Customer Reviews for

Already Home

Average Rating 4.5
( 318 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(179)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Grab some kleenex and a box of chocolates!

    Review by Valerie: My first read by Susan Mallery. It is NOT a romance novel but does have elements of romance woven in. Rather, it's a book about relationships - family, friends, spousal, adoptive, and especially the inner self.

    When I first started reading, I expected the story to be about one character and her life's ups and downs. The story is so much more. Jenna, her new assistant, her mom, and her birth mom share equal parts of their lives as you read about Jenna's failed marriage and her attempt to reconnect with her creative self. While she's gaining self-confidence, her new assistant, Violet, is forging her career path after rough teenage years without any family to fall back on. Beth, Jenna's mom, is dealing with the birth mother's surprise intrusion into their lives and Serenity, the birth mom, is a free-spirit who wants to make up for years without memories.

    While guys are mentioned and relationships with them explored, they aren't the center of the story. The center is about change and forgiveness and growing. What do you do when your life is turned upside down? How do you find the strength to pick yourself up? Can a heart hold enough love for two families? A very enjoyable read that brought tears to my eyes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    Delightful!

    Having never read anything by Susan Mallery, I wasn't quite sure what to expect with this novel. I was initially intrigued by the cover. It's gorgeous. I tend to find myself choosing books based on the beautiful cover design, and often it's disappointing. Not so with Already Home. I loved just about everything about this novel, the engaging story, the well-written (and often flawed) characters, the little cook shop. Oh, how I wanted to pop into Grate Expectations and chat and cook with Jenna and Violet. While some of the plot points were a tad predictable, I found the book as a whole to be completely enjoyable and one I had a hard time putting down. From just a quick glance at some of the other titles under Ms. Mallery's belt, it appears she's typically a romance novelist. Like I said, I've not read her other work, so I'm going strictly by titles and cover art, and I could be wrong. But in any case, it does appear she's branching out with Already Home. It's got romance, but I wouldn't call it a romance novel. There's too much substance to attach that narrow a label. If you enjoy really good women's fiction, this is definitely one to put on your to read list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Got a print copy of this book from the author, in exchange for a

    Got a print copy of this book from the author, in exchange for a review. This is more stream of consciousness than review, 
    so not up to my usual standards. Sorry.

    Jenna is a complex character, a woman with a real flair for cooking and a serious inferiority complex in the kitchen, thanks to 
    her ex-husband. She packs up her life post-divorce and moves back to her hometown, where she decides on a whim to open 
    a kitchen/cooking store. Running said store is not all she thought it would be, and the trials and tribulations can be funny.

    She has a great relationship with her adoptive mom and dad, and has never had any interest in searching for or getting to know her 
    birth parents. Guess who shows up right in the big middle of her remaking her life? I figured out what her birth mother's agenda was 
    pretty quickly - it seemed logical to me, though I don't think it was telegraphed much - maybe not at all. I have to confess to not really 
    liking her birth mother, even by the end of the book. Maybe because I had a mother like that, and it pushed too many buttons for me.

    The B story of her getting back into dating was not as satisfying for me for some reason. I didn't really connect with Elliot - he seemed 
    too good to be true, and even at the end of the story, I was waiting for the other shoe to drop and for him to turn out to be some jackhole.

    The other B story of her store manager Violet's relationship woes is actually pretty compelling, and I'd like to read more about her. 
    She's got a convoluted backstory, and I look forward to learning more about that. I adore Jenna's dad's solution to her big problem.

    Jenna's birth brother Dragon is very interesting, and I definitely want to read more about him. He sounds like just my kind of 
    not-quite-bad boy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    Seems like it¿s been two years since I¿ve been able to spend the

    Seems like it’s been two years since I’ve been able to spend the evening huddled around a Susan Mallery book. Finally getting the opportunity to do just that showed me how much I’ve missed it. 
    Here are the reading results:
    Best supporting actor goes to Dragon. His quick and snarky attitude had me wanting an entire book dedicated to Dragon alone. But back to the main storyline:  This book is one of evolution. The synopsis informs the to-be reader that Jenna is in need of change after a failed marriage which resulted in a broken cooking-spirit. I tentatively began reading but was soon grateful that I did. 

    Jenna is not the same person the reader meets at the beginning of the book. But it’s the evolving story that comes together page by page. Already Home involves a dynamic and intriguing cast of characters, not a single one boring or out of place. And finally, my eyes watered…and I don’t cry; it’s a fact of life. However, without giving away any spoilers, my eyes did get a bit misty. 

    In sum, do you want to spend a few evening reading a book from which you’ll place next to your collection of all of Susan Mallery’s other books with a sense of peacefulness, or, I dare say, Serenity? Closing Already Home after finishing the final page put a content smile on my face, and I can’t ask for more from my favorite authors. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    I loved the relationships in this book.  It was more about Jenna

    I loved the relationships in this book.  It was more about Jenna's relationships with her parents, her biological family, and her friends than it was a romance.  I'm very close to my mom and so I loved the dynamics between mother and daughter.  As a native Texan, I also appreciate that she accurately portrays us and doesn't create characters who sound like hicks.  In total, this is a book that feels like a hug and makes you want to hug your mom or best friend and tell them how much you love them.  In my opinion, that's a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    I loved this book. I am new to Susan Mallery, after this book I

    I loved this book. I am new to Susan Mallery, after this book I will be sure to read more. This was a great book about life, love and finding yourself. This book was more about relationships than romance, although there is some romance through out the book. I highly recommend reading you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    I really really really enjoyed reading this book. Like many othe

