Customer Reviews for

Always on My Mind (Lucky Harbor Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Must read!

    ABOUT THE BOOK:

    THERE'S NOTHING LIKE THE REAL THING
    After dropping out of pastry school and messing up her big break on a reality cooking show, Leah Sullivan needs to accomplish something in her life. But when she returns home to Lucky Harbor, she finds herself distracted by her best friend, Jack Harper. In an effort to cheer up Jack's ailing mother, Dee, Leah tells a little fib - that she and Jack are more than just friends. Soon pretending to be hot-and-heavy with this hunky firefighter feels too real to handle . . .

    No-strings attachments suit Jack just fine - perfect for keeping the risk of heartbreak away. But as Jack and Leah break every one of their "just friends" rules, he longs to turn their pretend relationship into something permanent. Do best friends know too much about each other to risk falling in love? Or will Jack and Leah discover something new about each other in a little town called Lucky Harbor?

    MY REVIEW:

    I read both this book, and Seeing Red back to back because I couldn’t seem to get enough. And sure enough, my TBR pile grew because I just had to go out and get the backlist for Jill Shalvis and start reading all of her previous novels. I must say I have officially turned into a fan and am in love with this series.

    What a great story told here. I love the whole childhood friend love story and this one fits to the par just right. The way she also works in the animals into these stories is also a very cute touch. The romance didn’t seem over the top and the chemistry between these two was palpable.

    I loved the bit of suspense Ms. Shalvis added in here. The entire story was gripping, hot, and more than steamy enough to leave me wanting more. I recommend not only this book, but the entire series to read!

    Five out of five stars.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Always love Jill Shalvis!  This book was wonderful...my only cri

    Always love Jill Shalvis!  This book was wonderful...my only criticism was the name of the DOG.  Kevin...really?  For the first few pages I kept wondering WHO Kevin was until I realized it was the DOG!!

    Falling in love young and then thinking you're not 'good enough' for the man of your dreams...breaking his heart...then coming back after a perceived failure...well...it's just too good to be true.  

    Ms. Shalvis made the whole thing believable and H.O.T.!  Love the Lucky Harbor Series...and can't wait for the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    ¿Always on My Mind¿, is my new favorite romance. The romance bet

    “Always on My Mind”, is my new favorite romance. The romance between Joe and Leah is funny and engaging, even while there is a thread of anxiety that exists between the two. The story follows Joe and Leah as they struggle to overcome the complex events of both Joe’s and Leah’s youth, and the fight to maintain their friendship in the face of the biggest adventure of their lives.
    Joe is a sexy fireman with a reputation for loving and leaving. He resists all real relationships and makes sure that relationships that he does have are short term. He is clever, funny, and has very large soft heart. Joe’s squishy side enabled him to befriend Kevin. Kevin is an overgrown eating and sleeping machine that is able to chew completely through fire hoses.
    Leah suffers from insecurities and is hiding some pretty big feelings or her own. She is smart, funny, and has a shoe collection any women would die for. As she works her way through the emotional highs and low, she realizes that some times what you need is right where you left it.
    Lisa Kleypas’s writing draws me in, and holds me captive. I can wait for the next installment!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2015

    Jill Shalvis is one of the funniest authors, she is my go-to whe

    Jill Shalvis is one of the funniest authors, she is my go-to when I need a smile or a laugh. This book did not disappoint. It is the story of Leah, a baker who grew up in Lucky Harbor but left and Jack, a firefighter who is following in his father's foot steps. They have been best friends forever but are now pretending to have a relationship to make Jack's mom happy. But the question is can pretend become real. You must read to find out. This book is full of laughs, a few tears and a lot of love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    I loved Leah. She was so strong willed but yet so fragile. And

    I loved Leah. She was so strong willed but yet so fragile. And Jack! Can you say HOT fireman! This story starts off when Leah comes back to Lucky Harbor after trying to win a cooking competition but she can't tell anyone the results yet. Leah stops in to see Dee, Jack's mom who is battling cancer and ends up telling Dee a little lie that Leah and Jack are a little more than just friends. In their attempt to please Dee because she is suddenly happier than she has been in a long time, they keep playing pretend. Well soon those feelings turn into more than just pretend!

    Loved the humor in this story. The dog Kevin...too funny!

    Great story with a great happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2014

    Always on My Mind

    I absolutely love this series!! These books are so fun and enjoyable you can read them over and over again and never get bored. Jill Shalvis is a genius!
    Ali, Leah, and Aubrey's books in this series are some of my favorites.
    I always love the bff turn romantic relationship plot, especially when you add that it's a fake relationship. Lucille and her posse are at it again and full of mischief like usual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2014

    Another winner!

