Customer Reviews for

Altered (Altered Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

I read this book in 24 i couldnt put it down. So amazing i fully recommend to everyone. Wish she had more books!

posted by Anonymous on May 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

There¿s a lot of books I want to read for a few different reason

There’s a lot of books I want to read for a few different reasons. There’s the sequels or continuations of series I already love. There’s books whose concepts interest me but don’t completely sell me yet. Then there’s the debuts such as Altered, that capture my interest...
There’s a lot of books I want to read for a few different reasons. There’s the sequels or continuations of series I already love. There’s books whose concepts interest me but don’t completely sell me yet. Then there’s the debuts such as Altered, that capture my interest right way through a combination of a intriguing concept and stand-out cover. I awaited Altered‘s arrival for months, had it pre-ordered and checked the tracking info probably 50 times a day once it was shipped.  I was that anxious for it to arrive. I planned to rip right into the packaging as soon as I got my hands on it. I didn’t even care that it was close to 10 p.m. when I started Altered because I had pre-convinced myself that I’d love it.




And then, about 30 pages in, something happened. With only a couple chapters in, my excitement began to wan. I was still interested in delving deeper because the plot had raised a lot of questions that I wanted answered. However, early on I became detached. Detached from the characters and detached from the emotion. Throughout the whole book I felt like there was general lack of emotion. A lack between father and daughter and a huge lack between two individuals who were supposedly in-love or close enough to becoming. Even the premise says, “Sam who’s stolen Anna’s heart” a concept that Rush tried to convey throughout the story, and one I just couldn’t buy.




By the time Altered begins we’re already told that there’s feelings brewing between these two, or at least, on Anna’s end. She’s known Sam for about 5 years and harbors strong feelings for him. Why, is a question I asked myself over and over again. Sure. He’s hot and pretty nice and Anna has seen him pretty much everyday for the last five years. But besides some late night chess matches, it seems like Anna really doesn’t know him or hasn’t gotten close to him, not like she has towards one of the other boys, Trev. Trev, who she considers one of her best friends is someone she talks to all the time, opens up to, not Sam. The connection between Anna and Sam didn’t make sense to me. It felt physical not emotional and so because Rush pushed so hard for it, that was a loss of one stake itself.




The second problem I had was the plot. At its basis Altered is about 4 boys with altered abilities and memories along with a girl, running from an uber-bad corporation. To be honest though, this corporation called “The Branch” really didn’t strike fear into me. Yes, there was a lot of guns and violence involved but I had too many questions. Where did this company come from. What was its agenda a.k.a. why were the boys involved, or Anna for that matter. I really didn’t understand Anna’s lack of questioning when her house was quite literally built on top of a secret laboratory housing 4 boys in glass and brick cages. Sure, at times she mentions wishing the boys were free, but she seemed awfully complacent for someone in her position. If it were me, I’d be a whole lot more curious and less accepting.




This is one of the most critical reviews I’ve yet to write. I believe this one in particular is so critical because I felt so let down. I wanted to love this book SO BADLY but because of the detachment, I couldn’t. I didn’t understand the motivations, decisions or actions of any of the characters. I couldn’t get a grip on any of their personalities whether it be virtues or flaws. They all just fell flat, which for me, made the whole book fall flat. Sure, the story itself is great, but the characters that are supposed to navigate it, were not.

posted by Some_Reading_Required on January 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Amazing

    I read this book in 24 i couldnt put it down. So amazing i fully recommend to everyone. Wish she had more books!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Very Amazing.

    I saw this book on th back page of a magazine and I desided to give it a try, oh Lordy, this book is positivly one of the best books I've ever read! Took me 5 hours to read it!!! Jennifer Rush gets you hooked to Sam in this book, the book is very emotional, first time I've ever cried! Jen has given the feeling to all her readers like I have never felt befor! Very good book, you should totaly read it!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Asdfghjkl

    I loved this book! It was very intense and I could not put it down! Literally I finished it within 4 hours after I bought it. It is perfect for all preferences, packed with action, humor, romance, suspense, and more! I fell in love with the boys and the major plot twist at the end really caught my attention. You will cry, laugh, and reread sections over and over again! It was a fantastic read and I cannot wait for the second book to come out! And Cas is hilarious(:

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    I liked this book so much more than I thought I would! It's diff

    I liked this book so much more than I thought I would! It's different in the world of dystopian teen fiction happening right now and
     I really appreciated that. 

