Customer Reviews for

Already Home

Average Rating 4.5
( 318 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(179)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    I am a big fan of Susan Mallery's. I eagerly await each book tha

    I am a big fan of Susan Mallery's. I eagerly await each book that comes out and then get mad at myself for finishing the book so quickly that a follow up isn't available right then. Her women's fiction is my favorite with strong and relatable characters. I wish I could say that held true for this book. This book was okay but not great. The plot was easy to figure out and I often found myself irritated with Jenna for being a wishy-washy pushover. All that said, I will continue to eagerly await the next book from Ms. Mallery because I know that she will continue to deliver.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    At first I wasn't sure how I felt about this book....it introduc

    At first I wasn't sure how I felt about this book....it introduced some characters that I really didn't like. But it also introduced some characters that I couldn't wait until they appeared on the page again. I wish some of the characters had their own book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Susan Mallery - Already Home After breaking up with her chef h

    Susan Mallery - Already Home

    After breaking up with her chef husband who was a philanderer, Jenna (who is also a chef) needs to get a life of her own. She seems to find one when she buys a store and starts to convert it to a cookware store. With the help of newly hired store manager, Violet, who is a bit of an unusual character with an interesting back round, Jenna starts to make a `go' at her store.
    Now Jenna has always know she was adopted and never cared to know who her birth parents were...but fate has a way of demanding that you change your mind about how things should be. And she finds this out the hard way when her `aging hippie' parents show up out of the blue.

    This was a complex story, but not a romance as we have come to love from Ms Mallery. Instead of a romance, this was more of a story about how an adult child of adoption handles her birth parents coming to find her. In addition, the sub-story from Violet is one that some sensitive people may find difficult to read.

    Unfortunately, the things that should have been a surprise to the reader were so obvious throughout the story, that I never felt the strong emotion that I'm sure Ms Mallery was trying to evoke.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    It took several chapters for me to get into this book. The story

    It took several chapters for me to get into this book. The storyline just seemed typical, nothing exciting. The main character struggles to right herself again after her world is turned upside down. This wasn't the storyline I expected from Susan Mallery after reading her other books. Decent story, but not on my must read list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    I am a huge fan of Susan Mallery but I have to admit when I firs

    I am a huge fan of Susan Mallery but I have to admit when I first started reading this book it took me several chapters to really start to enjoy it but let me tell you once the story starts to unfold you will be hooked! I couldn't put it down. Heartwarming tale about two families joined together and lives changed forever. Mallery made me feel like I was in the book and literally knew the characters. I bet we all could wish for a mom like Beth and a good friend like Jenna and Violet! Not Mallery's best but definitely a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    This book was a good read. It was different than Susan's normal

    This book was a good read. It was different than Susan's normal writing, but sweet and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was a good book--it said a lot of really poignant things ab

    This was a good book--it said a lot of really poignant things about families and relationships of all kinds and had a really powerful message overall. That said, I wanted to like it more than I actually did. The main character, Jenna, had a lot of things going on in her life all at once (divorce, starting over again in the town she grew up in, opening a new business in a very different field than her old career, meeting her birth parents...), which I get is hard, however, the way she dealt--or decided not to deal--got on my nerves at times. She was a bit too much "me, me, me" for my taste. Sure, she did have some right to self-absorption, up to a point, but she tended to take it too far. To a reader (and perhaps book characters who spend more time looking outside themselves rather than being focused inward quite so much) it was fairly obvious, I thought, why her birth parents chose this particular time to enter her life. I can see why many people would really enjoy this book; but for me, it might not have been the right time to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Good not great

    This book was okay, good not great. I found myself skipping over parts of the book because I just wanted the book to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    Recommended

    Very disappointed that this is not available on E-Book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2