Customer Reviews for

Always the Bridesmaid

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

You fall in love with Cate right away b/c she's either you or someone you know. I love that she's in her mid-20's and still knows how to go out and have fun, drink all night and not have a care in the world. There is such a stigma now a days that once you it mid-20's ...
You fall in love with Cate right away b/c she's either you or someone you know. I love that she's in her mid-20's and still knows how to go out and have fun, drink all night and not have a care in the world. There is such a stigma now a days that once you it mid-20's you must be a homebody and try and find that special person. I love how natural Ethan was he sounds like the perfect guy.

posted by Anonymous on July 10, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not one of my faves

I had a really hard time liking this book. I did read 'Here comes the Bride' by her, and thought it was great, but this was so disappointing to me. Stopped before I finished, because I was just done!

posted by Anonymous on July 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    Not one of my faves

    I had a really hard time liking this book. I did read 'Here comes the Bride' by her, and thought it was great, but this was so disappointing to me. Stopped before I finished, because I was just done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    You fall in love with Cate right away b/c she's either you or someone you know. I love that she's in her mid-20's and still knows how to go out and have fun, drink all night and not have a care in the world. There is such a stigma now a days that once you it mid-20's you must be a homebody and try and find that special person. I love how natural Ethan was he sounds like the perfect guy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It just took tooooo long for Cate to realize how she was being t

    It just took tooooo long for Cate to realize how she was being treated by her boyfriend and I felt like she used Ethan. I would have stopped reading the book half way through but I just need to know how it ended. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Humorous look at the Trials and Tribulations of being a Bridesmaid

    This is my first novel by Whitney Lyles and I am so glad that I picked it up! When I saw the title I immediatley thought of the movie 27 dresses. With the protagonist Cate, you are surely to like her, have some part of her in you, and able to relate to her in one way or another. Readers cheer for Ethan, the right man, and boo for Paul who seems to have no brain in his head. Readers alike will LOVE this witty, charming, and funny book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Terrible.

    Every character in this book falls into a cliche and are so underdeveloped it's almost painful to read. It starts off promising but then every chapter is just a repeat of the last.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    Loved It

    I borrowed this book from the public library and fell in love with it. I just had to go back and get all of her books. She is an awesome author and I am so buying all of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    27 Dresses put to print

    I absolutely adored this book. Cate is the protagonist every woman can relate to. Everything that happens to her has happened to any woman, from bad set ups, to troubled work-a-holic boyfriends and bad bridesmaid dresses. She tells us how it is and teaches us that prince charming is somewhere a lot closer than we think he is. I laughed along with the outrageous events Cate endures through and could sympathize with being the 'single girl'. Her disection of wedding guests to spening $400 on a ugly blue pants suit, Cate was my kind of heroine, down to earth and looking for her happy ending, a must read for anyone who loved the mopvie 27 dresses

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2007

    once a bridemaid

    Love it! Love it! Great romantic comedy book. I wouldn't be surprise if it comes out in a hollywood movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    What a great book!!!!

    This book was a great adventure through being a bridesmaid. I could totalloy relate since I have more friends getting married and always seem to be stuck with mr. no show. I liked the way the book was set up from wedding to wedding. I think that every twenty-something single girl should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    Cute and funny!

    I loved this book, I was laughing out loud through most of it. I would love to see it as a movie. The ending was predictable and a little too quickly thrown together, but it was still cute. It'd be nice to hear more about Cate in a follow-up! Great debut novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2005

    Loved It, Very Funny

    I got this book because I was in 2 weddings in 2 months and several other friends getting married soon. I could really relate to Cate. I laughed my way through all of her weddings. It was a great read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2005

    Predictable but cute and easy read

    i liked this book and felt connected with the main character, Cate, but the book was very predictable. aside from that, i liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2004

    Thats my life story

    I loved this book I related to it very well. I could not put it down I would recommed it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2004

    Typical Chick Lit !

    This book was okay, had alot of good parts but it was very predictible, but overall a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2004

    Excellent book.

    I think any woman can relate to this book. I had a hard time putting it down. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    Couldn't put it down!

    Definately a great and easy read that made me laugh out loud. I would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    Always the Bridesmaid

    I loved this book! I read a ton and rarely does a book come along that makes me want to read more about the characters long after I'm finished. Cate is the type of friend every girl wants. Lyles sheds so much light on modern day weddings. I immediately looked for others by Lyles, but this is her first novel. I hope there are more to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    Always the Bridesmaid

    This is the ultimate bridesmaid gift. I read a review that said it was the ultimate bridesmaid gift. So true. But also an excellent read for anyone who is looking for some fun. I think all women will appreciate the wedding mishaps Cate faces. I was also happy to see that the book illustrated how people get so caught up in their weddings that they forget what the whole event is really about. This could also be a gift for anyone going through the 'bridezilla' phase. There is a lot more to this book than just some crazy bridesmaid tales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    WOW

    This book is a great read, not only would it be a great bridesmaid gift but a great gift for a future bride. Cate Padgett is a wonderful and gracious person, she puts up with the most ridiculous scenarios to indulge in the 'happiest day of someone else's life. I can't give enough praise for this story, I enjoyed it greatly and hope that others will too. I never felt the urge to write a review until today. This book can be read easily, I read it in 3 days and it took that long only because I work and have 2 small children, it was just that cool. As a teenager of the eighties I enjoyed the flashbacks Cate has of her and Ethan, I felt the inner turmoil with the fear of being hurt, and the fear of destroying a good friendship. Read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2004

    Women of all ages should read this book.

    I really enjoyed this book. It was funny and oh so true. It was nice to have someone refrence things I remember from my teens. Very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2