Customer Reviews for

Always Been Mine

Average Rating 4.5
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Second Book

Perfect follow up to "Forever Mine". Characters from the first book get to take center stage, and boy do they ever! Strong development of relation ships and an exciting plot make this book impossible to put down.

posted by edcsdc on January 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ok

A very lengthy but easy read. I was annoyed by the characters tendancy to avoid anything they felt was uncomfortable like children. Waiting until they were forced to deal with a situation instead of dealing with it. And half the time the things they avoided discussing w...
A very lengthy but easy read. I was annoyed by the characters tendancy to avoid anything they felt was uncomfortable like children. Waiting until they were forced to deal with a situation instead of dealing with it. And half the time the things they avoided discussing weren't that serious. I did enjoy the overall story line.

posted by kimmig on March 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Second Book

    Perfect follow up to "Forever Mine". Characters from the first book get to take center stage, and boy do they ever! Strong development of relation ships and an exciting plot make this book impossible to put down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Great series

    A must read series. All books are linked together and if you read one you have to read all five! I read these books in just under 24 hours because I can't ever seem to want to put them down. Valerie's and Alex's story is one of the best because you don't know what is going to come around the corner. The guys seem like big meat heads but they do love their girls.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    BookWhisperer Reviews Always Been Mine

    Always been mine is the second Moreno Brothers book, but it is transitioning from Young Adult Romance to Adult Comtemporary Romance. In Forever Mine, we follow Angel and Sarah through love, laughter, and tears; with just a side salad of Alex and Valerie's wild sex craze. Always been Mine digs deeper into that romance, and finds that emotions run much deeper than the occasional hook up previewed in the first book. After a disasterous spy mission, Valerie has given up on the relationship she knows can and will never exist. Alex has proven to be the ultimate ladies man that will not be capable of settling down with just one woman, and she refuses to continue setting herself up for heartache.

    All the while, Alex has many things he is not proud of; including letting Valerie walk away. Valerie is the one person he wishes he could spend the rest of his life with, but he just let her walk away rather than tell her the truth. Now after a year apart the pain of her loss only seems to be increasing. If he could just find a way to get her to see how much he really loves her, and that he can be the a one woman kind of man. His opportunity comes at Sarah and Angel's wedding shower.

    This begins a rollercoaster of frustration when Valerie lies to Alex telling him she is seeing someone, and they can no longer be more than friends. Followed by a month of lies and secrets that will keep the readers infuriated with the characters. Valerie has spent this entire year trying to get over Alex, and made several mistakes. One of which turned into a controlling and psychotic boyfriend. When he begins calling her, and making corner her alone she begins looking for somewhere she can feel safe. It becomes evidently clear that the only pace she will truely feel safe is the one place she has vowed not to go back to.

    Always been Mine was very different from the Young Adult Romance that Forever Mine offered. This was anticipated seeing as how we were changing genres, but I think that it was also a little shaky as Elizabeth Reyes finds her Adult Romance groove. Overall, even with the transitioning occuring I it was an incredible read. I love how each book highlights one romance, but there is some much about beginnings and continuations of the romances prior. Reyes is one exceptional author; that offers story packed full of hot and steamy romance. As mentioned before I believe she is still learning and working out the kinks, but all around she has a very promising future. Great read!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Great book

    Wonderful, loving, sexy.....enjoyed very much and over 1400 pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Great book

    great book would recommend to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Recommend!!!

    What a good read. Love and romance with mystery. My kind of book. Will read more from this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Loved it!!!

