Customer Reviews for

Always a Witch

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review: Always A Witch

    I think books involving magic might be one of my favorite types in the paranormal genre. This series is no exception. I really think the magic involved is subtle, which makes the storyline that much more intriguing.

    I think Tamsin is one of my favorite female witches. She's really had the best of both worlds (although I'm sure she would disagree). She grow up surrounded by people who can do extraordinary things, while she can't. She's tried to live a normal life in NYC, far enough away from her family. And even after she learns that she really does have magic that has been kept hidden from her, she still tries to appear normal. Much to the dismay of her family. When she goes home for her sister's wedding, she discovers that Alistair aims to bring down her family in the past. And she also knows that she's probably the only one who can save them.

    Tamsin chooses to time travel alone. But, she has no idea how to find her family or how to warn them about the dangers to come when she does. How do you go about telling something that a spell they have no idea they are going to cast needs to be stronger? Instead, she ends up an employee of the very family set to destroy her own. I found it interesting that they were much more diabolical than the stories told made them seem. They will stop at nothing to make sure their magic is as powerful as it can be.

    When Tamsin realizes what the Knight family intends to do, she realizes that only she has the power to fully stop them in the tracks. Blood magic is extremely powerful and will take something equally strong to bind it. Tamsin makes the ultimate sacrifice, which I greatly admired her for. I wondered if it was part of the reason her magic was kept hidden for so long.

    The story has a great pace, with a dramatic ending. I was really afraid something was going to happen to someone I really cared about in the story. Which I hope doesn't make it sound like the life that was lost was unimportant. But, I think he knew the sacrifice he was making at the time. I enjoyed how the characters interacted. I especially enjoyed how Tamsin has developed from a girl who that she had no powers, to someone is in fully control of what she can do. I don't know if there will be another one or not. But, if there is, I will read it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    This book started right where it left off and another adventure began. Only this time, Tamsin must make choice that can change the fate of her family's entire future.

    One thing I enjoyed about this book is the great plot line the reader gets to go on. Tamsin is thrown back in time, trying to save her family. I like watching Tamsin go back in time and play a different person. I loved watching a character time travel!! I guess it because I always dreamed of time traveling as well. Tamsin is really good at playing different roles in order to get where she needed to be. She also learned many new secrets about not only the Knight family, but her family as well.

    In this book, I felt as though Tamsin didn't grow up as well as she soon. She still lacked trust in Gabriel and always went off doing things on her own. Granted, it was her choice that is important, but there is nothing wrong with a little help.

    Overall, I felt like this book wasn't as good as the first one. They are still going through the same thing, fighting the Knight family, learning secrets, learning talents, etc. I was really hoping for more of new adventure instead of a repeated one. I wanted more twists, more secrets, and more love! Though the ending was tied up nicely, I am somewhat disappointed in the lack of adventure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast paced and engrossing!

    Always a Witch is the second book in the ¿Witch¿ series by Carolyn MacCullough. I absolutely loved reading Once a Witch, and couldn¿t wait to get my hands on Always a Witch. This series is so very awesome; it¿s definitely one of my favorite series.

    In the book, we follow Tamsin and her hunky boyfriend, Gabriel, as they travel back in time to save the Greene Family from destruction at the hands of the evil Knight Family. Tamsin is just an awesome character. I love her. She's very courageous, and will do whatever it takes to make sure her family is safe. I love her family as well, they are so great. Gabriel is very swoon-worthy. He is totally devoted to Tam, and you can tell her cares for her deeply. I missed him a lot in the first half of the book though. Even the villains are well thought out and very interesting.

    This book is very fast paced, and the storyline is engrossing. Mrs. MacCullough's writing definitely kept me interested in the story, and I had a really hard time putting the book down.