    This book had some hot chemistry and a good suspense. Leah was such a nice person, but a little misguided. Jack hid his feelings. Leah tells a lie to make Jack's mom feel better and what happens after is interesting to watch. The mystery arsonist was not a huge surprise, but it made you realize that this really does happen. Jack finally let Leah know how he felt and she had to let down her guard and finally let someone in. This was another really good book in the series. I loved seeing the residents of Lucky Harbor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2014

    Ok I just read this whole series well up till the last one out a

    Ok I just read this whole series well up till the last one out and can't wait till the next one comes out! This Town sounds like a great place to be! I want to go visit lol Started with this one Loved it went back and made sure I had them all . Waiting for the next . I would recommend this series ! Love Laughs and yes some heat :D Thank you for this fun series !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Alyssa

    Walks in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Hmmmm

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Hott Synopsis: Leah and Jack have been best friends for years. H

    Hott Synopsis:
    Leah and Jack have been best friends for years. He’s the reason she managed to survive school and graduate. Now, though she’s been through four colleges in four years and is still without a degree. She’s had a disastrous experience with a reality show. Now she’s returning to her Grandmother’s Lucky Harbor home to help with her bakery until Grandma recovers from her recent knee surgery.
    Jack has been longing for Leah since she deserted him just after she graduated. He’s never told her or anyone else exactly how much she means to him. So, when she tells his mother that they’re dating to relieve his mothers guilt Jack has no idea hw to react – should he give into what Ed always wanted or keep pretending they’re just friends so he doesn’t get hurt?

    Hott Review:
    What I liked: I loved the characters. Their personalities were wonderful and I loved the angst of Jack and Leah pretending to pretend that they loved each other – too cute!
    What I didn’t like: There was too much steam for me. Also, I kept getting periphial characters confused – there were quite a few.

    More…
    Author: Jill Shalvis
    Source: Grand Central Publishing via Netgalley
    Grade: B+
    Steam: Scorcher
    Setting: Lucky Harbor, Washington
    Series: Lucky Harbor #8

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Leah has been running for so long that it's a surprise when she

    Leah has been running for so long that it's a surprise when she is back in Lucky Harbor due to her grandmother needing her help.  Leah has always had a thing for Jack Harper but will he realize he loves her too?  I love watching Leah grow and accept the fact that her father isn't there anymore to brow beat her with how much a failure she is, or how he created a anxiety ridden woman.




    Jack Harper is taking care of his mother Dee as she recovers from Cancer, Jack is also drowning in his work and he notices Leah is around but doesn't want to get his heart broken again like that last time.  When Leah tells Dee that Jack and Leah are a couple how far will the fake couple go to make it look real?  And when does the fantasy turn into reality?




    This book was great full of so much reading about firefighters and the investigation into an arson and find out who it was.  Also reading about Leah and the reality food show she was on and how that ended.  It was a fabulous story which makes me glad to go back to Lucky Harbor over and over again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karen Pirnot for Readers' Favorite Always on My Min

    Reviewed by Karen Pirnot for Readers' Favorite

    Always on My Mind is the eighth book in the Lucky Harbor series by Jill Shalvis. This novel features Leah Sullivan, who has just appeared on a reality baking show. She has returned to Lucky Harbor to help out her grandmother who has been taken ill and is unable to run her bakery. Leah meets up with her high school friend Jack and instantly she has flashbacks of the old relationship she abandoned to pursue a career in the culinary arts. But then, on impulse, she tells Jack's mother that she and Jack have renewed the relationship. Leah hopes the false news will have a positive impact on Jack's mother, who is in a serious battle with cancer and chemotherapy. But, it is a fake romance and Jack is furious! As a firefighter, he is handling issues of his own and he appears to be headed for danger while mimicking the actions of his deceased hero/father who died in the line of duty. When Leah's false statement then becomes oh-too-real, the fireworks begin and Shalvis' story line takes off like a rocket.

    As young adults, Leah and Jack are totally believable characters who debate issues of loyalty, love, and personal growth. Leah comes off as an indecisive woman who wants to protect herself from further hurt at all costs. Jack reaches the hearts of readers as he struggles with his love for Leah and his loyalty to his profession. The Lucky Harbor townsfolk are forever a delight and the steamy sex will have readers trying to control their rapid heartbeats! Always on My Mind is another Jill Shalvis home run in the world of modern romance literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Cute story

    Another great one, love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    4 STARS I enjoy Jill Shalvis Lucky Harbor series. At least the

    4 STARS

    I enjoy Jill Shalvis Lucky Harbor series. At least the few I have read. It is full of characters that have so much personalities, flaws, good points and history with each other. They have humor, drama, Too much sex, and even a mystery. Though I did guess early on in the book is the guilty party is and why.

    Leah Sullivan came back to town to help her Grandmother while she was recovering from surgery. While she was there back in Lucky Harbor the reality show she was part of is now airing. She can't tell anyone how far she went. Leah was concerned about how Jack's mother was coping with her cancer that she told her that Jack was seriously dating her.

    Jack is a firefighter. He tries to take care of everyone. He had always been their for Leah in her teen years. He is worried about his mom. Ends up setting up a pretend relationship with Leah. He has all these rules.

