Customer Reviews for

The Amateur Marriage

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    Unforgettable

    It is so hard to end a book like Amatuer Marriage. Following these young people thru life, and getting to know the family, with all there faults just like us, it was difficult to get to the end. Very emotional, and hard to say goodbye. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2004

    A SIMPLE ANSWER

    All we want to know from a customer review is: do you like it or not? So do I like it? Yes! Emphatically!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amateur to Non-Expert

    In this novel by Anne Tyler two attractive young people rush into marriage at the beginning of World War II. Over the years they experience the same things as their friends but can't seem to mend differences unlike other couples. When they finally move to an upscale neighborhood only Pauline (the wife) is happy; Michael misses his friends and the area where he grew up. Too soon they find themselves responsible for a grandchild but instead of this drawing them closer it broadens the gap between them. A return trip to the old neighborhood some thirty years later finally convinces Michael that you can't go home to the same things you once knew.

    In this book author Anne Tyler rounds out her characters with such depth that this reader felt on an intimate basis with them. While the story touches on everyday aspects that everyone will recognize, the characters are sure to evoke a sense of rightness with the way they are brought to life.

    A pleasure to read. Recommended: all of Anne Tyler's other works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    Best Anne Tyler I've Read

    I found so much in this book that I could identify with - my parents, my early life, parts of my own history (which dates back to 1948). The characters and situations were real and easy to follow. Couldn't put the book down! Outstanding and recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2005

    great read

    I'm a great fan of Anne Tyler and look foward to every new book she writes.The Amateur Marriage was a great read ,I couldn't put it down, I found this novel a tad more serious than her other querky novels although given the subjects she deals with in this novel the tone is appropiate .Again wonderful writng as usual and I look forward to her next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    Bildungsroman meets romance novel.

    This book was terrific. I started it on an airplane, and I was so enthusiastic about it, I barely even watched the in-flight movie!!! You could read it in one sitting if you were very ambitious.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    Anne Tyler is still the best writer out there.

    I have read reviews by readers like me. It seems that most of them did not like this novel. I have been reading Anne Tyler since 1988 and have read all her novels. I just can't stop reading her books, no matter if one is not as powerful as the other. I will always read everything she writes. I don't even have to read reviews. She is a genius and my favorite writer after Charles Dickens. I even went to Roland Park when I found out it really existed. If you read her books, you will know that she sets all of them in Baltimore. I am not overstating things when I say that her books have always cheered me up, kept me interested and made me happy. I hope she writes for many more years to come. I read her latest in three days. I can never put her books down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    tender and insightful

    I loved this book. It is so much more than the story of two mismatched individuals who get married in haste. The attachment Michael and Pauline have to one another, even years after they ultimately divorce, is beautifully expressed. The tragedy is of two people who are unable to understand each other and communicate with each other. In spite of all the turmoil the ties between these two cannot be broken. The last chapter is everything: sweet, sad, sentimental. Following these two from age 20 to age 80 made me so aware of my own inevitable aging, and the bittersweet reality of life's constant changing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2004

    SIMPLY THE BEST

    I LOVE ANNE TYLER'S BOOKS. I STARTED READING IT ON THE PLANE TO THE BAHAMAS AND THOUGHT I'D HAVE IT TO READ ON THE PLANE RIDE HOME....NOPE FINISHED IT BY THE POOL! ONE OF HER BEST.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2004

    Tyler presents a deeper portrait of everyman.

    Michael and Pauline are immature and carried away by mutual physical attraction when they marry after the war.They do, however, handle his mother's presence in their lives and they deftly raise two highly successful kids and worry long term over their daughter who seeks comfort in the drug culture.Admirably, at an advanced age, they successfully raise their 'hippy' daughter's abandoned son.Is this a dysfunctional family?Their marriage works.Sure, they fight, but who does not?Michael does not feel appreciated and maybe Pauline feels the same way about her contributions.His one big decision is based on pent up emotion, repressed.He acted decisively rather than cooperatively. Was he better off? I think not.I feel the ending offers a glimpse of his sorrow over the road he chose to take.Again, Tyler reminds us how our decisions, big and small,form the footprints of our lives.This family, though flawed, represents solid American values.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2004

    Anne Tyler does it again

    I was an Anne Tyler fan even before I moved to Baltimore. If only she could produce her incredible novels more often. This book is so good that I had to stop myself from getting through it too quickly. I had to slow down to savor the characters and the story. I listened to this on audio, and found the reader to be excellent. I plan to listen to it again. The ending was just right. Keep writing Anne Tyler!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2004

    The Amateur Marriage

    Anne Tyler doesn't disappoint in this heartfelt family story of love and pain. The story rises up from the pages and melts into your mind as you read. Don't miss it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2004

    Anne Tyler never disappoints

    It never ceases to amaze me how Ms. Tyler captures aspects of every day life without boring the reader. That's truly the mark of a gifted writer. A beautifully written story, with profoundly moving characters. Don't miss out on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2004

    Compassion & Realism

    Ann Tyler's books straddle the line between highbrow literary fiction and mass-market paperbacks; she's one of the few writers to live comfortably in both worlds, and this book adds to her wonderful body of work. Warm, wise, beautifully-written, sad and full of complex characters, a book you'll be sorry to say goodbye to when it's over. My other recent favorites are 'I Sleep At Red Lights: A True Story of Life After Triplets,' by Bruce Stockler, a gem of humor and wisdom about the meaning of life, as seen through the lens of fatherhood, and 'Reading Lolita in Teheran,' by Azar Nafisi, an amazing story of how reading can be one of the most meaningful parts of your life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    A Sad Read

    I have read every book Anne Tyler has writtten. Hers are the only novels I keep. I usually delight in the quirky, realistic, and complex nature of her characters. In this book I found all the people sad, even tragic. Still, Tyler depicted her characters with an authenticity typical of her ability shown in previous novels. I simply hurt for the love felt but never revealed among so many sad individuals. The ending was a bit too quick but nonetheless poignant. Overall, this was a disturbing book, not funny in enough parts to lessen the sadness that people fail to learn to love, not because of, but in spite of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1