Customer Reviews for

Always on My Mind (Lucky Harbor Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Always love Jill Shalvis!  This book was wonderful...my only cri

    Always love Jill Shalvis!  This book was wonderful...my only criticism was the name of the DOG.  Kevin...really?  For the first few pages I kept wondering WHO Kevin was until I realized it was the DOG!!

    Falling in love young and then thinking you're not 'good enough' for the man of your dreams...breaking his heart...then coming back after a perceived failure...well...it's just too good to be true.  

    Ms. Shalvis made the whole thing believable and H.O.T.!  Love the Lucky Harbor Series...and can't wait for the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Hott Synopsis: Leah and Jack have been best friends for years. H

    Hott Synopsis:
    Leah and Jack have been best friends for years. He’s the reason she managed to survive school and graduate. Now, though she’s been through four colleges in four years and is still without a degree. She’s had a disastrous experience with a reality show. Now she’s returning to her Grandmother’s Lucky Harbor home to help with her bakery until Grandma recovers from her recent knee surgery.
    Jack has been longing for Leah since she deserted him just after she graduated. He’s never told her or anyone else exactly how much she means to him. So, when she tells his mother that they’re dating to relieve his mothers guilt Jack has no idea hw to react – should he give into what Ed always wanted or keep pretending they’re just friends so he doesn’t get hurt?

    Hott Review:
    What I liked: I loved the characters. Their personalities were wonderful and I loved the angst of Jack and Leah pretending to pretend that they loved each other – too cute!
    What I didn’t like: There was too much steam for me. Also, I kept getting periphial characters confused – there were quite a few.

    More…
    Author: Jill Shalvis
    Source: Grand Central Publishing via Netgalley
    Grade: B+
    Steam: Scorcher
    Setting: Lucky Harbor, Washington
    Series: Lucky Harbor #8

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    4 STARS I enjoy Jill Shalvis Lucky Harbor series. At least the

    4 STARS

    I enjoy Jill Shalvis Lucky Harbor series. At least the few I have read. It is full of characters that have so much personalities, flaws, good points and history with each other. They have humor, drama, Too much sex, and even a mystery. Though I did guess early on in the book is the guilty party is and why.

    Leah Sullivan came back to town to help her Grandmother while she was recovering from surgery. While she was there back in Lucky Harbor the reality show she was part of is now airing. She can't tell anyone how far she went. Leah was concerned about how Jack's mother was coping with her cancer that she told her that Jack was seriously dating her.

    Jack is a firefighter. He tries to take care of everyone. He had always been their for Leah in her teen years. He is worried about his mom. Ends up setting up a pretend relationship with Leah. He has all these rules.

    The whole town of Lucky Harbor are watching and posting on facebook how their romance is going. Also on facebook a pole of who will end up with Leah.

    Kevin is Jack's dog and has his own personality.

    This is book #8 in Lucky Harbor, Washington.

    I really enjoy this community of characters and their relationships with each other. The only thing I would change is all the love scenes that I skipped over. Some parts of the story had me smiling still. I would read more Lucky Harbor books in the future.

    I was given this ebook to review and in exchange agreed to give honest review of it by Netgalley.

    Forever (Grand Central Publishing) Published September 24th 2013 352 pages ISBN:455521108

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2013

    As always I really enjoy reading about Lucky Harbor residents. T

    As always I really enjoy reading about Lucky Harbor residents. This was a great story about Jack and Leah, two best friends since childhood, and how their fears about love have kept them apart all these years. My only complaint is that I would like to see a bit more of the past characters in the book. Most characters could appear briefly while more closely related characters could have more interaction. Ali had a small part which was nice but Luke who is Jack's best friend didn't. I say this about the other residents because without that interaction it doesn't feel much like a series or about Lucky Harbor. It feels more about a romance that could take place anywhere. For this reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    This was the first book that I have read in the Lucky Harbor ser

    This was the first book that I have read in the Lucky Harbor series, but I found it to be great book. Jack and Leah, have been friends since they were children, and neither one of them want to do anything to change that friendship. Leah, has some issues with her past, because her father did not seem to think she could do anything right, and she lets that eat at her. Jack, is a hunky firefighter, that also has the patience of Job, and he definitely needs it with Leah. Loved the way these two finally got it together, and I absolutely adored Leah's grandma and Jack's mom. I will be reading more of the books in this series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Loved it

    She is a great author i read all her books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    I never tire of the Lucky Harbor series by Jill Shalvis. Really.

