Customer Reviews for

Altar of Bones

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    A good, fast paced read!

    The cover and title drew me in and I really enjoyed reading this book. Finished it quickly because I couldn't stop reading! I have already recommended this book to friends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    The secret "will" kill you in the end!

    This is the BEST kept secret (book) of 2011. Tons of twists, turns, and a story line that literally takes your breath away.
    Ever wonder what it would be like to live forever?? now you can.. BUT with a big side effect. want to join me yet? Yes? then come with me to the alter of bones and lets take a drink and see who makes it out alive...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    What a thrill ride!

    This book grabs you from the start and then hang on! Great cast of characters, loved the Russian history. Bring on another book with Ry and Zoe please!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Altar of bones

    Good read, would recommend for anyone who likes adventure

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    An entertaining adventure

    Altar of Bones jumps around in the beginning quite a bit, but once you get to the nitty gritty of the story, it's a spy/treasure hunt/suspense thriller based on a Russian folk story. Somewhere deep in the frozen tundra of Siberia there is a frozen lake with a frozen waterfall hiding a cave that legend claims holds the Altar of Bones and a fountain of youth. One particular family, who are descendants of the "magic people" of the area, have passed the secret to the Altar of Bones from mother to daughter for centuries. One woman is known as the Keeper and she must protect the Altar of Bones at all costs. However, these women are tempted by love and the men in their lives tend to prove untrustworthy and only interested in finding the Altar of Bones.

    Jump to the present day of the story and Zoe Dmitroff finds herself the most recent Keeper when she receives a letter from her grandmother. She starts on a world-wide journey to unlock family secrets. Along the way, she teams up with an ex-DEA agent named Ry O'Malley. Together the two of them travel to Paris, Budapest, and finally Siberia. All while being hunted by a crazy red-headed femme fatale, an old KGB official, and more. This book is chock full of action with car chases and gun fights with a little romance thrown in by the end. It also tries to offer a new conspiracy theory for a presidential assassination with ties to Hollywood.

    All very interesting to ponder. The book was a tiny bit long for me and dragged a bit about 2/3rd in and picked up toward the end again, but overall was a fun read. I kept turning the pages to find out where the adventure took Ry and Zoe next, whether he would eventually double-cross her and what they would do once they finally found the Altar of Bones.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    I enjoyed reading this book. From start to finish I didn't want

    I enjoyed reading this book. From start to finish I didn't want to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Great, engaging read!

    Great book! Very engaging. You certainly cannot read it without comparing this book to those written by Dan Brown. To me, it was even more suspenseful. I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Very good

    I found this book fun to read and it kept me turning pages. A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    fast paced, intriguing. Really enjoyed this book.

    fast paced, intriguing. Really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Loved it!

    I could not put this book down. Defiantly a must read, amazingly written, and full of suspense. Great, great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Suspenseful!

    If you like reading suspenseful novels then this is a great one! I love page turners like DaVinci's Code and Angels and Demons and was always in search of another!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Great Read

    I could not put this book down. It was captivating from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Good Story

    It's a good story and very well wrtten. It had too much romance in it for me. The romance between the characters was not necessay. It kind of cheapened the overall story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Defines the term "page turner"

    At many times the story line was so intense I was literally wide eyed at the edge of my seat -which my family found to be rather amusing to watch. Once you pick this book up you wont want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Slow at some points but keeps the reader reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Great read!

    When I started the book I wasn't sure where it would go. What a thrill ride. Well written and enjoyable. Was sad when it ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Best action adventure I've read since davinci code!!

    This book was alot of fun to read and very hard to put down. Loved that it was over 600 pages and took more then a couple of hours to read. Great characters and a fast paced plot. The book has just enough creepiness to make you think "what if" it was true? Will defintely be reading his next book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A good read.

    If you like a fast paced book, involving a lot of travel, chases, and mystical items, you'll like this one. I enjoyed all of the characters, good and bad. The ending was odd, like it was pulled out of nowhere, but I was satisfied. Just a good, easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Absolutely recommended!

    Saw this book in the store and just picked it up hoping that it would keep my interest at least a little bit. I loved it. Glad I didn't have to get up and go to work in the morning. I couldn't put it down. Lots of action and excitement. Very interesting characters and plot twists. Some of the chase scenes tired me out just reading them. This book is a lot of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Amazing!!!

    Couldn't put it down, loved every page

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4