    I really really really enjoyed reading this book. Like many other people, I expected it to be a romance novel, but instead I was pleasantly surprised to find it to be a family relationship orientated one. Sure, I missed the romance, but Susan Mallery made up for it with her realistic and touching mother-daughter interactions. I found this book to be different, yet wholly enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    It didn't take several chapters to get into this book, the story

    It didn't take several chapters to get into this book, the story grabs you right from the beginning. I love the mother daughter relationships, the two women becoming friends and the boyfriends stories. Great read, didn't disappoint!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    Susan Mallery is a new author for me and one I'm glad I found. A

    Susan Mallery is a new author for me and one I'm glad I found. Already Home is a book that shows you that your heart always has room for new family and old family. Shows you that love can conquer all difference's in peoples lives. Well worth the read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. Perhaps because I knew it wasn't a R

    I really enjoyed this book. Perhaps because I knew it wasn't a Romance but contained a romance, I wasn't disappointed.

    The relationship between the family, unexpected family, and new friends kept me entertained and I'd like to visit them again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Already Home by Susan Mallery is a wonderful, moving story is ab

    Already Home by Susan Mallery is a wonderful, moving story is about four women: a recently divorced sous chef, a stay at home mom, a former runaway teen, and a free spirit who gave up her child when she was a teen. All four have to come to terms with their feelings for each other and with the people in their lives. It’s a journey through life we can all identify with in some way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    I was pleasantly surprised and delighted with this book. I wasn

    I was pleasantly surprised and delighted with this book. I wasn't sure if this was going to be my cup of tea, but turns out I really enjoyed it. The book started off a little slow, but picked up with great character interaction (from sad to laugh-out-loud funny). Once I got into it, I couldn't put it down. I definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    While I am not a big fan of New Age stuff, and this book does to

    While I am not a big fan of New Age stuff, and this book does touch on different faiths, I really enjoyed this story. It was a great romance. It was a great Mother-Daughter story. Most of all it is one of those rare stories that reminds us all of the value of love and forgiveness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Susan Mallery has become one of my favorite authors. She is an a

    Susan Mallery has become one of my favorite authors. She is an auto buy for me. Already Home is quite a bit different from the standard Susan Mallery novel we are used to. I think she pulled it off though! One of the things that I love most about Susan’s writing style is that you really get a sense of the characters, and feel like you know them. This doesn’t just go for the main character, but the supporting characters as well.
    This story focuses on Jenna’s life following her divorce. Its not your typical romance after divorce book. The focus is on Jenna restarting her life and business. During this time, Jenna’s birth parents enter back in the picture. Jenna has to content with her adoptive parents as well as hew newfound birth family. It is an interesting to look into the feeling from all different perspectives. In addition, her friend and confidante in the book, Violet, proves to be a remarkable character as well.
    I think it is well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Susan Mallery books are an automatic buy for me and I have never

    Susan Mallery books are an automatic buy for me and I have never been disappointed!!! I really liked this book. Just enough romance to make it fun, but not so much that it got sappy. I loved the friendship between Violet and Jenna, and I am hoping that the relationship between Violet and Dragon blossoms into another book!! If you have never read Susan Mallery (gasp!), this book is definitely worth reading. You won't be disappointed!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    At the beginning of this book I was a little confused by the vol

    At the beginning of this book I was a little confused by the volume of characters and my expectation that this would be more of a romantic novel. As I continued reading, though, I realized that this is a book about relationships among mothers, daughters, and friends. The main characters are strong women that the reader can relate to. You feel like you really know them by the end of the book. It's also a book about the main characters finding their paths in life, and about choices that are made to maintain relationships or to leave others behind. This was a good entertaining read, and like others have mentioned, not a romance, but more of a novel in which the main character discovers herself and along the way, helps others discover who they want to be as well. Well worth your time to read. Has some predictability about it, but enough intrigue to keep you wondering what will happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    This is definitely not your typical Susan Mallery book. She exp

    This is definitely not your typical Susan Mallery book. She explores family dynamics in a totally different way than in previous series. Romance was secondary but I was okay with that because the story line pulled me in. I hope Susan continues to mix things up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed the book, the blending together of different stories a

    I enjoyed the book, the blending together of different stories and subplots was pretty interesting and kept things moving. My only issue would have been that several of the secondary characters were a better story then Jenna. Susan Mallery was able to look at the issue of family and adoption from several different viewpoints and make you really feel for everyone involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    I enjoyed this book about two women who are at a crossroad in th

    I enjoyed this book about two women who are at a crossroad in their lives. The characters had depth and seemed like real people, with real insecurities and faults. I appreciated the growth and strength that they both displayed while facing their struggles and ultimately making the correct choices for their own happiness. I look foward to each new Susan Mallery title and definitely recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    As many have said before me this is not your typical Susan Malle

    As many have said before me this is not your typical Susan Mallery novel. That said it was lovely. I enjoy when authors branch out and try new things.
    Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. It worked here. Susan has a wonderful style of writing that suits other genres than romance (although that is my favorite). She has strong female characters that still show their vulnerability. This was often shown in Jenna's discovery and reaction to her birth parents. She really wanted no relationship with them at first but as the book progressed things changed (I won't spoil it by giving you the whole story here).
    I also admire Jenna's fortitude in opening her own business. What a wonderful way to start a new chapter of her life after her divorce. Very realistic. If you are looking for a pleasant afternoon's reading pick this book up. You won't go wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5