Customer Reviews for

Always a Thief

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2003

    How disappointing.

    I have read everthing she's wrote, going back 20 years or so. I liked the original series. I wasn't impressed with the first one(Once a thief) and went ahead and read the second(Always a thief) and it wasn't worth the effort. It was choppy and didn't flow. The rewrite really didn't add anything except the additional murder and thief. I took that as a set-up for a new book?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Great read

    Anothr of my favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Light, but suspenseful.

    You really need to read "Once A Thief" first to get the full impact of the storyline, but an enjoyable read none the less

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Ok

    Worth reading once

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    Predictable Thief

    It takes a thief to catch a thief. At least that¿s the logic and theme of this novel. Morgena West is a lonely woman but her life is thrown upside down when the notorious cat burglar, Quinn, drops in through her livingroom window with a gunshot wound. It¿s not the first time they have met, so she knows he is a dangerous man with cops searching for him in possibly every country in the world, so she had to decide if to inform the cops about his sudden appearance in San Francisco, but since her undeniable attraction for Quinn is clouding her sense of logic, Morgan calls Jared, a cop who is also a friend. Imagine her surprise when she finds out that Quinn and Jarad are actually brothers, and though normally they work on opposite sides of the law, this time they combined their sources to catch a thief was good as Quinn, but a million times more dangerous. Unlike Quinn, the other thief is also a killer! And Morgan, by lusting after Quinn, might find herself as the victim. ------------------------ Always a Thief has a strong opening, and the pages keep turning as the suspenseful plot takes place. The atmosphere of the book is rather gloomy and may remind you of a superhero movie, which adds to the great storytelling. But after about 75 pages, the book quickly turns into a somewhat cheesy romance novel that is trademark of ¿Loveswept¿. The story begins to drag and the love story hold no appeal. The relationship is too easy, and the whole book begins to settle around endless conversations. The action atmosphere is replaced by that of a cheep `80s series romance novel, which indeed it is. The ending couldn¿t have come sooner, and the ending wasn¿t as exiting as I wished it would be. Though the book leaves it open that a third book in the series is about to come, it hasn¿t arrived in 3 years so I wouldn¿t hold my breath for it. --------------------- If you are a fan of romantic suspense with more romance and very little suspense, you will probably find this book and it¿s characters enjoyable. But if you like romantic suspense with little romance and non stop mystery, this book will more then likely disappoint you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    A Fantastic Read!!

    This book was better then the one before it. I didn't want to put it down. Morgan and Quinn are great, I really hope there is a sequel because I want to know what happens with Quinn. Does he truly give up his life of crime? This book was really good and suprisingly better then the first which most sequels aren't. I LOVED IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    Dripping with suspense all the way through

    Always a Thief was a thrilling and heart felt. I read the book straight through from start to finish in one sitting, Having read the first book it makes it easier to know that somethings were going to happen. This book left you wanting to read what is going to happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    my two cents-

    Overall, the way I figure it, you either love this book or are disappointed in it. Personally, I loved the book and would love another one. Then again, I never read the origonal, so I can't comment by giving a comparision. And I don't think it's fair to say that this book was awful because you might not feel it compares to the origonal because, frankly, a good chunk of people haven't read the origonal. The reason I love this book is because its one you can lose yourself in. It's one of those forget-about-everything, sit back, and enjoy yourself type of books. I was not disappointed in this book. Maybe it's because I never read the origonal, because I have read other books by Kay Hooper. Simply put, it's a book you can read when you're under stress and be able to lose yourself in. I'm not saying it would win a Nobel Prize or anything. Just that, if you like the sit back and taker a breather books, you'll love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    The best book

    i loved it the suspense killed me i just couldn't put the book down i needed to find out what was going to happened to Morgan and Quinn .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    Leave Your Money at Home

    What a waste of $5.95 for a paperback! This is probably that worst tripe I have ever read. The plot is laughable, with both men and women constantly scrambling up and down fire escapes and across the tops of fog-shrouded buildings like so many Spider-man wannabes. The male protagonist (a cat burglar) seems unusually large for his chosen line of work. 'Every time I get close to you, I can't believe how big you are,' the supposedly bright but incredibly dumb-acting girlfriend shyly coos. The kicker is the cat-burglar's mother, who apparently mothered just about all of the rest of the cast of characters, too. If there is a sequel (God forbid), she ought to get the starring role!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2003