    Altered is incredibly fast paced, action packed, edge of your seat from beginning to end! I read it in three days. There is no 
    slow middle to bog you down (which drives me crazy with books).

    I highly recommend reading this book if you enjoy teen fiction!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted at The Eater of Books! blog*** Altered by Jenn

    ***Review posted at The Eater of Books! blog***

    Altered by Jennifer Rush
    Book One of the Altered series
    Publisher: Little, Brown and Co.
    Publication Date: January 1, 2013
    Rating: 5 stars
    Source: Won a giveaway

    I got this book from a wonderful author, who pre-ordered it for me. I am going to be honest - I may have asked for this book because of the cover. I usually try not to do things like that, but the synopsis actually seemed interesting as well. It seemed like a win-win situation. Nevertheless, I was not disappointed.

    Summary (from Goodreads):

    When you can’t trust yourself, who can you believe?

    Everything about Anna’s life is a secret. Her father works for the Branch at the helm of its latest project: monitoring and administering treatments to the four genetically altered boys in the lab below their farmhouse. There’s Nick, Cas, Trev . . . and Sam, who’s stolen Anna’s heart. When the Branch decides it’s time to take the boys, Sam stages an escape, killing the agents sent to retrieve them. 

    Anna is torn between following Sam or staying behind in the safety of her everyday life. But her father pushes her to flee, making Sam promise to keep her away from the Branch, at all costs. There’s just one problem. Sam and the boys don’t remember anything before living in the lab—not even their true identities.

    Now on the run, Anna soon discovers that she and Sam are connected in more ways than either of them expected. And if they’re both going to survive, they must piece together the clues of their past before the Branch catches up to them and steals it all away.
     

    What I Liked:

    First, I would like to say that this book is not a contemporary, or a dystopia. It is a thriller, as said by the author. And what a thriller it was. 

    The characters: I was almost immediately intrigued by the four boys in Anna's basement. I liked how each boy's personality was distinct. I have no favorite of the four, because, despite the duration of the book, and the ending, I liked them all. Anna herself was an intriguing character. I liked the way she thought and reacted. Many times I have difficulty understanding the motives of teenage heroines in Young Adult novels. Anna was a truly likable character, with good instincts and a strong will. She handled things, no matter what they were, with dignity and a clear head (most of the time). 

    The plot surprised me. In a way, I expected some things (which I will not mention), but I did not expect many points towards the end. The plot is solid, in my opinion, and by solid, I mean not filled with gaping holes and that make me wonder whether Jennifer Rush knows where she is going with everything. No, the plot was superb.

    Romance: NO LOVE TRIANGLE YAY!!! That I can see, there is no love triangle. I hope everything stays this way for the rest of the series. I am a love triangle hater in almost all cases, and I am extremely happy to see no love triangle in this book. 

    And can I say how happy I am about the science in this book. Go genetic engineering! I love the addition of science in Young Adult books, and Jennifer Rush did an excellent job of utilizing genetic engineering into this book. 

    Also, this book was engrossing. I read about half of it on an hour-long car ride to Northern Virginia, and the second half on the way back. I usually have to put the book down and absorb, but not with Altered. I found myself unable to rip myself away from the book. I needed this book in many ways; with my senior year of high school completely taking over my life, I needed a book that was fresh, original, captivating, and enthralling. I got all of those things and more with Altered.


    What I Did Not Like:

    That is ended? I know this sounds ridiculous, but there was not much that I did not like. I have soooo many questions, but I have a very good feeling that Jennifer Rush is going to answer at least some of them in the next book, and if not that book, then the third book. I cannot complain with Altered!


    Would I Recommend It:

    YES YES YES SO MUCH!!!! I am already declaring this book one of my favorites of 2013. It is THAT GOOD.


    Rating:

    5 stars (can I give it more?)

    GO READ THIS BOOK NOW!!! Trust me, it is worth it. Not just for the shirtless boys (although there is a lot of that. *wink wink*)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    I finished this book in 2 days, i couldn't put it down! It's ser

    I finished this book in 2 days, i couldn't put it down! It's seriously one of the most favorite books that i've read all year, i would highly recommend this book to anyone who has a good imagination to picture what's going on during the book,
    it's better in my opinion to do that, itll feel like you're Anna in real life.
    the author did such an amazing job with hooking the audience on the romance, and high action events. Everyone should read this!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    I am going to state straight out that I love this book. Its

    I am going to state straight out that I love this book.




