BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Always a Witch

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Love the book...only one complaint

    My one and only complaint are all of the typos in the book. I have the Nook version on my eReader and the typos are driving me crazy. Overall, I love the story and really enjoyed this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    Whoa. Just wow, I really wasn't expecting that ending. It came f

    Whoa. Just wow, I really wasn't expecting that ending. It came flying up out of nowhere and hit me smack in the face. It was completely brilliant though. Since I adored everything about Once A Witch, it really is not surprise that I loved this one as well. Carolyn MacCullough took everything I loved about Once A Witch and managed to improve upon it when writing this book. It's witty, it's funny, it still has that great Tamsin/Gabriel relationship. The sarcasm is cut down a bit, but it is still great.

    This novel pics up not too far after the last one left off and it follows Tamsin in an adventure in the past. Her grandmother can no longer see a future for their family, so her only real option is to follow Alistair into the past and prevent him from warning the Knights. Deciding it is best to do this alone, she uses the Domani to travel back 1887 with no real plan beyond warning her ancestors and finding Alistair. She ends up taking a position as a lady's maid for the Knight family to watch for Alistair since she can't find anyone with knowledge of the Greene family. Complications arise, ensue, and are overcome.

    I really loved this novel. Love, love LOVE it.

    I loved Tamsin going off on her own (though it was stupid) and blindly charging off to save her family. I love that it doesn't turn out perfect when she arrives. Too many novels have the heroine arrive and it just all magically falls into place, like the first person she asks knows where to find her family and they believe her and fix it and then cue the happily ever after. No, Tamsin arrives and cannot find anyone that has even heard of her family. She wonders around cluelessly until a man offers her a job as a lady's maid for the Knight family. Then when she finally finds her family, they don't believe her. I truly loved that. Call me cruel, but I like seeing the heroine (or hero) struggle to get what they want/need.

    I was a bit sad when she left without Gabriel because I love him and I want as much of him in the novel as possible. He finally shows up in 1887 a little over halfway through the book, so those of you fearing (like me), that you won't get enough of him here, let me put your mind at easy. You get plenty of the signature Tamsin/Gabriel banter.

    I have to give it to Carolyn for catching me off guard because I didn't see that ending coming at all. I don't know exactly what I was expecting but it certainly wasn't that. Even though I didn't expect it, it was perfect. It seamlessly tied the whole story together. It makes it completely understandable why Grandma forced everyone to hide Tam's powers from her. It really left me speechless.

    I also loved that this series is just a 2 part set. It is very refreshing to see a short series in a world where it seems like every story is continued to like 15 volumes. Oh and for those of you wondering, this series had no love triangle. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Love it

    This is such a captivating story an this sequel to once a witch pulls you in just as thoroughly as the first. Ends with a conclusion that makes you wish for more and more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    Amazing!

    Just as good as the first but with a twist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    :)

    I haven't read this one but I read the other one so this must be great!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Amazing!

    I was looking through the nook store one day for a book to read and I found this series. At first I thought that this series would be one of those books you read and forget about, boy was I dead wrong. This series is a work of art. Where one book leaves off the next book picks right back up. And all throughtout the series Tamsin has one question on her mind, why did her family lie about her talent? She doesn't only find that but something else that touches her. I would highly recommend this book to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Always a Witch is just bewitching!!!

    Beautiful, just beautiful! I was entranced at the first word. This novel, which was handcrafted with much thought, had twist and turns at every page and much surprise and supense. I love how at the end she loved her familynso much she gave herself up. I hope this author writes another book just as great as this one. Btw, you must read the books in order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A personal favorite

    The Greene family has always been very talented--magically Talented, that is. Except for Tamsin. Instead of a Talent she had a cryptic prophecy from her grandmother declaring that Tamsin would one day be a beacon for her entire family.

    At least, that's what she thought for the first seventeen years of her life.

    Now she knows the truth about her Talent and her family's past. Unfortunately so does Alistair Knight and he's gone back to Victorian era New York to share what he knows with his ancestors and possibly destroy the Greene family forever.

    With Alistair Traveling to the past, time is running out and Tamsin realizes she has no choice but to follow. Alone in 1895 New York Tamsin soon finds herself disguised as a lady's maid in the Knight mansion. She still has a crucial role to play in her family's struggle with the Knights even if she isn't sure what that role is yet. All she knows for sure is that it will involve a terrible sacrifice and, in the end, she may not have any choice at all in Always a Witch (2011) by Carolyn MacCullough.

    Always a Witch is the sequel to MacCullough's delightful novel Once a Witch.

    As some regular readers might already know, Carolyn MacCullough is one of my favorite authors of all time and also an author I was lucky enough to meet a while back which remains one of the high points of . . . my life. All sounds like tangential information unless you got to see a galley of Always a Witch.

    On the covers of the advanced reader copies (and in the image attached to this post) part of my review of Once a Witch was quoted. There are a lot of reasons for any reader to love this book but for me a lot of that love is wrapped up in MacCullough being one of my favorite authors and also my excitement at being quoted on the galleys* and being so fond of these characters.

