Customer Reviews for

The Amateur Marriage

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    Unforgettable

    It is so hard to end a book like Amatuer Marriage. Following these young people thru life, and getting to know the family, with all there faults just like us, it was difficult to get to the end. Very emotional, and hard to say goodbye. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2004

    A SIMPLE ANSWER

    All we want to know from a customer review is: do you like it or not? So do I like it? Yes! Emphatically!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Good Anne Tyler read

    I love the character development that Anne Tyler has in her books and this was no exception - people that you can identify in your own life..maybe even you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of Anne Tyler's Best Books

    This story tells the evolution of a marriage over the span of 60 years, starting when the couple first meets during World War II. The main characters get caught up in the hysteria of the war end up together, despite their incompatibility. At times the story is both touching and heartbreaking. It is definitely worth the read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amateur to Non-Expert

    In this novel by Anne Tyler two attractive young people rush into marriage at the beginning of World War II. Over the years they experience the same things as their friends but can't seem to mend differences unlike other couples. When they finally move to an upscale neighborhood only Pauline (the wife) is happy; Michael misses his friends and the area where he grew up. Too soon they find themselves responsible for a grandchild but instead of this drawing them closer it broadens the gap between them. A return trip to the old neighborhood some thirty years later finally convinces Michael that you can't go home to the same things you once knew.

    In this book author Anne Tyler rounds out her characters with such depth that this reader felt on an intimate basis with them. While the story touches on everyday aspects that everyone will recognize, the characters are sure to evoke a sense of rightness with the way they are brought to life.

    A pleasure to read. Recommended: all of Anne Tyler's other works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2006

    So what!

    I am not sure what Tyler was trying to accomplish with this book. It was a common portrayal of a common family. The prose wasn't even interesting. Very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    Best Anne Tyler I've Read

    I found so much in this book that I could identify with - my parents, my early life, parts of my own history (which dates back to 1948). The characters and situations were real and easy to follow. Couldn't put the book down! Outstanding and recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2005

    A little slow and boring

    I felt that this book was pretty boring and lost interest after the 1st half. I guess I expected more action, more romance, more something....it is fast read and made me contemplate my own marriage which was a bonus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2005

    An Interesting Novel

    'The Amateur Marriage' is the first novel I have read of Anne Tyler's and I found the story to be very captivating. Each chapter brings you to a different time, beginning in the year 1941 and ending three generations later. The story had many ups, downs, twists and turns to the lives of the main characters, Michael and Pauline. Everything in Michael and Pauline's life would be perfect one moment, then unbearable to cope with the next. I grew up in the third generation of this story, so reading about the styles of living in my grandparent's generation was fascinating. Tyler describes the challenging obstacles encountered in this mistaken marriage. With all the dramatic literature and emotional tension, 'The Amateur Marriage,' is a novel to remember! I look forward to reading the earlier novels by Anne Tyler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2005

    great read

    I'm a great fan of Anne Tyler and look foward to every new book she writes.The Amateur Marriage was a great read ,I couldn't put it down, I found this novel a tad more serious than her other querky novels although given the subjects she deals with in this novel the tone is appropiate .Again wonderful writng as usual and I look forward to her next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    Bildungsroman meets romance novel.

    This book was terrific. I started it on an airplane, and I was so enthusiastic about it, I barely even watched the in-flight movie!!! You could read it in one sitting if you were very ambitious.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2004

    good not great

    With a turgidity, Anne Tyler attacks her lean, tired middle class characters and their plummet through life. There is too much of a workman like quality to the prose. Still the dialogue is perfect and the portraits every bit as good as anything Ansel Adams might have done with a touch of shrooms in his system.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2004

    ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

    This book was completely BORING...unlikeable characters, boring pace...I NEVER stop reading a book but I finally skimmed the last two chapters just to be done...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2004

    Unlikeable People

    The only reason I gave this book two stars was for the historical timeline. I don't think I have ever read a book so full of unlikeable people. I did finish the book but only because I was certain at some point the book would 'come together'. It never did. This is the first book I have read of Anne Tyler's. It will probably be the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    Anne Tyler is still the best writer out there.

    I have read reviews by readers like me. It seems that most of them did not like this novel. I have been reading Anne Tyler since 1988 and have read all her novels. I just can't stop reading her books, no matter if one is not as powerful as the other. I will always read everything she writes. I don't even have to read reviews. She is a genius and my favorite writer after Charles Dickens. I even went to Roland Park when I found out it really existed. If you read her books, you will know that she sets all of them in Baltimore. I am not overstating things when I say that her books have always cheered me up, kept me interested and made me happy. I hope she writes for many more years to come. I read her latest in three days. I can never put her books down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2004

    dull marriage

    If you want to read about the duldrums of an ordinary dull marriage---enjoy. However life is far from this simple--the unwritten thoughts of the subjects would create a far-more-truthful look at what it takes to keep a marriage alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2004

    I don't understand how this could be a bestseller...

    This book was hum-drum. I'm sorry I wasted the money on a hard cover. I did not find one sentence that I found so insightful that I had to write it down (a habit of mine). It is not eloquently written nor was the story particularly poignant. The only sub-plot that was fascinating was Lindy's disappearance. Her return, decades later, was simply unplausible...she would have returned many years sooner. A child named 'Pagan'...how ridiculous and totally scripted (drug mother in Haight-Asbury). The change of point of view was distressing. During the 'grilled cheese' scene it suddenly switched to Karen but she never returned. George's point of view didn't exist until the end when he lamented, 'Wasn't I enough to keep you here?' We were never given the impression that Lindy and George were that close. Ever. The fact that Pauline wasn't there for Lindy's reunion was a disappointment. She was the one who keep Lindy ALIVE. This read was truly a disappointment and leads me to think, Why is this a bestseller?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    tender and insightful

    I loved this book. It is so much more than the story of two mismatched individuals who get married in haste. The attachment Michael and Pauline have to one another, even years after they ultimately divorce, is beautifully expressed. The tragedy is of two people who are unable to understand each other and communicate with each other. In spite of all the turmoil the ties between these two cannot be broken. The last chapter is everything: sweet, sad, sentimental. Following these two from age 20 to age 80 made me so aware of my own inevitable aging, and the bittersweet reality of life's constant changing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2004

    I kept waiting for the book to get interesting . . . .

    BORING! As I began each chapter, I was confident that the story was either (a) going to get interesting or (b) going to reveal its purpose. Unfortunately, I reached the end of the book without either happening.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2004

    Baltimore Blues

    I like Tyler, I like most of her books but from page 1 till the ending I was depressed. I couldn't get in synch w/ anyone, just made the world look ugly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3