    Def worth reading dont miss out on any in this series!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Great read

    ## WAIT, can we please just take a moment to pay homage to this enticingly beautiful cover? Holy cow, this guy is hot. Ok, now on to the book. I have to admit I had a hard time putting it down. I loved the writing style. The author did an amazing job with that. However it was too long for me. Too many misunderstandings, too many lies and too many half-truths. If she could've cut everything in half I would be singing its praises. As it stands, it just went on and on and on. I loved the hero Alex but didn't care much for the heroine. I didn't like that she thought it was OK to continue meeting up with her ex and keeping that from the hero once they got back together. This is my first book of this series (it stands alone and has a complete ending), but since I'm afraid they'll all be this long, it will be my last.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Love this book

    I loved this book so much i stayed up until 2:30 reading it! I always feel realy jumpy when dramatic parts in a book occur and this book had me on edge the whole time! One of the best books ive ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Wow

    Talk about loving the book is an understatement...cant wait for Romero's, Sofie, and Sals story and then look up all this writter book...I love the way she manage to develope each character to the point that you actually find yourself thinking about them even when your not reading...LOVED IT

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    love this book!!!!!!!!

    this book was amazing it felt like i was in a roller coaster, omg it just made me love this book even more i fell in love with alex his passion for valerie was beautiful so much love. i love all the books elizabeth has made about the moreno brothers so far and the book fate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Enjoyable read

    This is a good story, perfect for a cold winter day to read a little passionate romance that's not too heavy. I get a kick out of the sexy, hot-headed Moreno brothers. It is not the best-written book; there are a lot of grammar issues, some spelling and syntax issues, but it is still a fun story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    One one hand I love that we got to know these characters in the

    One one hand I love that we got to know these characters in the first
    book, but on the other I almost wish we could have had a little more
    mystery to their romance. I feel like maybe a little too much of their
    story took place in the first book. That being said, this story was a
    great one about wanting what you can't have. Alex has been a major
    player in the past and even though he enjoyed his time with Valerie, he
    always made sure it stayed light and a non-commitment. Valerie always
    put off the vibe that she was a "just have fun" kind of girl.
    But in reality every single time a guy left her, she felt it. Their
    journey to happily ever after is not exactly an easy one. They have to
    get over the wrongs they have done to each other while trying to make
    sure they remain unharmed. There is some great suspense added to this
    one, which adds a different theme to the story. We are set up for
    book #3 in this one as well. Again, maybe a little too much, but I will
    still read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Ok

    A very lengthy but easy read. I was annoyed by the characters tendancy to avoid anything they felt was uncomfortable like children. Waiting until they were forced to deal with a situation instead of dealing with it. And half the time the things they avoided discussing weren't that serious. I did enjoy the overall story line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Intense, protective, sexy...

    Valerie and Alex had a relationship, well not really a defined relationship but they hangout on and off, until Valerie had enough and went to see what happened when she wasn't around. As she witnesses his infidelity she calls it quits she wants absolutely nothing to do with him, ever again. She takes her broken heart and swears to never let Alex close again.

    Alex has bit of a proud streak, with his football scholarship he has to keep his grades up with is not easy for him, he hates people viewing him as stupid so he doesn't tell Valerie just what keeps him away from her - but when she surprises him with a girl, his tutor, he tries to explain but it falls on deaf ears. And it, whatever it is, is over.

    It's been a year and Valerie and Alex are both living their lives when a family wedding brings them together again, and love, passion and broken hearts are all dragged back out. Love hasn't died and even though Valerie fights to stop feeling for Alex she can't help seeing him as a changed guy. With a jealous ex ( the one she thought she'd use to get over Alex ) is threatening her and her boss wanting to date her she has more than enough on her plate, but when Alex states he wants her back... just how much can a girl have on her plate?

    ~

    Say, Hi, to deliciously passionate and intensily protective Moreno brothers! I really enjoyed this book, it's been a while since I've read just contemporary romance, and it was nice, no shifters or vampires coming out of closets. ;) This story is all about second chances, and I loved that! Things just went wrong with Valerie and Alex, and their pride kept the two apart until something just had to give when they met again. Of course the reader knows these two belong together, but reading the whole journey is still interesting with yummu elements of danger, jealousy, love and passion.

