Customer Reviews for

Amarantine

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    They never let you down

    wonderful as always!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ENYA IS MY FAVORITE SOLO PERFORMER

    I love Enya's music, and I have 5 of her CDs. This is my most recent purchase and while it is not my favorite of the five I have, I still enjoy listening to it very much. The title song best represents the
    music I enjoy most from Enya, but I enjoy everything on this CD, and
    I can say that of all of her CDs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must-listen

    Enya rules! I just love her soothing music and her hauntingly beautiful voice. I like this CD and it has been five years sicne she came out with that song,"Only Time".I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amarantine

    When I examine all of the other reviews of Enya's newest CD, a common theme emerges: it truly is WONDERFUL to have Enya back, but this CD falls just a little short. That was also my opinion upon first hearing it and, with some exceptions, remains my opinion after the tenth listen. However, I do very much appreciate more of the songs now. Even the songs that fall short possess moments of magic, but it that quality of "almost there" that makes them a tad disappointing. There was potential in many of the songs that was never quite reached. Still, it's like looking at one of Michelangelo's lesser masterpieces. It's still a Michelangelo! (Before I continue my review of "Amarantine", Enya fans who wish she made a full length Christmas CD will instantly fall in love with "Celtic Christmas Spirit" by the undiscovered talent of Caroline Peyton. Her layered vocals and the gorgeous production make you think you really are listening to Enya. She is not an Enya knock-off but a veteran of the stage who just happens to sound amazingly like Enya and whose CD (her only one)will send chills. Easily my most favorite Christmas CD of all time.) That being said: Less Than A Pearl opens fine. But the repetitive "Hi-Ha" middle I find annoying. "It's In the Rain" pretty but too sluggish. I kept hoping she'd switch the key somewhere in the middle just to give it some variety and new pacing. "Amarantine" has a lovely melody but the refrain seems uninspired to my ears. Thus, the first three tracks I find less appealing than the remainder. "If I Could Be Where You Are" is reminiscent of "May It Be", the melody could easily have fit into "The Lord of the Rings." "Long, Long Journey" is one that has grown on me and is now one of my top two songs. "Sumerigusa" is wonderful to listen to with headphones Enya's vocals swirl around from left to right and back again. "Someone Said Goodbye" and "A Moment Lost" also have grown on me. Neither are top of the chart songs but each is wistful, melodic, and somehow make you feel content. The instrumental "Drifting" I find quite compelling. What sounds like a cello becomes more intense as the song progresses. One of the best. "Amid the Falling Snow" is another sweet, melodic tune. Pleasant, it warms you up while describing a winter scene. The final song, "Water Shows the Hidden Heart" is stunning and a reminder of what Enya does so well. My favorite track. In all, Enya's songs still inspire. But my fervent wish is that her next CD comes out in two years , not five, and that the tracks carry that extra bit of magic that is apparent only occasionally in this still quite evocative and worthwhile CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    That's my Enya!

    I've been patient for 5 years and her new CD is here at last. Enya is my all time favorite artist. This CD is incredible!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amarantine

    There are few artists whose songs I can listen to repeatedly and not get tired of them. Enya is one. I've grown accustomed to enjoying every song on every CD and have marveled at her ability to create such a unique, heavenly, awe-inspiring sound. This new CD has many moments of beauty and grandeur but fewer than I had hoped. Some tracks are just a tad...monotonous. I enjoy them and find myself waiting for the songs to move in some amazing direction and...they don't quite get there. I've listened to the CD three times now and I must admit it grows on me with each listen. But I'm used to Enya's songs captivating me from the first listen--an incredible expectation, I know. My favorite song is the final one. It is like a prayer, a rich, evocative, prayer. So many of the other melodies are catchy in their own way but don't seem to reach the heights Enya songs usually do. I'm hoping by the tenth time I've listened I find all the tracks to be pure gold, as has been the case in the past. But for now, I wait. I enjoy the CD, marvel at some of the tracks, and wait for the rest of them to measure up to the amazing standard Enya has set--and surpassed--so many times before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1