Customer Reviews for

Altar of Bones

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    A good, fast paced read!

    The cover and title drew me in and I really enjoyed reading this book. Finished it quickly because I couldn't stop reading! I have already recommended this book to friends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    The secret "will" kill you in the end!

    This is the BEST kept secret (book) of 2011. Tons of twists, turns, and a story line that literally takes your breath away.
    Ever wonder what it would be like to live forever?? now you can.. BUT with a big side effect. want to join me yet? Yes? then come with me to the alter of bones and lets take a drink and see who makes it out alive...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    I enjoyed reading this book. From start to finish I didn't want

    I enjoyed reading this book. From start to finish I didn't want to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Great, engaging read!

    Great book! Very engaging. You certainly cannot read it without comparing this book to those written by Dan Brown. To me, it was even more suspenseful. I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Very good

    I found this book fun to read and it kept me turning pages. A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    fast paced, intriguing. Really enjoyed this book.

    fast paced, intriguing. Really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Loved it!

    I could not put this book down. Defiantly a must read, amazingly written, and full of suspense. Great, great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Suspenseful!

    If you like reading suspenseful novels then this is a great one! I love page turners like DaVinci's Code and Angels and Demons and was always in search of another!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Defines the term "page turner"

    At many times the story line was so intense I was literally wide eyed at the edge of my seat -which my family found to be rather amusing to watch. Once you pick this book up you wont want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Great read!

    When I started the book I wasn't sure where it would go. What a thrill ride. Well written and enjoyable. Was sad when it ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Best action adventure I've read since davinci code!!

    This book was alot of fun to read and very hard to put down. Loved that it was over 600 pages and took more then a couple of hours to read. Great characters and a fast paced plot. The book has just enough creepiness to make you think "what if" it was true? Will defintely be reading his next book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Absolutely recommended!

    Saw this book in the store and just picked it up hoping that it would keep my interest at least a little bit. I loved it. Glad I didn't have to get up and go to work in the morning. I couldn't put it down. Lots of action and excitement. Very interesting characters and plot twists. Some of the chase scenes tired me out just reading them. This book is a lot of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Amazing!!!

    Couldn't put it down, loved every page

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Awesome!!!!

    Fantastic book. Twists got me every chance they got. DUDE! Phil...write another book wouldya! Awesome read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Fast Read, Exciting to the end

    This book was fantasitc. Many twists and turns and so much fun to read, I read it in three days. What a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Wow

    I have recently started reading again. This book was amazing from start to finish. Cant wait to see the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An impossible to put aside suspense.

    In Siberia, an assassin murders Katya Orlova. Her San Francisco granddaughter lawyer Zoe Dmitroff receives a letter from her grandmother who she thought died years ago. The late Katya explains in her note that Zoe is now the "Keeper" of an ancient secret of the Altar of Bones.

    Before Zoe can digest the strange letter, she is attacked by the Russian mob and her own mom demands she reveal the secret to her. Ry O'Malley, whose father and brother were also murdered, arrives to protect Zoe. They flee to Europe as an unknown adversary wants her dead and by association him too.

    Over the top of the Urals, Altar of Bones grips the audience from the opening assassination and never slows down as the rookie Keeper and her protector dash around Europe with a little luck and a lot of moxie as killers chase after them with one intention. Throw in Rasputin, Stalinist Russia, and Siberia and fans will enjoy Philip Carter's adrenaline tour of Russia past and present in what is a fun thriller. Warning: set aside time because your bones will be tired with this impossible to put aside suspense.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    The entire time I was reading this book, I felt like I was watching everything unfold. Philip's word choice makes it possible to envision everything with clarity, Altar of Bones is an absolute thrill-ride with an amazing plot. I recommend this book to anyone who is up for a little adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2