Customer Reviews for

Amanda Ackers and The Deep Forest Elves

Average Rating 3.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended. A must read.

Wonderful story, well written, full of adventure, fun and exciting. I have to laugh at some of the low reviews. It's obvious that one talking about all the italics, did not read the appendix as they were instructed in the beginning of the book, for the explanation on wh...
Wonderful story, well written, full of adventure, fun and exciting. I have to laugh at some of the low reviews. It's obvious that one talking about all the italics, did not read the appendix as they were instructed in the beginning of the book, for the explanation on why there were so many. If they had, they'd know. Obviously they have no brain at all and can't even follow simple instructions. And the one giving a one star for "Any Romance?" made me laugh. The kids in the story are 13 and on an exciting adventure. If you want romance, pick up a cheat romance novel. Another obvious i d i o t. There will always be those who hate or are bullies, or simply can’t read. Should you find any one, two or three stars for this book, those are from people without a brain. Highly recommend this story, and by the way, our book club of thirty seven people loved it and gave it our highest rating. You will also find this book spotlighted on many book review websites, with, yes, five stars.

posted by Tami_Lee on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This story starts a little slow but it soon takes off. It is an

This story starts a little slow but it soon takes off. It is an interesting and pretty well written story about a 13 year old girl and her adventures. Having said that I do have an issue with the story line. I understand that fantasy stories have a big following, and t...
This story starts a little slow but it soon takes off. It is an interesting and pretty well written story about a 13 year old girl and her adventures. Having said that I do have an issue with the story line. I understand that fantasy stories have a big following, and they are not all children, but I would think that a story about the adventures of a child, would not include a whole chapter about the early 16th century catholic church, witch hunts, and graphic discripions of torture. If this chapter were not in this book it would be a perfectly fine book for a child to read who had previously enjoyed Harry Potter and was looking for another fun fantasy series. My grandaughter and I loved sharing the Harry Potter series and I am greatly disapointed, as I thought that this would be a new family favorite...I guess not.

posted by 4818160 on March 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Highly Recommended. A must read.

    Wonderful story, well written, full of adventure, fun and exciting. I have to laugh at some of the low reviews. It's obvious that one talking about all the italics, did not read the appendix as they were instructed in the beginning of the book, for the explanation on why there were so many. If they had, they'd know. Obviously they have no brain at all and can't even follow simple instructions. And the one giving a one star for "Any Romance?" made me laugh. The kids in the story are 13 and on an exciting adventure. If you want romance, pick up a cheat romance novel. Another obvious i d i o t. There will always be those who hate or are bullies, or simply can’t read. Should you find any one, two or three stars for this book, those are from people without a brain. Highly recommend this story, and by the way, our book club of thirty seven people loved it and gave it our highest rating. You will also find this book spotlighted on many book review websites, with, yes, five stars.

    30 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Well written in an interesting and unusual style.

    I like fantasy books and have read hundreds. This one is very good and written in an unusual style, the style of the High Elves. There is a plethora of italics throughout, used by the High Elves to emphasize where the original speaker, in this case, the original adventurers, had emphasized a word while speaking. This gives the reader a much better feeling for the actual mood or tone of the speaker. It took me some time to get used to it, but after a while, I thought it was great. If you like action mixed in with a wonderful story, I think you will love this book.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    Wonderful story, highly recommended.

    I love adventure and action stories, as well as, elves, dwarves, witches, wizards and other creatures. This book has them all and then some. Amanda finds a powerful artifact and puts it on, then, can’t get it off. She learns it is the most powerful object in all the universes, and since she now wears it, SHE becomes the most powerful creature of all. The thing is, the artifact was meant for someone evil. Amanda is anything but evil, and no one knows how the artifact will interact with her. She sets out on a quest to discover either how to get the artifact off, before it turns her evil, or, learns how to control the spirits trapped within the artifact, before all is lost. Wonderful book. Have recommended it to many friends.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    An amazing story, highly recommend.

    I agree with several of the others, this is a terrific story and I would recommend it to any who loves adventure, exotic lands filled with strange and wonderful creatures, and just a really good story.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Great story, highly recommend.

    I’m a fan of the Harry Potter series, and if the other books in the Amanda series are as good as this one, I’ve found myself a new best series! The chapter titled, Journey Into The Bank, where they ride the mine cart on a roller-coaster thrill ride, with the goblin Kim, had me smiling. Heck, I want to take a ride like that. The chapters on the dueling competitions using wands was great. I would highly recommend this series to anyone who loves elves, dwarves, witches, wizards and just good adventures and a fun read.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    This story starts a little slow but it soon takes off. It is an

    This story starts a little slow but it soon takes off. It is an interesting and pretty well written story about a 13 year old girl and her adventures. Having said that I do have an issue with the story line. I understand that fantasy stories have a big following, and they are not all children, but I would think that a story about the adventures of a child, would not include a whole chapter about the early 16th century catholic church, witch hunts, and graphic discripions of torture. If this chapter were not in this book it would be a perfectly fine book for a child to read who had previously enjoyed Harry Potter and was looking for another fun fantasy series. My grandaughter and I loved sharing the Harry Potter series and I am greatly disapointed, as I thought that this would be a new family favorite...I guess not.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Best story I've read in years.