    I never tire of the Lucky Harbor series by Jill Shalvis. Really. Enough time passes between each one that when I pick up the latest one to read I can sigh, settle in and just enjoy the laughter and emotions that I will be experiencing throughout the book. Always On My Mind by Jill Shalvis is just as entertaining as the others. When you go back to Lucky Harbor your favorite characters (ahem, Sheriff Sawyer Thompson) always seem to pop in at some time or another so you feel like you are going back home (sort of like Leah).

    Always On My Mind is the story of Leah, the pastry chef, and Jack the firefighter. They grew up together and have always been best friends. When Leah lies to Jack's mom and says they are dating to make her happy, things get a little crazy. After all, everyone but Jack and Leah realize they aren't really pretending. Jack and Leah are relatively serious people so the typical banter that we see in Jill's books comes from the secondary characters trying to knock some sense into the two of them more than between the hero and heroine. They speak another language. Several times without any words at all. In addition to the wonderfully developed characters, Kevin the dog was quite a fun addition to the story.

    The romance between Leah and Jack was interesting and not like other stories in Lucky Harbor. There were a few times that I was confused by Jack and Leah's relationship, trying to figure out what they were doing but I think that was intentional since Jack and Leah were pretty confused most of the time, too. Of course, the older generation of Lucky Harbor has a way of meddling in the younger generation's lives which is not only humorous but very much needed. There are always lessons to be learned!

    Jill always does a nice job of moving the story along well and Always On My Mind includes some mystery and suspense in it with Jack trying to find out who is starting all the fires around town. I really enjoyed this aspect of the story and hope that happens in future books. Jill Shalvis is a must-read author if you like contemporary romance. Always On My Mind can be read as a stand alone or in order with the rest of the series so I highly recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    4.5* You can always count on Jill Shalvis to write a wonderful b

    4.5*
    You can always count on Jill Shalvis to write a wonderful book and she's done it again! I patiently await for her books, well maybe not patiently but I do try. Jack and Leah are such great characters. They've known each other since childhood and have always been there for each other. They also have loved each other for many years. Jack thought if he kept Leah as his friend he would never lose her and Leah didn't think she was worthy of his love and she would fail as she has so many times in the past. Everything changes the day she lied to his mother about their relationship. 
    I love this series. I love Lucky Harbor. One of the best things about this series is how the towns people are always around and past H/h are in the continuing stories. Not only do we get to find out who might be next to get their HEA but we get a look at the past H/h and what's going on with them. I love that!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    I absolutely love Jill Shalvis. Her books always please. Lucky H

    I absolutely love Jill Shalvis. Her books always please. Lucky Harbor is a place you want to live and the people are so kind and helpful. In that sense, I loved the book. It was charming and witty along with being super sexy.Jack and Leah make you fall in love with them instantly and have you rooting for their happy ending. The only reason I gave Always on my Mind 4 stars and not the 5 it could deserve is because I feel like I've read this story before. I am a huge Jill Shalvis fan and have read several of her other stories. The last book of hers I read was Seeing Red (good story too) and the storyline between it and Always on my Mind was way too identical. Would have liked more creativity and seperate plot lines. Still if you like romance and witty charm, read Always on my Mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    Leah and Jack are the couple in this story. They lived next to

