Customer Reviews for

The Alphabet of Manliness

Average Rating 4.5
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Lifesaving.

This book cured my cancer. Unfortunately, all the ass I got because of having read this book caused me to contract herpes.

posted by Anonymous on February 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Kind of hypocritical

I am, or rather used to be a huge Maddox fan. I enjoyed his site, recommended it to friends and bought the first edition of his book. I was excited to read the book, I find his honestly crude and mean humor funny. However the book disapointed me, I felt like more of his...
I am, or rather used to be a huge Maddox fan. I enjoyed his site, recommended it to friends and bought the first edition of his book. I was excited to read the book, I find his honestly crude and mean humor funny. However the book disapointed me, I felt like more of his web posts were much more comical then this book. Since the book Maddox has all but abandoned the site that launched his career. I don't blame him, he's busy with many other projects and writing on a site that I can't imagine he profits a lot from due to lack of advertisers probably isn't huge on his list of priorities. However I feel like him relaunching his book with a different cover and probably a few new pages written half-assed is kind of selling out. This is exactly the kind of thing that he would criticize on his web site and now, money hungry or just an experiment to see how many of his followers will purchase another copy, he has chosen to go the typical money whoring route. I won't be buying this new edition, nor will I proably even bother to read the new updates at the local bookstore while pretending I have intentions to buy it.

posted by Samantha201 on August 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    Better than a bowl of beef jerky and tobasco sauce.

    Maddox's book towers over the rest. It only leaves the number one spot to dropkick the other books in the face. Or cover. Those who attack or insult Maddox fear his greatness. They cower like children in the shadow of the king of satire. Long live Maddox, arrrr.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    Maddox Delivers

    I would consider myself a slow, but avid and well-rounded reader. I would have to say this was the best book I have ever read in all my years. Maddox is a genius and knows exactly how to deliver what most men are thinking. Also, I can proudly say that I was able to do it all in one sitting. When the book was put down, I felt uneasy and had to put off my work to continue. In the end, I feel good about myself and feel very powerful and manly. Cheers to Maddox!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    Greatest Book EVER

    Its hilarious. Every word of it is incredible. Maddox really outdid himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    OMG I'm straight but I'd marry Maddox if I had a chance

    Wow, first off I've been a long fan of Maddox and have been a frequent visitor oh his site for over 5 years now. Maddox is a prophet and he blesses the world with his message of how to live life and how much U2 sucks. If he really wanted to he could probbly cure cancer and be president of the world, but no, instead he is so humble that he would rather better society by telling us what is right from wrong. I've learned more from Maddox in one article than I've learned through over 2 years of college. He is a wise teacher and if I ever met him in real life I'd have to turn away because awesomeness of that magnitude cannot be comprehended by human sight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    Amazing: the word that doesn't even describe...

    As soon as I opened the book, a lumberjack jumped out of the pages and swung his axe at my face. I thanked him very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2006

    Must Buy!!!

    I'm a long-time fan of Maddox's site and as soon as it was available I pre-ordered the book. I've only gotten 5 pages in the book and I've laughed three-times the length it took me to read that far. It's extremely offensive but hilarious and I'm sure Maddox is going to hell for writing it, and me for reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2006

    Maddox and God are synonyms

    this book ruled so hard i can barely think straight, naysayers of Maddox/his book/website are clinically retarded or not real humans at all, there is no better way to spend your money than on this book, for, in the Alphabet of Manliness, M is for Maddox

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2006

    HAHAHA YOU'RE DIFFERENT AND THATS COOL!!!!111 LOLROFLLMAO

    People feel the need to be different, so they attempt to claim that this book is NOT the best book to ever exist on the face of the earth. These people, however, are tools and should just go cut themselves and listen to Linkin Park for attention. The book is offensive and the most amazing thing I have ever read. It rocked my face so hard that I look like a totally different person. A better person. So just read the stupid book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    Maddox gave me back my balls.

