end, I feel good about myself and feel very powerful and manly. Cheers to Maddox!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    Greatest Book EVER

    Its hilarious. Every word of it is incredible. Maddox really outdid himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    OMG I'm straight but I'd marry Maddox if I had a chance

    Wow, first off I've been a long fan of Maddox and have been a frequent visitor oh his site for over 5 years now. Maddox is a prophet and he blesses the world with his message of how to live life and how much U2 sucks. If he really wanted to he could probbly cure cancer and be president of the world, but no, instead he is so humble that he would rather better society by telling us what is right from wrong. I've learned more from Maddox in one article than I've learned through over 2 years of college. He is a wise teacher and if I ever met him in real life I'd have to turn away because awesomeness of that magnitude cannot be comprehended by human sight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    Amazing: the word that doesn't even describe...

    As soon as I opened the book, a lumberjack jumped out of the pages and swung his axe at my face. I thanked him very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2006

    Must Buy!!!

    I'm a long-time fan of Maddox's site and as soon as it was available I pre-ordered the book. I've only gotten 5 pages in the book and I've laughed three-times the length it took me to read that far. It's extremely offensive but hilarious and I'm sure Maddox is going to hell for writing it, and me for reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2006

    Maddox and God are synonyms

    this book ruled so hard i can barely think straight, naysayers of Maddox/his book/website are clinically retarded or not real humans at all, there is no better way to spend your money than on this book, for, in the Alphabet of Manliness, M is for Maddox

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2006

    HAHAHA YOU'RE DIFFERENT AND THATS COOL!!!!111 LOLROFLLMAO

    People feel the need to be different, so they attempt to claim that this book is NOT the best book to ever exist on the face of the earth. These people, however, are tools and should just go cut themselves and listen to Linkin Park for attention. The book is offensive and the most amazing thing I have ever read. It rocked my face so hard that I look like a totally different person. A better person. So just read the stupid book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    Good, not great

    I laughed on more than one occasion, but honestly a little disappointed as a Maddox fan. Not that it isn't sarcastic or angry in tone, he just didn't write himself as the 'greatest man in the universe' kind of tone that he displays himself on his site. But I'm sure glad he didn't recycle material from his website.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5