    Its not straight contemporary which is what I love, but for some reason I just loved this one.




    The whole group revolves around Anna.  Anna and the boys that she has taken care of for years, none of whom realizes how connected that they all are, or what a team they all are.




    This book hooked me from the first page and I couldn’t put it down until I finished the last page. It was such a great story. The interaction between the characters was what made the story flow with the action.




    The coolest thing? this was Jennifer Rush’s debut novel, and the sequel comes out in January of next year.  I can’t wait to read the second book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Great story

    Couldnt put it down

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Loved!

    Very intense! Really enjoyed and I hope she does more>>. ?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Altered indeed

    This was a fast read and it wasn't the type of story that you would think of. The guys of the story have no idea who the are or where they come from, let alone if they have a family that miss's them. I hope Jennifer Rush has more to offer.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    Anna and her father run a lab in their basement. The boys are al

    Anna and her father run a lab in their basement. The boys are all caged in separate glass rooms and have unusual scars and tattoos on their bodies. Over the last 5 or so years Anna has become close with all of them, monitoring them and forming a bond with Sam. But the fact that none of them can remember their pasts is upsetting and eventually they must get free to find the answers.


    As the story progresses we find out that even with the loss of their memories, the boys have clues to their past. They must solve the puzzle while running from the corporation which is always one step ahead. But where does Anna fit into the story? The clues unravel that she has more to do with their past lives than even she was ever aware of. The pacing of the story becomes a roller coaster as they have very little information to go off of and cannot trust anybody. Very little down time and a twist or two that you won't see coming.

    Although our main character is a little on the naive and on the timid side, she has huge growth and character development, you'll definitely root for her. Sam, a favorite of mine is the pensive leader who cares just as much for everybody's safety as much as finding the answers.

    My favorite thing about this story is the variation of characters. I was surprised that even with everything that they experience it's like in some way all of the characters are soul-mates (not the romantic kind) but they all have some destiny that is tying them together. They don't fight with each other as much as I would have expected and are so close it's like they read each others minds. At first I was on the edge about the main character and her connection to the story but very happy with the end results and found it a page turner. I really enjoyed every minute.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    A Very Big Fan

    Altered is honestly one of the best books I have ever read, and that is coming from a person who has read loads and loads of books. This book will keep you wondering what will happen next in everypage you turn. Altered is so much more than some willy nilly romance book about a boy and girl; there is trust, action, yes some romance, bonds that cannot be broken, thrill, heartbreak, suspense, and so much more. As soon as I finished Altered I instantly went and bought the next two books Erased and Reborn and the prequal Forged. These three books are just as amazing as the first! I highly recomend these books to anyone who enjoys to read or people who don't because these books will make them love to read. All of these books deserve a 5 out of 5.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    Great read

    Ive read alot of book coming from a 13 year old and this is probably one of the best ones. I really connected and fell in love with these characters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    A round of applause is in order!!

    To say the least I was impressed. I sat down tonight and began this book and can honestly say i never put it down! I was ready to read the same old thing that I typically do with these kinds of books. You know, the drama, the confusion of the girl loving a boy who doesn't realize he loves her till she's at deaths door. That kind of thing. Not that those kind of books are bad just repetitve. So i can honestly say i was blown away by the depth of both the plot and characters. Jennifer Rush captures the hints of romance that everyone loves but doesn't dwell on it and evens out the bit she does give us, with a healthy dose of butt kickery!! I loved the originality of this book and look foreward to it's sequal!! So on a general note I say this book is over all a thrilling, nerve racking, heartstopping read all tied up in a freakishly awesome cover! If you are anything like me, after reading this you to will be ALTERED.
    -LC

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    First and foremost let me just say that Altered was a 3.5 star b

    First and foremost let me just say that Altered was a 3.5 star book for me (one day I will get half a star rating system). Now we can move forward.

    I found a lot of things I adored about Altered but a few things, personally, just didn't sit well with me. I, like many people, have grown up completely desensitized to guns and violence in general. I understand that Altered is a young adult book, so I tried to push my personal experiences to the side. Key word was tried. But before I jump to that, lets start at the beginning. :)

    Altered was one of my most anticipated releases of January 2013. I counted down the days, I admired the cover on a creepy level, I stalked the Goodreads statuses for reviews (which were all stellar) and I read the blurb obsessively. When I finally got the book in my hands the happy dance I did was so epic, I can only describe it as a mix between the running-man and that one thriller move.