    After reading this book I have become a man, a man with balls. This book tought me alot of things, I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    Maddox - Greatest man...ever?

    This book will kick your nut sack inside out and shove it back down your throat. 'The Alphabet of Manliness' is the finest peace of literature Shakespeare. Time for all those preppy elitists to re-write the textbooks, because Maddox's new book redefines the entire English language. Infact, the book is such a success, I recommend it to loved ones. Wife giving you a hard time? Maddox's book will beat her FOR YOU. GUARANTEED. Children asking for money? Maddox's book will beat them FOR YOU. GUARANTEED. This book has everything and I recommend for all you pussies out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    Maddox knows his stuff

    I once thought I was a man, then this page known as the best page in the universe jumped up and drop-kicked me in the face, I then knew of a man, a pirate, a legend. He showed me the ways of being a true man and since that day of the drop kick I came to love beef jerky and tobasco sauce and other such great thing the Best Page In The Universe has to offer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    The. Best.

    Really you should read this, whether or not you're a man--you can get manlier--a woman, you can laugh away, or a puny little idiot who's attempting to be manly. This book will make you one. 100% guaranteed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2006

    I'm a woman and I love it.

    Even women can find this book halarious. It gives me a picture of the stereotypical male. Us women know what men think about, men just don't know it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    Maddox will help you, man!

    I used to walk around flippantly thinking I was a man. Not the burly, lumberjackish type of man, but a man who isn't afraid to get dirty, knows how to swing a wrench (or wench or winch), expertly trained to use firearms, etc. Then, Maddox entered my life. Now, I know that I am a man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    MADDOX DELIVERS KICKS TO ALL KINDS OF GLUTS

    Just how much kicking does maddox deliver to the gluts? Why don't you just ask any vegitarian? If maddox were a pirate, he would be the most feared and respected pirate on the high seas. He is the epitome of badass, any Texan will tell you (and we know a lot about badasses). We all follow the Book of Manliness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    THERE AREN'T ENOUGH STARS IN THE GALAXY FOR THIS BOOK

    You would do well to buy several copies of this book. First of all, you'll need at least two copies for yourself. One to read and one to beat old people with who act scared/confused all the time. Then you'll need a copy to eat to prove how manly you are. Ever seen that guy who gets shot in the chest with a cannonball in slowmotion? That's Maddox's dad. His mother is a bag of broken glass and rusty jagged pieces of slaughterhouse equipment. Maddox has a laser which shoots from his phallus, which is legendary. BUY AS MANY COPIES OF THIS BOOK AS YOU CAN AFFORD. Some day in the near future, you will laughingly remember 'the bible' as you head to the church of Maddox.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    I am male! Hear me roar!

    I put this book on top of my toilet as I saw that as the only fitting location for it. Something didn't seem right, but I couldn't put my finger on it. Finally, after a night of heavy fighting and chopping down large trees I realized what it was that so bothered me. I quickly ran home, making sure to shove anyone (man, woman, and especially child) out of my way. Immediately, I grabbed the toilet seat and tore it off. No man sits when he needs to use the bathroom. I am alpha male. Thank you, Maddox.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    Maddox, a great change from pussy media

    Despite people that cry about Maddox success and try to talk down on it all he got where he is by word of mouth and that's the shiz. I've enjoyed his wrightings as they closely paralell my own thoughts and actions. I'll buy 5 just to make up for those that don't get a copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    B!tchin!

    Before I read Maddox's website ramblings I used to read novels, comics, play video games, and visit the occasional porn site. Visiting his website was like getting smashed in the crotch by a sack of doorknobs and waking up to what life is really about: reading novels, comics, and visiting porn sites. I also know what it's like to laugh at people that don't deserve it, make fun of children, and hate U2. I also look at doors differently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2006

    I can't hardly wait

    Maddox and his great satire has never dissapointed me or let me down. This will surely be a breakthrough in his writing, and will certainly please anyone looking for great humor or the fans who have wished for more than his articles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4