    Overall, this book was great. This series is great! I love the characters, I love the storyline. I love it all, and I can¿t wait to read the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Really good

    I bought this book yesterday and there is 180 pages in it and i finished it in a couple of hours. This book begins with action and the ending i love. This book along with the first book has a strong moral to it and i just love that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    It was ok

    It fine i like ok i like idea of celtic holday in it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Entertaining

    This is the conclusion to Once a Witch. While it isn't a gripping page turner, it is an entertaining way to pass the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    ????

    Should i buy it? Will i waste my money?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good

    After the events of Once a Witch, Tasmin must go back in time posing as a maid, to warn the Knight family about Alistair. Likeable main character Tasmin, even the love interest Gabriel. The Knight family with the exception of Jessica, are weird and creepy. Cool cover and good ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

    Carolyn MacCullough continues the fantastic witch adventure in this sequel to Once a Witch. This sequel does what a lot of sequels fail to do, and that is outdo the original. The original had some moments of raw emotion in it that had me feeling so sorry for Tam, or her sister, or other characters. This book surpasses that with another touching but adventurous story that will have readers enthralled.

    Tam is stronger in this story, more sure of herself, which was something I loved to see. She's more able to stand on her own, and through a great portion of the book, she is completely on her own. She shows herself to be very resourceful, working toward figuring out how to change the past in order to save her family and keep their legacy safe. Although Gabriel does appear in the book about a third of the way in, their romance is, by this time, established enough so that the story doesn't ride on it. It's not the central focus, but somehow I didn't miss it being front and center. I was happy with the fact that their development had already occurred.

    When the final moments of this story come, I was shocked, saddened, nastolgic, and a million other things. Tamsin's sacrifice, especially in light of the first book's events, was sad, heroic, and poignant. Yet I knew that despite it, she was going to be happy. I don't want to ruin it for anyone so I won't say more.

    This was a very entertaining read that kept my interest from the very first page. I can't wait to see what the author has coming in future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    These spells are made for breakin'

    Always A Witch was a pleasant surprise, considering how lukewarm my reaction had been for Once A Witch. Carolyn MacCullough definitely packed Book the Second with more action, more suspense, more oomph that I was literally biting my nails as Tamsin races through time to save her family from destruction.


    The Greene family didn't make much of an appearance this time around. Rather, their rival - the Knight family - gets showcased as Tamsin infiltrates their household in hopes of preventing Alistair from changing the past to affect the future. Seeing the infamous Knight family in action - especially on the cusp of their powers - was truly a delight to see, even though Liam's goals were pretty dastardly.


    I'm not sure if there will be any continuation to this series (I'm not sure what cute, catchy title Book the Third could even be!), given the future-changing ending that Ms. MacCullough leaves us with. This leaves me with regret since Tamsin, Gabriel, and family have earned their places in my heart - but really, what an satisfying conclusion that Always A Witch gives us!


    On a sidenote, what a GORGEOUS cover! I'm not sure how it falls into the story since there is no major gown-wearing story arc, but I still love the cover model's wistful pose!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    An amazing sequel!

    Always a Witch picks up where the first book, Once a Witch, left off. This is a fun, fast read, yet Tamsin's relationship with her family, best friend, and boyfriend, are deeply developed. The sibling rivalry between Tamsin and her sister, Rowena, is the first complication Tamsin faces as her new journey begins, and I thought it felt truly authentic. I love the setting of the Victorian-era the author chose for the trip back in time. Ms. MacCullough did an exception job making me feel as if I was experiencing everything from that time, while keeping it light- not bogging down the action with too much description. It was perfectly balanced. While I enjoy the relationship between Tamsin and Gabriel, they care for each other and protect each other, and their banter is wonderful, I only wish it was a bit more passionate. But for the feel of the novel, the romance was perfectly paced. This installment introduces us to more backstory between the Greene's and Knight's and their powers as well as introducing some interesting new characters. Tasmin was a much stronger character in this novel, and I loved that she never backed down. The twist at the end was unexpected, but I felt brought everything together in a satisfying conclusion.

    A highly enjoyable read, I give Always a Witch 4 flames!

    From my blog at YA Bound

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2