Customer Reviews for

Always a Cold Deck (Harry Reese Mysteries, #1)

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

This book although set in 1800s America seems like an English novel

This book was set primarily in 1800s America, yet reads like an English novel. The hero is an insurance fraud investigator, down on his luck. The murder mystery is quite entertaining as it takes the reader on a convoluted path. The hero meets a woman, who helps him with...
This book was set primarily in 1800s America, yet reads like an English novel. The hero is an insurance fraud investigator, down on his luck. The murder mystery is quite entertaining as it takes the reader on a convoluted path. The hero meets a woman, who helps him with the cases he is working on, mostly because he can not rid himself of her company. There are several interesting sub plots, a bit of mayham, a dab of romance and satisfying resolutions to all. I do not usually like books written in this style, but I enjoyed this 485 page read.

posted by Anonymous on July 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Review

Liked...at pointsit did get my interest. Disliked...boring parts, some that put me to sleep it just dragged on. Confusing, couldn't tell where all these characters were coming from, including with the ending.

posted by More_Than_Words on September 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    This book although set in 1800s America seems like an English novel

    This book was set primarily in 1800s America, yet reads like an English novel. The hero is an insurance fraud investigator, down on his luck. The murder mystery is quite entertaining as it takes the reader on a convoluted path. The hero meets a woman, who helps him with the cases he is working on, mostly because he can not rid himself of her company. There are several interesting sub plots, a bit of mayham, a dab of romance and satisfying resolutions to all. I do not usually like books written in this style, but I enjoyed this 485 page read.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Good Book

    Set in the 1900's but with most events the late 1800's it keeps wondering who done it. This is the first book in Harry Ress mysteries if you like Sherlock Holmes or mystery or book told in the first person you will like this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Great fun!

    Droll humor, interesting characters, convoluted plot & believable historical setting--perfect for a winter's evening by the fire.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Good story.

    Very believable main character. After just reading the first couple of pages I was liking him, he was so completely human. Some might not like all the detailed discriptions, but I do. I don't think the author was overly wordy. My attention was caught and held from the very beginning of the story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Review

    Liked...at pointsit did get my interest.

    Disliked...boring parts, some that put me to sleep it just dragged on.
    Confusing, couldn't tell where all these characters were coming from, including with the ending.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    I absolutely adored this fun book! I was hooked immediately, and

    I absolutely adored this fun book! I was hooked immediately, and unlike previous reviewers, never found a dull or lagging moment. It was actually a very high-spirited and rollicking story line, easy to follow yet also with some complexity. The characters are extremely entertaining, if not endearing. The time period of the late 1800s seems to be perfectly portrayed as well.

    Harry is a freelance insurance investigator,  basically flat broke, and takes this job hoping for a meager payday. He is a very stand-up guy, ready to see this through to the end, even if he doesn't make a penny. He is skilled at finding opportunities to not only benefit him a little financially with his daily needs, but also at finding the right people to help him in his investigation. 

    I am in no way a literary critic, but I do know what I like, and I loved this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Good book

    Very good mystery kept u guessing who the killer was

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    A good old fashioned who-dunnit

    Lots of dialouge and characters, not a lot of action. You really have to pay attention to keep it all straight. Reminded me of some of the old English mystery writers. Overall, I enjoyed this book and would read more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Don't waste your time on this one

    I confess I didn't read all of it. I quit about 100 pages in it as it was putting me to sleep to often.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Good boo

    You people should just read this novel yourselves and write your own review on this novel. I enjoyed reading this novel very much. ShelleyMA

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    A complex mystery with a fair amount of wit.

    A complex mystery with a fair amount of wit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Confusing

    I totally agree with Sept 2012. I only finised this book (190 pages ) to see how it ended. Very hard to understand, things that had nothing to do w/ the story drug on & on, even the names in this book were too much alike. Whitey & Whitner, why not be more creative, wii not read more this this writer. GJRA

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    VERY ENJOYABLE

    Light hearted historic mystery+Great detail combined with lively engaging characters from a bygpne time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1