Customer Reviews for

Altdorf (a novel of the Forest Knights)

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great writing with a fine story.ws

This was a well written story. Just enough fantasy with the fey to intrigue, enough sadness to authenticate and enough interesting charactures to sink your mind into.

posted by SciFiFantasyLover on February 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I dont hate it

But its not my style

posted by Anonymous on March 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Well written,

    I stumbled through all of the intro to characters, surroudings, and plot. But once I got hooked, I was in for a long sit down of reading. This book is well written and edited. The story relly kept me interested!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Great writing with a fine story.ws

    This was a well written story. Just enough fantasy with the fey to intrigue, enough sadness to authenticate and enough interesting charactures to sink your mind into.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Great Book

    I read alot of books and most of the time I just devour them one after the other. Most of the time they just blend together and I would describe them as pleasant time fillers. Once in a while I am fortunate enough to find a book like this one. It was a book like this one that turned me into a book lover. The story lines of that first book and this one were nothing alike, that first one was alot less sophisticated as I was only 7 at the time, and they only have one thing that they share and that is the way they took me out from myself. that first book, this one and the other special ones Ive found over the years have brought me new friends, shown me wonderful new worlds, made me laugh and cry, taught me new skills, made me more intelligent and more tolerant. In all ways I have been enriched by those wonderful few. This is the first time Ive read one of J.K.Swifts' books and I look forward to the long and happy relationship I see in our future where he or she writes the books and I get to read them.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Very well written even if the author did take some liberty with

    Very well written even if the author did take some liberty with the time frame. The characters were likeable and the bad guys were to the time frame BAD. I will recommend this book and am not sure why the follow up is so expensive.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    great read couldn't put it down

    Lots of action, interesting story and the characters are great! Makes you angry, makes you cheer, makes you want the rest of the story. And I will now move on to the next.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Great!!!!!!!

    I loved it! Not the typical fantasy with gaudy fireballs and a system of magic. It was historic, organic, and the heroes are gritty and believable.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Great "Swords and Horses" book

    I really enjoyed reading this book, a classic "Swords and Horses" thriller. Once I got used to the names (they are in Germany and Austria) I became attached to the characters and enjoyed the story. I have recommended to several of my friends and co-workers already. Looking forward to reading the rest of the series. Highly recommend.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Thoroughly enjoyable. A perfect melding of mysticism and realism. An excellent writer, i will eventually read more of his work.

    A perfect melding of mysticism and realism. I look forward to reading more of swifts work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Hhi

    Not a bad book

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    This book was a recommendation and I'm glad I listened. I enjoy

    This book was a recommendation and I'm glad I listened. I enjoyed the characters, their histories and the story line follows a time in history that I was glad to learn more about. Great story telling!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Very good

    This story will pull you in. A cast of characters, good and bad. Well done. Looking forward to the next book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Well written and captivating

    Although starting out a difficult read due to its historical nature, this book was so well written that I kept going. Captivating is the best word that I can use to describe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2014

    Highly enjoyable reading.

    Altdorf is an engaging story. It is full of well rounded, likable, (for the most part) characters. I will be reading the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Good read

    Good read that brings you into a vein of history that most have no idea about. Good historical fiction makes you want to look into actual history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    Loved this book!

    Two books to the series and wish there were more. Very well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Who Knew???

    Who knew that Swiss medieval history could be so captivating! As fascinating as any fiction or nonfiction book of English or French medieval history on which there are works in abundance?

    I am giving it four stars only because of the opening chapters which I found confusing, lacked a good ser up/introduction, or foundation, making me want to bail on the book.

    Otherwise, well done. Very well done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Definitly a good read.

    Swift has put together a great novel here. With an interesting plot with many suprises, mixed with historic background maked for all around great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Good book

    I want to say first this was a very good book. But i did not like how the first 100 pages jumped toi diffrent people. But saying that i wanted to keep reading to fine out what happened next. Can't wait to reed #2

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    great book

    haven't finished it yet, but lots of action - real page turner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2013

    Well written story with excellent character development. Very in

    Well written story with excellent character development. Very intriguing page turner. Can't wait to read the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3