Customer Reviews for

Altered Carbon

Average Rating 4.5
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not original, but superbly executed SF/Noir detective novel

    There is nothing really new in this SF meets noir detective novel. On the noir side, there is the cynical, hard-boiled detective unwillingly drawn in to the machinations of the powerful; there are the beautiful women embroiled in the case in varying degrees, nearly all of whom eventually get bedded; there is the city filled to the brim with drug dealers, whorehouses, and little people being eaten up by the powerful. On the SF side, there are hints of an ancient galactic civilization, now defunct; there are guns and computer programs to do anything anyone could want; there are A.I.s, particularly The Hendrix, which is a fabulous invention; and of course, there is the ubiquitous process of resleeving, by which death has been conquered - for the rich. Even the melding of the two genres is not new: it dates back at least to Isaac Asimov's Elijah Bailey/R. Daneel Olivaw novels.

    What Altered Carbon provides, however, is all of those familiar elements done up in a superb style. It is an extraordinarily visual book - I understood from the first page of the prologue why Joel Silver and Warner Bros. bought the film rights for $1 million. The narrative is fast-paced, the tone is spot-on, and the philosophical musings, while also not ground-breaking in any way, are moments to savor rather than skip over. The mystery is satisfyingly twisty but still fair to the reader, and the final confrontation ratchets up the tension to a screaming pitch then uses the bare minimum of words to choreograph the denoument. Really an impressive first novel, and one I heartily enjoyed.

    I do have one quibble, however: I read the author bio in the back of the book first, and two of the three sentences were about the film rights. I found this a tad tasteless, not very informative, and kind of distracting, as I spent the entire novel trying to imagine how someone would film it.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Takeshi Kovacs, a franchise to be reckoned with

    This was recommended to me and it did not disappoint. It had everything I was looking for in a gritty SF novel - a complex world where the future is well-defined and unique, great characters and action, and a touch of noir. In a future world where a person's consciousness can be "resleeved" into other bodies, an ex-military soldier is brought out of his century long prison sentence to investigate the apparent suicide of a wealthy immortal, who also happens to be the client. If the opening chapter doesn't hook you, check your pulse.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    Richard Morgan is amazing

    I've read everything that Richard Morgan has written, I'm on my millionth read through of Altered Carbon and it's simply amazing. Takeshi Kovacs is a gripping character.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2006

    Me Like

    Me Like....You like too. What? You don't like? The devil take you!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2007

    Kinetic, fast paced, gripping.

    A genre setting novel that has frightening parallels to todays world. Starring a multilayered lead crashing through a hyperviolent landscape that leaves the reader gasping for breath.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    Surpisingly gripping

    It's one of those books that catches your eye when you walk down the asile and makes you wonder what the title has to do with the story. I own all of the Takashi series and honestly believe if I don't get more I will possibly force Morgan to write more. No matter your view you end up loving Takeshi and his attitude towards the world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    What happened to kovacs

    I loved the altered carbon series. I just dont understand why mr morgan has abandoned it for his rsther weak sword and sorcery tales. Give the readers what they want.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    A cyberpunk classic

    William Gibson invented cyberpunk with Neuromancer. Neil Stephenson introduced a new generation with Snow Crash. Richard K Morgan completes the cyberpunk holy trinity with Altered Carbon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The cyberpunk genre hit bookshelves in the early 1980s and talen

    The cyberpunk genre hit bookshelves in the early 1980s and talented writers have been crafting amazing stories ever since. British author Richard K. Morgan joins the ranks of these great writers with his 2002 debut novel, Altered Carbon. Morgan’s novel distills the essence from the genre’s most powerful stories and tosses it into a blender with a shot of whiskey, a hit of tetrameth and a hardboiled detective. The resulting novel is smooth, frenetic and full of high-tech science fiction elements that both inspire the imagination and darken the soul.

    The story begins as protagonist Takeshi Kovacs is brutally shot to death by commandos on his home planet of Harlan’s World after what looks like a botched heist. Luckily for Takeshi, his cortical stack – the device set into the base of his skull that holds a digital copy of his mind – is unharmed and placed in “storage,” a prison for cortical stacks. In an unusual move, he is “needlecast” – transmitted back to Earth and inserted into a waiting body, or “sleeve” – at the behest of the rich and powerful Laurens Bancroft.

    Known as a Methuselah – or “Meth” – because he is 357 years old, Bancroft will never die of old age due to his wealth, power and the current technology. Even if his sleeve is killed and his cortical stack destroyed, he has a wireless backup that transmits to a remote storage facility every 48 hours. When Bancroft finds out his last sleeve was destroyed in precisely that manner – and he has no knowledge of the 48 hours leading to his death – he needs a special man to help find the truth. Knowing he is almost universally reviled on Earth for his immense privilege – the police in fact have already marked his death a suicide and moved on – he must recruit help from off world. Another Meth who has worked with Takeshi Kovacs suggests he might be able to help Bancroft.