    Leah and Jack are the couple in this story. They lived next to each other growing up and were best friends. Leah had a very harsh childhood due to a cold, demanding father who demanded perfection from her and always told her that she was a failure who would never amount to anything. Jack's dad was a firefighter who died a hero in the line of duty, leaving his mom emotionally devastated for years. Leah had left town after her senior prom and almost taking her relationship with Jack to a sexual level. She returns to Lucky Harbor to run her grandmother's bakery while she is recovering from surgery. She avoids questions about the outcome of a popular reality baking show in which she was a contestant. The final episodes haven't been aired, but we know something went wrong because Leah, who was the leading contender who everybody expects to win, wants to leave town before the final episode airs. Her legacy from her father is that she is insecure, full of self-doubt, always afraid of failing, and runs away from situations before she fails yet again. She and Jack resume their friendship when she returns, but never mention the incident on the night of her prom. Jack has issues of his own. He is very worried about his mom, Dee, who has cancer and is going through chemo. She won't eat properly and seems to have given up. Jack, who is HOT, has casual, meaningless "relationships" with one woman after another but refuses to get seriously involved with anyone. He is now a firefighter, too, because he feels obligated to carry on his dad's legacy and live up to the town's expectations, but he is not happy in the job and feels restless. We realize right away that both Leah and Jack have deeper feelings for each other, but neither of them will acknowledge them. Leah, also worried about Jack's mother, impulsively tells Dee that she and Jack are more than friends because she is trying to lift Dee's spirits. Dee is worried about Jack because he is just drifting and doesn't have anyone real in his life. Jack is not happy when he finds out what Leah's done (especially since the news quickly spreads through the town), but agrees to go along with the charade as long as Leah follows certain rules that he lays down. Then the fun really begins! The whole town avidly follows the progress of the pretend romance, everyone is watching the cooking show and bugging Leah about the outcome while also telling her they're sure she won, Jack knows something is wrong but can't get Leah to open up to him, and Jack and Leah are furiously trying to ignore their deepening feelings, first from themselves, then from each other. In the meantime, Jack is trying to solve the mystery of a series of suspicious fires. Leah and Jack eventually find their HEA, but only after a rocky road. At times I got a bit annoyed with Leah for being so fearful, although I definitely understood the baggage she was still wrestling with. The story is also infused with humor; Jack's dog Kevin is a riot. I am now looking forward to Ben's story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Sam

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    LOVED IT! Always on my Mind was a great book.  I loved that Jac

    LOVED IT!

    Always on my Mind was a great book.  I loved that Jack and Leah were best friends.  Jack was always so good to Leah growing up and always protected her.  They grew apart a little bit when Leah moved away but still remained friends.  

    Jack's mom has breast cancer and seems very down and not her usual happy self.  Since Leah knows how much Jack loves his mom, she decides to lie and tell her she and Jack are dating.  This makes his mom really happy, Jack not so much.  Jack decides to play along since he sees how happy it makes his mom.  I think the funniest part of the book is when Jack finds out about the lie and Leah keeps avoiding him.  When they finally decided to play along with the lie things get steamy!!!!  They both really want to be together but are both afraid to admit it.  

    I love all of Jill's books but this one really is one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Back in Lucky Harbor after being a favorite on a reality cooking

    Back in Lucky Harbor after being a favorite on a reality cooking show currently showing on TV, Leah Sullivan is having a hard time sticking to her contract and not answering the constant curious question whether she was the winner or not. She came back after all these years to help keep her grandmother's bakery going while she is recuperating from knee surgery. It feels good to be back, without her parent's pressure, but just being around her grandmother and her friends. Especially her best friend Jack, who has always had a special place in her heart.




    Jack Harper set out to follow in his father's footsteps years ago, working as a firefighter. As of late, he has had his doubts as to whether that is truly his calling, especially since his knee doesn't seem too eager to cooperate anymore. He also worries about his mom, who really hasn't been the same since his father died on the job and now has to deal with treatment for her cancer. The one thing that has cheered him up is the return of Leah, she helps him out with his mom when she can, and always has had the ability to make his day brighter.