    I was all over my house doing my epic new dance, singing the "look what I got" song. Yes it took some time for me to get to read it but hey, it was in my possession and if someone tried to take it, blood would have been drawn. But I'm getting off track. (Damn my squirrel like attention span!)

    Altered started off fairly slow, showing Anna's day to day life working in a secret underground lab with her dad and their four human "test" subjects; Cas, Nick, Trev and Sam. This is probably my biggest pet peeve about the book but I will cover that in a minute. Anna doesn't know exactly what the boys will be used for, or why they are locked in her basement but she is always happy to see and interact with them. And by interact I mean the only time she had physical contact with them was after she knocked them out with sleeping gas.

    This is where my "what the heck?!" face came in. You see as you read the book you find out that Anna is ridiculously curious and equally stubborn. Yes I know these are good traits for a main character but I felt it was always inconsistent when it came to Anna. She has a underground secret lab under her farm house in heaven-only-knows where NY, that has FOUR men locked away, and she only attempted to get information a handful of times? But she is willing and ready to knock on every door and search every corner of the world to find the meaning behind some scars on Nick's chest? It just didn't jibe with me, but I was able to look around that "little" irritant.

    The next thing that aggravated me was Anna's "logic". I'm not a daddy's girl so maybe I'm the one with the issues, but she repeatedly reminds herself, and us, of her unrestricted and unwavering trust in her dad and "the program". Even though she doesn't know what the program is, what it's suppose to test, how long it's been running, or when it will be over. So strike one to Anna's logic there.

    Next in Anna's suppose "logic" is her self preservation instinct. Or lack there of in this instance.

    I have been taught my whole life to defend myself in the event of an altercation that gets out of hand before I can walk away. I don't have to start the trouble and I definitely don't have to go looking for it but I can definitely finish it. Anna, has had combat training her ENTIRE life, but as soon as a gun is pulled on her she stands there staring down the barrel. At first I thought maybe I was overreacting, it's only logical for people to be afraid when they see someone aim a firearm at them and mean it. So she gets a pass on that one. But then she was attacked by this trailer trash redneck chick and she froze AGAIN! Did I miss something? You have trained to defend yourself your entire life! Did you think it was just a hardcore way of exercising? Strike two against Anna's "logic".

    The final blow to the "I hate Anna's logic coffin" is a bit of a spoiler so I won't go into detail. Let's just say it involves an old abandon house in the middle of nowhere, that required a 5 mile hike in the freezing ran.


    Doesn't sound pleasant does it? Because it is not pleasant nor SMART!

    I just couldn't understand how this extremely book smart (as we say in the "hood") girl made so many stupid and petty decisions. I wanted to like her. I really really tried to! I loved the idea of a new kind of heroine! One who wasn't all kick ass, or pumped full of crazy superpowers; what I got was a girl more concerned about her jeans, love life, and her dead/undead mother.


    The men chasing her with guns? Forget about it.

    The years of lying from her father? Who cares!

    The complete lack of money, passports, or reliable and legal transportation to get away alive? Not on her radar.

    But it wasn't all bad for me. I promise! :)

    I seriously loved and enjoyed each of the boys, except Chase who I was mostly indifferent about (like a younger brother). Nick was my all time favorite! Nick and I had a lot in common and I just connected better with him. For instance, he despised and mistrusted Anna, so we have that in common. But more than that he had good instincts, and instead of going back and forth or pretending to be someone he wasn't he went with his gut and did what was best for his, and the boys, survival.


    The mystery, was mind blowing. I would have never guessed, like EVER guessed that ending, or middle for that matter. And believe me, I can figure out the ending to a movie/book 20 minutes in and be damn near spot on so this was a refreshing and surprising experience for me.

    The writing as a whole gave just enough to grab my attention but never to much to lose that attention. Not only that, but I'm pretty sure that Rush was some type of undercover super spy once upon a time, because there is NO WAY she just thought up those fight/shooting scenes! No ma'am that just isn't possible with the amount of detail and precision written into those scenes.

    Even though Altered wasn't a five star knock'em dead book for me I really did enjoy reading it. I felt that the world building, the writing and character development was phenomenal. I loved the mystery and suspense involved with looking for the clues and uncovering the truth. Yeah I didn't like Anna but Cas, Sam, Nick and Trev were able to overshadow my disappointment in Anna. ~Octavia of Read. Sleep. Repeat.~

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A different read that blew my mind, I totally love it! The p

    A different read that blew my mind, I totally love it!