    Takeshi worked for a special branch of the military called the Envoys. Specialized soldiers with a healthy dose of intelligence operative and shock trooper added in for good measure, Envoys are trained to quickly adapt to any sleeve in any environment. Envoys possess an eidetic memory and can pick up on subtle patterns within seemly random events. They possess a complete understanding of body language, voice modulation and are capable of understanding intentions and manipulating others with little problem. However, one of the most overtly frightening aspects of an Envoy’s training is the complete removal of every violence-limiting instinct a human is born with. The combination of this very specific set of skills set makes an Envoy a very scary individual.

    Once Takeshi awakens in his new sleeve, he finds an offer from Bancroft he cannot refuse and is thrust into what amounts to a high stakes chess game on a planet he is unfamiliar with. Bancroft wants the truth, but Takeshi must investigate the sordid secrets he has accumulated during his unnaturally long life and those who aren’t so eager for these secrets to be revealed. Meeting resistance at every turn, Takeshi must use every ounce of his Envoy training and every trick he knows to find the truth and avoid Real Death.

    Morgan takes the bones of cyberpunk and paints them with a fresh coat of glamour and sleaze. The ideas he presents aren’t new, but are presented very clearly with unique twists. The world of Altered Carbon is clearly envisioned and the story moves at a rapid pace. Even if the terms are unfamiliar, the ideas are readily grasped. His characters are fully realized with their own thoughts and motivations, and readers will find themselves on the edge of their seats anticipating what each character will do next. The story has twists and turns as Takeshi plays private detective and chases down lead after lead getting ever closer to the truth.

    Cyberpunk fans will love this book, and for those new to the genre, Altered Carbon could be just the introduction they need.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Great sci-fi

    Great book, great writer. Only thing i didnt care for was the excess of detail. The book could have easily fit in 300 pages. It was this that made it a "pick up and read when you could" rather than a "couldnt put it down". Overall, i loved the concept and the book, im glad i happened apon it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    I LOVE the Kovacs books to the point that I've read them multipl

    I LOVE the Kovacs books to the point that I've read them multiple times. Re-reading isn't something I do very often, but the grittiness of the story is quite addictive and satisfying. I really wish Morgan would write more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Meh

    Not as good as the first book but not bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    I would have enjoyed Altered Carbon more as a pubescent kid unac

    I would have enjoyed Altered Carbon more as a pubescent kid unaccustomed to quality writing and an awareness of contemporary scientific knowledge.
    From the outset, the author displays a dim grip on the conflict between an uploadable person and the scientific, brain-bound person. This puts the premise well beyond the suspension of disbelief for anyone with even a moderate interest in neuroscience. The book would be more effective if the author took that challenge head on—but I’m not sure whether the author was even aware of the challenge.
    But my main problem with the book is the low quality delivery. Perhaps cyberpunk’s just not my thing, but then again, perhaps I prefer writing that doesn’t come across as voiceless and filled with immature fantasies. Genre doesn’t mean cut-and-paste phrase writing, and debauchery should be written by someone who can express a proper connection with it…not someone who comes off as a 14 year old boy fantasizing about things he’s never done.
    Of course, the book did accomplish one thing that very few books can make me do. Halfway through it, I’ve stopped reading it—without an ounce of feeling that I might be missing out. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Urban Sci Fi at its best

    A great read. A whole world with its own idioms and lingo. And 100 characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book!

    Richard is one of those writers that can create a smooth flowing movie in your head through words. I like well written sci-fi military and though not strictly military, Takeshi is former military using those skills as a civilian, this book meets all my criteria for an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Next Cyberpunk

    morgan is a good writer who has been able to combine various elements into something fresh and thought-provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    This book

    I want to now if this book is good. Please reply

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Crackin' good stuff!

    Morgan is the real deal! "Altered Carbon" is an amazing mix of detective noir, cool SF tropes, and social commentary. Takeshi Kovacs is the prototypical jaded anti-hero who appears to not really care, but he does have his own code and a sense of honor. The story moves along at a good clip, with occasional asides for a little exposition that work very well (and I am -not- a huge fan of expository passages). Definitely a page-turner, definitely worth your time. I bought it in both paper and digital form, and gave copies to the base library, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    a good, enjoyable story.

    a good, enjoyable story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Svi-Fi Noir

    I read this about 5 years abgo, & its still stuck with me. Although a few of the futuristic tropes have been hashed over before, there're plenty of unique speculative ideas. For me, it was the well-drawn characters & rich evocative settings that kept me rivited...not to mention the thrilling plot with the vibe of an oold .....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10