    When Leah inadvertently allows Jack's mom to believe she and Jack are romantically involved, because it seemed to make her feel happy, she makes life in Lucky Harbor complicated for herself and Jack. The town gossip takes no time at all using Facebook to spread the word around town that the pretty baker and the hot firefighter are both off the market. Jack, who doesn't believe in long-term or permanent relationships, dates often and frequent and finds himself immediately cut off from all his regular go-to dates. He is not a happy camper.




    Feelings that had been buried for years, spark to life, and before you know it Jack and Leah have a hard time keeping their hands to themselves . Both weary of losing their friendship, they agree to sustain a pretend relationship for the sake of Jack's mother, with sexual benefits, but also a whole list of rules and regulations that are supposed to ensure that there will be no feelings and no expectations. 




    Rules are meant to be broken, and both of them keep doing that, or at least changing them. Pretending is difficult and things are starting to feel too real. Leah is always afraid to show too much of herself and disappoint, but she can't stop herself from feeling. And Jack keeps telling himself that he doesn't want the strings, because having his heart broken once was enough. But in the end Leah was never able to hide anything from Jack anyway and Jack already had something permanent with the person who held his heart.




    *****




    Another fantastic Lucky Harbor novel by Jill Shalvis!!




    Leah has no faith in herself whatsoever. She grew up being told she could never amount to anything, so every time she is about to finish something, or do something positive, she finds a way to sabotage herself, just to give credence to the low expectations put on her in childhood and adolescence. She has never yet broken that cycle, but is very good at hiding the pattern. Only perhaps her grandmother and for sure Jack, can see the corners she paints herself into. The importance here is for Leah to break through the pattern herself, which she ultimately does, by making choices based on her own needs and not on someone else's expectations.




    Jack has spent his life trying to fill his father's shoes. By dying a hero's death in the line of duty, his father set a bar that is virtually impossible to meet. His mother's devastation and subsequent decline after his father's death, sealed Jack's conviction that a long term relationship would not be a healthy choice for him. He also based his life on the experiences of others and not on his own needs or wants. When his body starts letting him down, and he is forced into the pretend relationship with Leah, he starts looking at other options. And when an arsonist makes the rounds in Lucky Harbor and Jack involves himself in the investigation, he finally finds where his heart truly lies.




    Loved the storyline and the dynamic between Leah and Jack. Their sexual chemistry creates some heat! Perhaps because there is something a tad illicit about best friends crossing that invisible line, but whatever it is, it works extremely well for these two!! Muy caliente!




    ¿Stand back from the fireworks, when friends become lovers!¿




    **ARC courtesy of NetGalley and Grand Central Publishing in return for an honest review.**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Jill Shalvis brought together in-depth characters, incredible di

    Jill Shalvis brought together in-depth characters, incredible dialogue and mixed it with suspenseful undertones in this astoundingly well-written contemporary romance.

    I have been looking forward to reading Jack Harper’s story ever since he was first introduced in It Had to Be You . He is absolutely adorable – in that sexy…rip his uniform off kind of way. However, it is his internal monologue that makes him truly sexy --
    “Thinking about how she’d looked in the throes of her sex dream made him hard all over again. He’d told her she’d been moaning and hot and sweaty. What he hadn’t told her was that she’d whispered a name. His.”
    The author selected the prefect combination of characteristics for his heroine, Leah Sullivan. Both are haunted by the legacies of their fathers. It makes their journey for a HEA challenging, yet worth every struggle.

    Lucky Harbor is filled with remarkable secondary characters including Jack’s cousin, Ben, whose story is coming next in… Once in a Lifetime . 

    Disclosure: This ebook was provided to BBMoreB free of charge for the sole purpose of an honest review. All thoughts, comments, and ratings are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2