    The plot of the book is what got me hooked. Several boys living in a locked facility being tested on, secret government meetings, and a curious young girl who is not who she think she is...yup, loved it. Each chapter, the reader learn more and more about the secret facility, leading the reader to a breakout and the unloading of heavy burdens. For a moment while reading this, I had to catch my breath!




    The love interest is good but it did bother me a bit. For some reason (I'm sure it if is me) ALSO: SPOILER AHEAD ---> I'm bothered by the prospects of a boy falling in one with one sister and then the other. Is that weird? I mean, the love triangle in general already sets off the tone for me and then this??? Anyways, other than that, the love interest is what I thought. Lots of lies, torn hearts and of course lots of decisions to be made. I'm not sure how this love interest will go and I'm very interested in seeing where it develops.




    The other element I love about this story is the learning the back round history of the characters. Much of their memories have been lost. Learning about who they really are and what they done in the past, perks my interest even more. I want to know everything from the beginning. I want to know everything of who they are and why they were chosen. Yes, I need the next book.




    Altered is a fantastic book! Laced with much action and loads of secrets, this is a great ride to be on if you love the types of stories that hold more that what you know. Yearning to read the next book, Altered is awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    There¿s a lot of books I want to read for a few different reason

    There’s a lot of books I want to read for a few different reasons. There’s the sequels or continuations of series I already love. There’s books whose concepts interest me but don’t completely sell me yet. Then there’s the debuts such as Altered, that capture my interest right way through a combination of a intriguing concept and stand-out cover. I awaited Altered‘s arrival for months, had it pre-ordered and checked the tracking info probably 50 times a day once it was shipped.  I was that anxious for it to arrive. I planned to rip right into the packaging as soon as I got my hands on it. I didn’t even care that it was close to 10 p.m. when I started Altered because I had pre-convinced myself that I’d love it.




    And then, about 30 pages in, something happened. With only a couple chapters in, my excitement began to wan. I was still interested in delving deeper because the plot had raised a lot of questions that I wanted answered. However, early on I became detached. Detached from the characters and detached from the emotion. Throughout the whole book I felt like there was general lack of emotion. A lack between father and daughter and a huge lack between two individuals who were supposedly in-love or close enough to becoming. Even the premise says, “Sam who’s stolen Anna’s heart” a concept that Rush tried to convey throughout the story, and one I just couldn’t buy.




    By the time Altered begins we’re already told that there’s feelings brewing between these two, or at least, on Anna’s end. She’s known Sam for about 5 years and harbors strong feelings for him. Why, is a question I asked myself over and over again. Sure. He’s hot and pretty nice and Anna has seen him pretty much everyday for the last five years. But besides some late night chess matches, it seems like Anna really doesn’t know him or hasn’t gotten close to him, not like she has towards one of the other boys, Trev. Trev, who she considers one of her best friends is someone she talks to all the time, opens up to, not Sam. The connection between Anna and Sam didn’t make sense to me. It felt physical not emotional and so because Rush pushed so hard for it, that was a loss of one stake itself.




    The second problem I had was the plot. At its basis Altered is about 4 boys with altered abilities and memories along with a girl, running from an uber-bad corporation. To be honest though, this corporation called “The Branch” really didn’t strike fear into me. Yes, there was a lot of guns and violence involved but I had too many questions. Where did this company come from. What was its agenda a.k.a. why were the boys involved, or Anna for that matter. I really didn’t understand Anna’s lack of questioning when her house was quite literally built on top of a secret laboratory housing 4 boys in glass and brick cages. Sure, at times she mentions wishing the boys were free, but she seemed awfully complacent for someone in her position. If it were me, I’d be a whole lot more curious and less accepting.




    This is one of the most critical reviews I’ve yet to write. I believe this one in particular is so critical because I felt so let down. I wanted to love this book SO BADLY but because of the detachment, I couldn’t. I didn’t understand the motivations, decisions or actions of any of the characters. I couldn’t get a grip on any of their personalities whether it be virtues or flaws. They all just fell flat, which for me, made the whole book fall flat. Sure, the story itself is great, but the characters that are supposed to navigate it, were not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    Great book

    Grest read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2015

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    Time:

    First book at 'time the rising'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4