    Well written and unusual. Love the characters and am totally hooked. Highly recommend to anyone.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Entertaining free book

    For the most part, i enjoyed this story. There are many entertaining parts and much adventure. The only qualms i have with this book would be that there was too much effort placed in many details and descriptions. Other than that, may i just say that i would certainly love to visit Cassandra's candy store!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    Terrific Story! If you liked the Harry Potter series, you'll LOVE this!

    I love a book that starts with action and one that is different. This book has both. The story is told as a transcript, compiled from the memories of the actual adventurers, surviving or demised, through the power of Wizitch, which is far more powerful than Magic. If you love elves, dwarves, goblins, witches, wizards, dragons and other creatures, and lots of adventure. I highly recommend this book, which is book one of the series. I never thought I would say this, but, I like this book as much as the Harry Potter books. If this is only the first book, I can’t wait for the others!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Messy

    Amatuerish. The authors use alot of excuses for bad writing. Emotion and emphasis are better conveyed with good writing than horrible formatting and editing. Lazy.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    TOO MANY ITALICS!!!!!

    I can't even read it because all the italics on the page. The purpose of italucs is to make an important word stand out, not every other word!

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    LOVED it!!!!!!!! Great story line, very well written, kept me go

    LOVED it!!!!!!!! Great story line, very well written, kept me going to the end and leaves me impatiently waiting for book 2!!!!!!! If you love fantasy, and all it includes, witches, elves, dragons, magic this is a must read! It took a little getting used to on the italics, but once I got used to it, it was like hearing the spoken story in the voice of the character. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE hurry with book 2!!!!!!!!!!! I WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Really good

    This started out a bit slow for me, however, once Amanda made it to the elves it picked up and i could not put this down. I can not wait for the next book in this series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    I agree!!!!!

    It is an awesome story - everyone is right!!!! Loved it loved it loved it

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Wonderful story, highly recommend.

    One of the best stories I've read in a very long time!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Great, exciting

    These novels are far superior than any I have read dealing with teens in sci-fi. Since Harry Potter & The Twilight novels I had become tired of all of the magic & vampire novels flooding the market. I read them when my funds were limited and choices were few. I just finished reading book two of this series as book #3 wont be out till sometime next year I down-loaded every thing that Glen & Sasha Gabriel have available on my nook. Much to my surprise they were all free. : ) I am 57 and retired. I read my first novel at age 12. I seldom watch T.V. So I read. Thank you Glen and Sasha for giving me these wonderful novels. My grandsons aged 3 & 4 always have me tell them stories about what book I am reading. I edit or tone down the violence and use thier names as main characters. Thank you sooo much for the many good times you have given us. To all of you out there trying to decide if these novels are worth your time. Read them. You wont be disappointed.
    Sanna7125

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Loved it!!!!!

    Except for the Christianity bashing, I loved it. I cant wait to find out what happens next.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    HORRIBLE! These people need to get their egos out of their, well

    HORRIBLE! These people need to get their egos out of their, well, never mind. They begin by making you think they have some great new writing style but really they just like italics. The plot is ridiculous, the characters are rediculous, and they ramble on, and on until you're bored to death. Plus they take a side swipe at Christianity. I'm not even a Christian and I thought it was inappropriate. Unles you're incredibly bored or amazingly stupid, skip this one.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Anonymous

    People this isnt a warrior roleplay area. This a place for rating thr book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    I have to agree with the other reviewers who pointed out that gr

    I have to agree with the other reviewers who pointed out that graphic descriptions of torture are inappropriate for what is supposed to be a childrens book. In addition, there is just enough truth sprinkled in the anti-Christian rant that stupid or uninformed people - or perhaps impressionable children - will actually believe what is written is true. It makes me wonder if the authors are wiccan or atheist and using the story to try to brainwash children.
    On the topic of italics, I did not find it overbearing, but it was distracting at times. I frequently found sentences that I would have read in a different way had the italics not been there. "Good," you may be thinking. That means the italics did their job, correct? Well, no, actually. I found too often that the emphasis was put on a word that did not make sense to me. The italics would jar me out of the story, and I would attempt to re-read the sentece to find the meaning intended...usually without success. As any beginner writer knows, when you destroy the reader's immersion, you've failed. If italics is the thing that these authors want to use to set their writing apart, go for it. However, that doesn't mean that the reader has to like it. You're rolling the dice with an unorthodox tactic, and you're as likely to get a bad reactionn from a reader as a good one. The second thing I have to comment on is the wordiness. I mean, a 244,000 word count is over the top crazy. It's like two books at once. Beyond just lacking word economy, there were entire sections that were simply a re-hash of what the reader already knew. This is a beginners mistake - if beginner writers even do it, which I'm not convinced they do. At first I had thought the length would be a positive thing. Without the space constraints of traditional publishing, the authors can bring a more fully developed story to the table. But in the end it turned out that some harsh editing was in order.
    Overall, I have to give this book three stars. Despite all the things I outlined above, the story was a good one. And we all know that story trumps all. It's a real shame that the authors didn't hire a professional editor to work this story over. It would be a real gem. Now it's a diamond in the rough. Well, rough, dirty and still in the ground, but for all that there's still sparkle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7