Customer Reviews for

Altered Carbon

Average Rating 4.5
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Takeshi Kovacs, a franchise to be reckoned with

    This was recommended to me and it did not disappoint. It had everything I was looking for in a gritty SF novel - a complex world where the future is well-defined and unique, great characters and action, and a touch of noir. In a future world where a person's consciousness can be "resleeved" into other bodies, an ex-military soldier is brought out of his century long prison sentence to investigate the apparent suicide of a wealthy immortal, who also happens to be the client. If the opening chapter doesn't hook you, check your pulse.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    Richard Morgan is amazing

    I've read everything that Richard Morgan has written, I'm on my millionth read through of Altered Carbon and it's simply amazing. Takeshi Kovacs is a gripping character.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2007

    Kinetic, fast paced, gripping.

    A genre setting novel that has frightening parallels to todays world. Starring a multilayered lead crashing through a hyperviolent landscape that leaves the reader gasping for breath.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    Surpisingly gripping

    It's one of those books that catches your eye when you walk down the asile and makes you wonder what the title has to do with the story. I own all of the Takashi series and honestly believe if I don't get more I will possibly force Morgan to write more. No matter your view you end up loving Takeshi and his attitude towards the world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    A cyberpunk classic

    William Gibson invented cyberpunk with Neuromancer. Neil Stephenson introduced a new generation with Snow Crash. Richard K Morgan completes the cyberpunk holy trinity with Altered Carbon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    I LOVE the Kovacs books to the point that I've read them multipl

    I LOVE the Kovacs books to the point that I've read them multiple times. Re-reading isn't something I do very often, but the grittiness of the story is quite addictive and satisfying. I really wish Morgan would write more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book!

    Richard is one of those writers that can create a smooth flowing movie in your head through words. I like well written sci-fi military and though not strictly military, Takeshi is former military using those skills as a civilian, this book meets all my criteria for an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Next Cyberpunk

    morgan is a good writer who has been able to combine various elements into something fresh and thought-provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Crackin' good stuff!

    Morgan is the real deal! "Altered Carbon" is an amazing mix of detective noir, cool SF tropes, and social commentary. Takeshi Kovacs is the prototypical jaded anti-hero who appears to not really care, but he does have his own code and a sense of honor. The story moves along at a good clip, with occasional asides for a little exposition that work very well (and I am -not- a huge fan of expository passages). Definitely a page-turner, definitely worth your time. I bought it in both paper and digital form, and gave copies to the base library, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    Must read for pulp scifi fans

    Morgan puts some finer touches on concepts that have been batted around by others. Mostly it is his style and character development that puts this trilogy a cut above the rest. If only he would abandon his fantasy novel line and return to Kovachs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Morgan is great

    stupendous visionary and writer. the Kovacs books are real works of literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    wow!

    Wow! Couldn't put this book down. Well, couldn't put my nook down. Highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    I'm not usually one for futuristic sci-fi novels but Takeshi Kovacs character is so well written that you are easily drawn into his world. Richard K. Morgan has a knack of making future-tech sound the norm and the story flows so effortlessly that you never notice when he is explaining a new device or what a "sleeve" is, etc. I thought this was an excellent book and I recommend it to anyone looking for something off-beat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cyberpunk Detective makes good...no, makes GREAT!

    Morgan kept me riveted from the first page until after the last, (I immediately ran out and purchased the next Takeshi Kovacs novel), and provided a detective tale in finest future-noir. A "fair" mystery to say the least, Morgan provides readers with all the necessary facts, characterization, motives, and enough explanation of the futuristic technologies involved to let even Sci-fi novices try their hand at cracking Kovacs' case before he can. A wild ride, and one I plan to take again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2006

    A Blessing and a Curse

    I won't even attempt to summarize the book because there is already enough of that written above this review. I will tell you this...buy it. Devour it. And when you're through reading you will shake your fists at the heavens because once you've started reading Richard K. Morgan, all other author's will feel so very lacking, tame and uninspired in comparison. Both a blessing and a curse! Thanks Richard!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    One of the best novels I've read so far

    In terms of what Altered Carbon tried to accomplish, it was the best in my eyes. Morgan wields a prose that is absolutely perfect for my tastes. Takeshi Kovacs has a personality not too dissimilar from my own, and I love him for it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2004

    Awesome

    Fast paced action, solid scientific speculation, and a Film Noir feel make for a roller-coaster of a story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    Sci Fi that doesn't disapoint

    Heading to the book store, where an aray of books with tacky covers spill on the shelves, this was fantastic. For those of us who are sci-fi action junkies this is a huge winner. Its true that it hits the ground running. Please Mr. Morgan keep Takashi coming, we love him! On the 3rd book by Mr. Morgan and he just gets better and better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2003

    Bold New Author

    In Altered Carbon Richard Morgan makes his first piece of work look like a Hugo Nebula winner. A fast paced mix of science fiction with a hint of mystery keeps your head into the book till the very last page. I look forward to reading his next in what seems to be a series for him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2003

    One of the best I've ever read !

    ALTERED CARBON is a debut on the level of Brin's Uplift series or Reynolds' Revelation Space. AC is truly a groundbreaking event. Morgan not only creates a setting that is easily believable ,but in addition has fully developed the characters who operate within that setting. This book held my interest from the first page to the last, while at the same time making me hope that Morgan has another dozen of this ilk planned.This is one of the top ten SF books I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6