    Loved It

    I could not put Always a Thief down. I absolutely adore Quinn and Morgan. It was a wonderful book and I really hope there is a sequel!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2003

    Should Have Been What the Original Was

    I read 'Once A Thief' before I read the original Men of Mysteries Past Quadrilogy, and I loved it. When I read the first two books of the original, I didn't quite enjoy them as much. However, I read the last two before I read 'Always A Thief' and when I bought the book there was a marked difference. I found that I liked the originals better in that case, because the book seemed hurried and thrown together- sort of like a tossed salad. What I would like to see, personally, is Hooper creating a sequel to this book, but more in the general direction of the original series. Quinn was a much more innocent, likeable character then, and the secondary characters- all of whom were also enjoyable- had much more substance than they do now. But then again, I'd just love to see a sequel because I'm nuts about Quinn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2003

    Kay does it again!

    I just finished reading this book and I thought it was fantastic! I love sequels and this book is right on the mark. Quinn is a great character and Morgan compliments him. I can't tell too much of the book because no matter where I begin, I will certainly give something away. So just buy it, read it and keep it; and hope and pray Kay writes a 3rd book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    great

    THis was a pretty good book did better than i expected cuz when i read the reviews and one wasnt good but w/e i enjoyed it very much i read it during disney i couldnt put it down u would liek see me reading the book on rides. well guess wat i fifnished it in likw 6 hoursoof readin and i really enjoyed and well im sure that she is gonna have a part three to th theif series because i just half to find out wat happend inbetween morgan and quinn. I found teh book very good and i would highly recommond to any1 searching for a good read this is the book but if you ar egonna read this book u half to read part one cuz u will get a little lost if you dont

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2003

    Not her best effort!!!

    I bought this one because some of Hooper's earlier books were pretty good (Amanda, Finding Laura), but the Thief series has been dissapointing. The storyline is interesting and I especially enjoyed the Quinn character, but the rest of the characters are not at all fleshed out. It was difficult to be interested in the 'mystery' aspect of the book because the reader isn't given any information about other characters or possible suspects. My overall feeling is one of apathy-- the books weren't particularly good nor especially bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2003

    Totally a Part Two of Two

    This novel was truly a sequel. You probably will enjoy it if you haven't yet read Once a Thief, but to get the most out of Always a Thief you really need to have read the first book first. For instance, I don't think we ever really get a feel for what Morgan looks like in the second book, while in the first one we have description after description regarding her generous chest, etc. I felt that Always a Thief was a little thrown together. For instance, one major failing was that Morgan gets put to sleep at one point by a man, and we never find out who that man was. This means that we'll probably get a third book in this series (the end is left open for it as well) which I'm not that excited about. There aren't any characters that you really get attached to that you want to learn more about, so I'm hoping Hooper will put her talents to something else instead of a third. Assuming she does, that leaves much to be desired in Always a Thief regarding the loose ends and unexplained happenings. Overall, a fun beach book, but nothing overly special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2003

    When Will The Story of Quinn Continue

    I could not put this book down!!I read it in a day. I can't wait for a sequel - I hope Ms. Hooper writes a sequel to this book. I enjoy the romance and the mystery of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A keeper

    For over a decade, the cat burglar Quinn robbed the homes of the rich and famous, relieving them of baubles that have made him a media sensation. When his luck ran out, Interpol gave him a choice, help them catch notorious jewel thieves or spend the rest of his life in jail. Nobody could call Quinn a fool and the cat burglar retired to become a man who worked for international law officials.<P> His first assignment is in San Francisco where Max Bannister is allowing the Museum of Historical Art to display his priceless jewel collection in an exhibit designed by Morgan West. Rumor has it that the deadly Nightshade is going after the collection and Quinn is in place to stop by baiting a trap too irresistible to ignore. Quinn can¿t give the con his complete attention because he has become romantically involved with Morgan, a law-abiding woman who can¿t believe she¿s in love with a master jewel thief.<P> ONCE A THIEF was originally written for the now defunct Loveswept line but in it¿s present form it is almost unrecognizable because the author expanded the story line and targeted it for suspense fans as well as romance lovers. The hero is one of a kind character who fits the world into his mold except in one area, his love for Morgan who becomes his redemption. The identity of Nightshade will come as a surprise to the audience but Quinn¿s real everyday identity will come as a bigger surprise to the audience.<P> Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2