    In other words, I'm delighted my words got to endorse this book, however briefly. (The quote didn't make it to the final cover but I'll always have the galleys. I realize this sounds made up so I am taking the liberty of including a copy of the galley cover here: [...] )

    Once a Witch was a clever urban fantasy with an original take on magic as well as a fast-paced, funny and entertaining story. It was a delightful introduction to Tamsin and her world. Always a Witch is just as good as the first--maybe even better. Definitely good enough that I finished it in one day.

    Family is still a central element of this book, as it should be when the family is as splendid as the Greenes, but there is a lot more to this story with the extended time travel and Tamsin's choice looming throughout the narrative.

    As a sequel there is always the risk of summarizing too little or explaining too much. MacCullough strikes a perfect balance of summary and new material here. The inimitable Gabriel also returns along with other favorite characters. Tamsin's same fierce love for her family permeates these pages.

    Always a Witch is a great fantasy with a well-realized look at old New York besides. Tamsin is one of my favorite heroines with her strength, resilience and general charm. Like Once a Witch before it, this book is a wonderful story about family and love and, yes, about magic too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    good read

    maybe aimed at younger audience but in a witchy version of magic genre books...fast paced..suspense filled and lots of humor...what's not to like...2nd in a series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Very good READ

    Very very good. I couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter review of Always A Witch

    With the way that Once A Witch ended, just begging to give the world a sequel that sounded just as amazing as the first novel in the series. I was pretty eager to get started on Always A Witch. from the way it started, which I found a bit comical and was still serious, I was wondering how this novel would go exactly...it wasn't like how Once A Witch ended, with everything perfectly fine. There's still a hundred and fifty nine questions running through my head (and since I'm too lazy to list ALL of them I'll list my top three): What happens to Alistair Knight? How does Tamsin warn her family? Does she stop the Knight family from rising to power once again??? Now I know what you're thinking “I was thinking those same things too!” and now you're thinking “I want answers, now!”. Those same thoughts were going through my mind while I was reading, and lucky for all of us they get answered. All one hundred and fifty nine of them.

    In this installment, Tamsin has to travel to the past to a time before the Domani was created to warn her family about the Knights and that this time the Domani won't work. I instantly was intrigued because of the fact that Tamsin had to travel back to Victorian, New York City where we got present day insights on the past. I found that really, really cool. Well, not only that...the other thing that made this installment stand apart from Once A Witch was the way that MacCullough made her olden day New York so believable. I could easily imagine the outfits that the characters wore. I could imagine the settings genuinely and better yet, I found the old Victorian characters more memorable than the present day ones that we met in Once A Witch (That isn't a bad thing). Mainly because we got to get an insight into the Greene family's enemies, the Knights.

    We got to see La Spider and see just how vicious and terrible she was, so willing to help increase her Talents no matter what the cost was. We got to see the sort-of-hunky-but-only-if-he-weren't-such-a-creeper Liam Knight whose Talent of slipping into other peoples bodies I found disturbing, what I found even more disturbing was the way he found his victims whose blood he would end up drinking. But despite meeting the frightening Knight family, the servants that they had control over were very interesting, like Rosie and Cook who ended up being very realistic characters who both remained in the Knight household for reasons unknown until later in the novel.

    I remember myself gasping whenever a major point in the plot was revealed where I would end up stating what I thought might happen next (I won't say what). It had a spectacular ending though, one that I found very memorable and because I nearly cried. If you don't believe that Tamsin Greene is a strong and powerful character even after reading Once A Witch just wait until you read Always A Witch where you'll finally see just how strong she really is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    I wonder

    I wonder if this is a good book i hope so.... so im just puttijg five stars cause that is how i think this book will be... i love magic books

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Beautiful Story!!!

    WOW, just wow! This is a wonderful read! I received a copy of this novel from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, via Netgalley, and though excited, was afraid that I would be a tad bit lost as I hadn't yet read the prequel, Once a Witch. Luckily, this is not the case at all. Always a Witch is more than capable of standing on its own, and while reading the prequel always helps, I found that Always a Witch gives the reader all the background knowledge he/she needs to understand the sequel fully. Now, of course some tidbits of information from the first novel were touched upon, giving away some small portions of Once a Witch, so if you don't want any spoilers, I highly suggest reading the books in order. But, if you're like me and occasionally read books out of order, then rest assured that reading Always a Witch first won't ruin Once a Witch.

    MacCullough is a truly gifted writer, creating a beautiful tale of selflessness in which Tamsin must choose to do the right thing. With the many twists and turns within the novel, I was pleasantly surprised and enamored as I read, making it impossible to put the book aside until I finished it all, in one sitting. That being said, I'm dying to get my hands on Once a Witch! I am in love with both Tamsin and Gabriel and cannot get enough of them-and it is my understanding that Gabriel takes up a good chunk of Once a Witch, while he shows up a lot less in Always a Witch. They are such a great match, and Gabriel makes me swoon a bit, so it only makes sense that I backtrack and read the original book that starts it all. I am excited to get the background to their story, and find out more about Tamsin's family and their Talents as it's such an intriguing tale. I highly recommend this book! Five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    I could not put it down. I can not wait to see if there is another book! Better then the first Once a Witch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2