    I really liked Alex even with his proud streak and his temperament he was lovable and having him pine after Valerie and reacting to her mere presence in the room was yummy reading. I wish though that I could have just shook him and go, "oh come on just tell her how you feel, what really happened!" of course that marks a good book when you can get frustrated at the characters, it means you're involved in the story. But I loved Alex even more after they decide to give things another go, sure he's possessive and jealous but in a deliciously yummy way. ;)

    Valerie, oh I wish she could have just given him a chance, she harbored her ill feelings for him for a year trying to replace him ( big oh-oh ) and tried to trick him ( by saying she had a boyfriend ) and eventually she just had to open her eyes and see that was changes and hear him. I really liked her, she was fun to read and had really heartfelt emotions, lots of guts and a good sense of humor.

    Alright, things that needed a little fixing were the repetition of events in the first half of the book, which slightly stalled the reading. But after the half way that didn't come up anymore and the story moved a lot more smoothly. The covers on the other Moreno Brothers books in the series are quite good, this one has something lacking it, could have used something extra, it's not a big problem as I read this on the Kindle.

    What I loved was all the tension! Loved it, it's just what a good romance needs! The tension caused by Alex's passion for Valerie, tension from Valerie's boss trying to get her to date him and forget Alex, and Valerie's jealous ex tha

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    GOOD

    not as good as first book in series but still held its own worth the $$$

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Excellent!

    I enjoyed Alex and Valerie's story--although it didn't have the innocence of Angel's story or Sophia's. Alex and Valerie are more mature and come together after several years apart.

    The story was multi-faceted and I enjoyed the broadened storyline.

    Still an emotional story and one I could not put down.

    My hat is off to Ms. Reyes--I'm eagerly awaiting the final two books in the Moreno Brothers series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Wow- This series keeps getting better and better!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I couldnt put it down! This novel entertained me while out of power from Hurricane Irene!!!!!!!!!!!! You will want more and wish that you had a Moreno all to yourself! Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Mess with a Moreno

    Always Been Mine by Elizabeth Reyes Book 2 in the Moreno Series

    In Forever Mine, the first Moreno book, we meet Sarah who lives with her cousin Valerie's family. When Sarah dates Angel Moreno and eventually become engaged after the ups and downs even out.
    Sarah knows her cousin always had a thing for Angel's older brother Alex and so she introduces them.
    Valerie and Alex go back and forth but neither wants a commitment, or that was how Valerie use to be.

    In this book we find that Alex and Valerie have been going back and forth through the years. It is about four years since they graduated high school. Some have went to college. Valerie now has her realtors license. She had grown tired of being with Alex just to have him disappear so she spies on him. After seeing a leggy young woman go into his home with an overnight bag she confronts him and ends it. He tries to tell her its not what it looks like but her heart can take no more.

    A year has passed. The parties are starting for Angel and Sarah's wedding. Alex and Valerie definitely notice each other and after he kisses her Valerie has to work hard at reminding herself of how he broke her heart time and again with his womanizing. So she invents a boyfriend and he backs off.

    Alex had a tough year. His folks travel to see family more in Mexico and have left him to run the restaurant, he still wants to finish his schooling and when he sees Valerie again he misses her. His pride kept him from telling her the truth of what had happened during college and when he saw her last. He still wanted her back. Now more than ever.

    Valerie tries to move on after seeing Alex again and dates her office manager, Luke. And a date from the past reappears as well. A guy she met in a bar and dated a few weeks. He was suppose to be in jail but was out already and Bruce decided she owed him.

    There is much going on in this story. Alex and his possessive and protective nature, Valerie and her stubbornness, Bruce the stalker, Luke who would not give up on Valerie, Isabel is Valerie's roommate and she is attracted to her total opposite when she meets Romero at the party. Looking forward to reading the third book Sweet Sofie, which is Sofie and Eric's story.

    There is language and sexual situations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Couldn't put it down. Ready for more brothers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7