Customer Reviews for

The Amateur Marriage

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Good Anne Tyler read

    I love the character development that Anne Tyler has in her books and this was no exception - people that you can identify in your own life..maybe even you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of Anne Tyler's Best Books

    This story tells the evolution of a marriage over the span of 60 years, starting when the couple first meets during World War II. The main characters get caught up in the hysteria of the war end up together, despite their incompatibility. At times the story is both touching and heartbreaking. It is definitely worth the read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2005

    An Interesting Novel

    'The Amateur Marriage' is the first novel I have read of Anne Tyler's and I found the story to be very captivating. Each chapter brings you to a different time, beginning in the year 1941 and ending three generations later. The story had many ups, downs, twists and turns to the lives of the main characters, Michael and Pauline. Everything in Michael and Pauline's life would be perfect one moment, then unbearable to cope with the next. I grew up in the third generation of this story, so reading about the styles of living in my grandparent's generation was fascinating. Tyler describes the challenging obstacles encountered in this mistaken marriage. With all the dramatic literature and emotional tension, 'The Amateur Marriage,' is a novel to remember! I look forward to reading the earlier novels by Anne Tyler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2004

    good not great

    With a turgidity, Anne Tyler attacks her lean, tired middle class characters and their plummet through life. There is too much of a workman like quality to the prose. Still the dialogue is perfect and the portraits every bit as good as anything Ansel Adams might have done with a touch of shrooms in his system.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    Another Winner from Tyler

    I wonder how hard it was for Tyler to write this book: from a bare-bones sketch of the plot, any educated reader would automatically dismiss it as another hackneyed attempt at commenting on the American middle-class marriage. Only Tyler, always so surprisingly perceptive of the unique souls of her characters, could have written so movingly about such a trite subject (especially since the success of American Beauty). Yes, the 'amateur marriage' meets and marries during the upheaval of WWII, they have children and move to the 'modern' suburbs during the baby boom, and the eldest daughter goes through the prerequisite hippie rebellion. To only see this plot, however, is to miss the point of reading Tyler, which continues to be understanding the depth of typical lives. True, since Back When We Were Grownups Tyler has developed a bit of that condescending tone writers seem to have toward their characters lately (think Billie Letts), but she warms up to them quickly, except for what sometimes appears as mostly perfunctory references to Americana (a teenager into Howl). She also leaves her most interesting character behind rather early, but I wouldn't want to give too much away. These minor drawbacks--although they stop the novel from being the masterpiece, say, A Patchwork Planet is--do little to take away from the sense that Tyler is really underappreciated for what is truly a monumental ability to capture the everyday psyche of her characters with empathy and humor, and without stooping to maudlin sentimentality. The novel is very cinematic in its scope and setting; I wouldn't be surprised if a film is already in the works. Although film might capture the representational quality this family has (ostensibly what Tyler is getting at), I doubt it could ever do justice to the nuances of these common--but never stereotypical--characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    MIxed Feelings on This one

    This book reminded me of Anita Shreve's 'The Last Time They Met' in that they are both haunting, well written, ultimately depressing and unforgettable - when you would love nothing better than to forget them. I loved Ladder of the Years - this had some of its whimsy but ultimately, I found it to be a very depressing read. I gave it four stars because it is well written and has a great feel for the last 60 years of american culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1