Customer Reviews for

The Alphabet of Manliness

Average Rating 4.5
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Lifesaving.

This book cured my cancer. Unfortunately, all the ass I got because of having read this book caused me to contract herpes.

posted by Anonymous on February 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Kind of hypocritical

I am, or rather used to be a huge Maddox fan. I enjoyed his site, recommended it to friends and bought the first edition of his book. I was excited to read the book, I find his honestly crude and mean humor funny. However the book disapointed me, I felt like more of his...
I am, or rather used to be a huge Maddox fan. I enjoyed his site, recommended it to friends and bought the first edition of his book. I was excited to read the book, I find his honestly crude and mean humor funny. However the book disapointed me, I felt like more of his web posts were much more comical then this book. Since the book Maddox has all but abandoned the site that launched his career. I don't blame him, he's busy with many other projects and writing on a site that I can't imagine he profits a lot from due to lack of advertisers probably isn't huge on his list of priorities. However I feel like him relaunching his book with a different cover and probably a few new pages written half-assed is kind of selling out. This is exactly the kind of thing that he would criticize on his web site and now, money hungry or just an experiment to see how many of his followers will purchase another copy, he has chosen to go the typical money whoring route. I won't be buying this new edition, nor will I proably even bother to read the new updates at the local bookstore while pretending I have intentions to buy it.

posted by Samantha201 on August 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    Lifesaving.

    This book cured my cancer. Unfortunately, all the ass I got because of having read this book caused me to contract herpes.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    MANLY!

    After reading this book I woke up with an eye patch, five o'clock shadow,and a barrel of whiskey all from having this book's bad-a**ness delivered in one fell swoop! Awesome book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    Manliness at it's best

    As a female reading the book, I find it amazingly funny. Most women are totally offended by his writings, but perhaps they are offended because there's a bit of truth to his perfected form of sarcasm. This book is worth reading for anyone as long as you're not easily offended, and even if you are...maybe you should still take a look..

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    Highly Recommended

    Ok, i'll admit..there are several lines in the book which came directly from Maddox's site, which I found kind of annoying. However, the one liners were very few and very far between. The overall content is fresh Maddox matierial and man...it really is hilarious. Whats great is that the few stuck up a**holes who are giving it negative reviews are actually just driving people even more to read Maddox's book. They just dont get it. Thanks alot for the bad publicity...youre helping to drive sales through the roof, i'm sure. We live in age of cynicism and Maddox is the sarcasm king. Get this book. And seriously...buy 2. You'll find a friend who youll want to read it as well so you can laugh about the humor in this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2006

    Sex, Mass Geniocide, Atari, and Candy...

    The items listen in my headline combined do not even compare to how great this book us. Finally, a book that highlights how awesome my profession (professional lumberjack) is as well as our uniform flannel. This book is so manly, you're going to have to shave it twice a day in order to read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    sghll Shit

    1 word: epic!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Fuk

    Fuk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Politically incorrect, sexist, highly offensive---and funny as hell.

    Not a book for the sensitive person.

    This book reminds me of Andrew Dice Clay's standup: I'd laugh out loud for the whole thing and then sit in a corner and feel ashamed of myself afterwards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book.

    This was a really good book to read in regards to "manliness". It's got crude jokes, stuff about fights and things only guys will really get. I thought it was a great read, all the way through and would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    Great Book!

    I happen to be looking through a friends bookshelf one evening and came across this one. Before I had a chance to read the back of the cover my friend advised me that I would probably find the book offensive, because I'm a woman. After that being said I decided to take a look at it and emediatley I was hooked. This book is by far the best I have read in a while. It was very entertaining and funny. I didn't find it offensive at all, in fact some of the things the author wrote about woamn are very much true. After growing up with 6 brothers, I thought I knew everything there was to know, but this book showed me that I didn't. I love the authors humor and originality. I believe every guy should have a copy of this book given to him. As for woman, read at your own risk and you really need to have a sense of humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    Ridiculous, immature and laugh out loud funny.

    Highly recommended for anyone with a good sense of humor. This book is so ridiculous yet takes itself so seriously that you can't help but laugh out loud the entire time. I was not able to put this book down until I was done reading it. Short but sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Hilarious

    It's a great read. Easy, egotistic, raw humor. However, nothing that made me wince. It's a great plane read, bathroom read, wait for the dentist read, in between working read. I even brought it to a family gathering once and we couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    Funniest book I've ever read

    I bought this while shopping with my boyfriend. Just the first page alone was hilarious us. I plan to get it for a few of my close guy friends for X-Mas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2007

    Hilarious

    This book was hilarious! The illustrations are the best part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book should be in every household. it is a book that a father should give his son on his 12 b-day. if u think u r a man than read this book and u will realize that u rnt but will be after reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2006

    Stunning! Brilliant! A must have!

    I bet you will be speechless right after you read the first few pages. They are that astonishing, original and provocative. I laughed out loud so many times because this is the very best humoristic book I have ever laid eyes on and I am an avid reader. I am not a ¿fan¿ of Maddox nor I knew about his web site so my impressions about him and his mind blowing entertainment are entirely based on this truly very, very manly book. It is organized into 26 small sections, one for each letter of the alphabet. I am sure that you won¿t be able to put it down after you read just the first one dedicated to A** kicking. I don¿t know whether you will grow extra hair and your testosterone will skyrocket after you read the book but I am sure that you will be thrilled to have a copy of it and reread it again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2006

    Give it a rest want-to-bes

    Many reviews seem to be giving this book a poor review, based on the facts that, Maddox has wroked with computers for a living. Because, as we all know, computers have nothing to do with manlyness. (That was a bit of sarcasm for those who are slow on the intake) Regardless of Maddox's past, read some of his editorials on his website. He is a great writer. What he does other then writing shouldn't matter, unless of course you're shallow and you like judging books by it's cover. (The person, not the book) Give this book a try, I guarantee you'll get some laughs out of this, and everyone can go for some humor. (Unless you're that type who sits in a dark corner all day cutting yourself)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    Order this now and thank Maddox later

    Long ago, Maddox' systematic destruction of the flimsy concept that 'Christopher Reeve & his quadroplegia crusade really mattered' struck a chord deep within me. Years later, my somewhat-successful existence is a direct result of the Maddox Doctrines. With authority I proclaim that this book rules, yet I've never read it. I can make such a ballsy statement because Maddox and his Doctrines empower me to confidently take such actions. Do yourself and your family a favor, not to mention your other gender/race co-workers and anybody with a strong political leaning: don't try to outthink Maddox. Pre-order this masterpiece NOW, then tell everyone about it at work tomorrow. Be prepared to contact local law enforcement for help with crowd control as everyone mobs your office cubicle. Why the mob, you say? Simply because you are a MAN and proud to let others know it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    Two thumbs up, plus a finger or two.

    I received the book yesterday afternoon and I immediately started reading it. When I get home this evening, I will begin reading about 'Copping a feel'. The first two chapters were so insightful, I can't wait to read the rest. I will truly be a changed man after I complete the book. Thank you, Maddox, for changing my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    The Only Book You'll Ever Need To Read

    First off: I'll be blunt. I haven't read a book, or cared to read a book in years. There is nothing worth reading about, in a world full of men acting like babies and people moaning about equality, where equality isn't earned. The Alphabet of Manliness is book which wonders where men have lost their pride. There are things that real men do, like passing gas with pride, ignoring women, and eating beef jerkey. This book will have to recieve a rating of 5 stars from me, because the Barnes and Noble rating system doesn't have infinite stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4