    The whole town of Lucky Harbor are watching and posting on facebook how their romance is going. Also on facebook a pole of who will end up with Leah.

    Kevin is Jack's dog and has his own personality.

    This is book #8 in Lucky Harbor, Washington.

    I really enjoy this community of characters and their relationships with each other. The only thing I would change is all the love scenes that I skipped over. Some parts of the story had me smiling still. I would read more Lucky Harbor books in the future.

    I was given this ebook to review and in exchange agreed to give honest review of it by Netgalley.

    Forever (Grand Central Publishing) Published September 24th 2013 352 pages ISBN:455521108

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2013

    SUPERB, THE ENTIRE SERIES !!!!!!!  LUCKY HARBOR I started with t

    SUPERB, THE ENTIRE SERIES !!!!!!!  LUCKY HARBOR
    I started with the first book in this magnificent series and became addicted immediately.
    Every one of these stories made me laugh uncontrollably with the endless wit and humor and
    Cry because Jill's words were about life, love, and insecurities we have all felt at one time or another.
    How can anyone reading any of these stories not help but fall in love with the most wonderful
    cast of amazing character's who simply warm your heart and soul. For me, Jill's writing  conjures up
     one's vivid imagination suddenly transporting us to "Lucky Harbor", living among it's loving
    and accentric inhabitants and giving us a glimpse into their complicated everyday lives and emotions.
     It's so hard to pick out a favorite, but I have two. "Simply Irresistitable", which started the series,
     and "Always on My Mind".  The men are "hot", "sexy," and sometimes brooding. The women are real,
    strong, funny and fighters giving these alpha males a good run for the money. Jack is a firefighter
     and Leah is a pastry chef. Their friendship started in their youth. Leah was all Jack ever wanted but she
    ran away and broke his heart. Now she's back in Lucky Harbor and trying to protect her heart at all
    Costs . What starts out as a little "white lie" to Jack's mother soon becomes the catalyst in one very 
    Hot and romantic relationship renewing old feelings that neither wants to face while fighting their inner
     most demons. This superb story is simply the best!!!!!!!!!
    And one you will remember long after you finish Reading it.   Suzzie 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2013

    Wonderful! I love this series!!! I fell in love with Leah earlie

    Wonderful! I love this series!!! I fell in love with Leah earlier in the series, and who wouldn't love Jack?!?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2013

    Another Lucky Harbor Hit!  Love the Lucky Harbor series and this

    Another Lucky Harbor Hit!  Love the Lucky Harbor series and this was no exception!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What is it about firefighters that make them such iconic alpha h

    What is it about firefighters that make them such iconic alpha heroes? Could it be because they risk their lives to protect ours? The fact that they have to be pretty strong and in shape to do the work they do? The knowledge that they have to be extremely wise to know what risks can be taken? Hmmm, probably a little of all of the above, plus all those popular charity calendar images certainly spur the imagination too. 
    In her eighth book of the Lucky Harbor series, Always on My Mind, author Jill Shalvis gives us the story of Jack, a firefighter hero we could all fall in love with. What could be better? Well the love recipe is stirred up by adding in the sweetest heroine, Leah, Lucky Harbor's amazingly compassionate baker.
    Sweet Leah, in order to set firefighter Jack's mother's mind at ease as she goes through cancer treatment tell her that their relationship is now more than just friendship. Well, with that statement, player Jack loses his many friends with benefit hookups and perhaps Leah and Jack's friendship might move on from platonic to…extraordinary heat. Along the way, Leah deals with her return to Lucky Harbor from her stint on a Top Chef-like reality contest and Jack deals with moving on to a possible serious relationship.
    Yes, you can see where this story might go, but it's far from a formulaic read as with each of these Jill Shalvis Lucky Harbor novels, Shalvis infuses the characters with real feeling. Each of her heroes and heroines have issues that they have to overcome and while the novels could be standalone, I highly recommend reading the entire series if you haven't already. It should be on your must-read shelf.
    I fell in love with Lucky Harbor from the first page of Simply Irresistible (book 1 on sale for $2.99) when I first read it a few years ago. Since then I've laughed and cried with the stories of the really fabulous characters Shalvis has created and feel a sense of kinship with them.
    I highly recommend Always on My Mind and am looking forward to new Lucky Harbor stories from Shalvis, including "Dream a Little Dream" in A Christmas to Remember collection (about firefighter Ian and salon favorite Melissa).
    I received and eARC from the publisher through NetGalley for use in this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2013

    As always I really enjoy reading about Lucky Harbor residents. T

    As always I really enjoy reading about Lucky Harbor residents. This was a great story about Jack and Leah, two best friends since childhood, and how their fears about love have kept them apart all these years. My only complaint is that I would like to see a bit more of the past characters in the book. Most characters could appear briefly while more closely related characters could have more interaction. Ali had a small part which was nice but Luke who is Jack's best friend didn't. I say this about the other residents because without that interaction it doesn't feel much like a series or about Lucky Harbor. It feels more about a romance that could take place anywhere. For this reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6