Customer Reviews for

Amazing Grace

Average Rating 4
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Review of Amazing Grace

I overall thought this book was really good. It was very detailed, which helped the story line really flow smoothly. The author used three sets of main characters to tell the story, and it was like I knew them personally because of how well she developed them throughout...
I overall thought this book was really good. It was very detailed, which helped the story line really flow smoothly. The author used three sets of main characters to tell the story, and it was like I knew them personally because of how well she developed them throughout the book. The author does a creative job of doing this. It's not just plain old facts being told out; she incorporates it all into flashbacks, conversations, and their thoughts. Sarah/Seth, Melanie, and Maggie all had different scenarios they were dealing with, yet somehow they all connected, even though the different lessons each one learned. They all helped each other out with each other's problems, which I thought was cool how the author worked this out. In the beginning, a party planned by Sarah (Seth's wife), is in the works. People from all over were invited. A celebrity named Melanie was planned to sing. So many people were there, including a group of nuns, one being a woman named Maggie. The planning had been going on for months. But then there was an earthquake, ruining everything, which ended up bringing the four characters together. Sarah, Seth, Melanie, and Maggie all end up meeting each other in some way. Sarah goes through a major tragedy in her family's life, Maggie has a big decision to make affecting all her life plans, and Melanie has a feeling in wanting to change her career from an all-time pop star to a sweet and loving nurse. Different events occur helping the characters get through. Sarah, with the help of Maggie, discovers a new trait she never knew she had, that gets her through the trouble brought in her family's life. Maggie faces a decision of whether to leave her biggest passion in life, or start a life with someone she meets. And Melanie, with the huge change in her career that affects several lives close to her, eventually gets through with also, someone she ends up meeting. The author does a phenomenal job going through all of these situations. I thought it was truly amazing how she wrote about three completely different problems, and connected them all. She alternated chapters between the different stories, and every now and then they'd be together, helping each other, getting through. It was probably one of the most clearly written books that I have read. With everything going on, you would think that it would be hard to understand, but she made it completely easy to read. Most of the events happened for a reason, leading from one point to another. Something I really liked was the suspense in the book. With all the decisions they had to make, you really wanted to know what was going to happen next, which kept me reading. Also, with all three situations going on, she took turns with the major events happening. So if the big climax of one was going on, then she wouldn't have all three doing to the same at once, which kept balance. However, the thing I didn't like was since there were three things going on, sometimes it wouldn't always go situation 1, 2, and then 3 all in a pattern. She would skip around sometimes so you would have to remember what was happening at that certain time of the problem, which was hard sometimes.

posted by clabberse on February 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hmm

My grandma reads these books sooo i cant imagine them to be much more content then hallmark channel sap and iwas totally right. Thhis book bored me but you know someone who can write even better? KRISTEN HIGGINS! ( Much better, no offense Danielle Steel )

posted by Anonymous on March 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Hmm

    My grandma reads these books sooo i cant imagine them to be much more content then hallmark channel sap and iwas totally right. Thhis book bored me but you know someone who can write even better? KRISTEN HIGGINS! ( Much better, no offense Danielle Steel )

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    very good

    Like always daniell made the events and charactors come to life with each chapter. Great story line & kept my interest throughout the book. Always love her novels!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Review for Amazing Grace

    The best thing about the book though was the lessons/messages that came out of it. They connected to the title too. One was that in times of trouble or tragedy, amazing grace can lead you to a new beginning. Things happen for a reason. So when bad things happen, and you think everything is going downhill, just forgive the people that had made the mistakes, and start fresh. Also, you need to follow your own dreams, not other peoples, just to make them happy. That way, you will be happier, and the others can adjust. This was the end, which I thought was a great way to wrap everything up. So overall, I thought it was a great book that I would recommend to really anyone that likes a book leaving a message.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Review of Amazing Grace

    I overall thought this book was really good. It was very detailed, which helped the story line really flow smoothly. The author used three sets of main characters to tell the story, and it was like I knew them personally because of how well she developed them throughout the book. The author does a creative job of doing this. It's not just plain old facts being told out; she incorporates it all into flashbacks, conversations, and their thoughts. Sarah/Seth, Melanie, and Maggie all had different scenarios they were dealing with, yet somehow they all connected, even though the different lessons each one learned. They all helped each other out with each other's problems, which I thought was cool how the author worked this out. In the beginning, a party planned by Sarah (Seth's wife), is in the works. People from all over were invited. A celebrity named Melanie was planned to sing. So many people were there, including a group of nuns, one being a woman named Maggie. The planning had been going on for months. But then there was an earthquake, ruining everything, which ended up bringing the four characters together. Sarah, Seth, Melanie, and Maggie all end up meeting each other in some way. Sarah goes through a major tragedy in her family's life, Maggie has a big decision to make affecting all her life plans, and Melanie has a feeling in wanting to change her career from an all-time pop star to a sweet and loving nurse. Different events occur helping the characters get through. Sarah, with the help of Maggie, discovers a new trait she never knew she had, that gets her through the trouble brought in her family's life. Maggie faces a decision of whether to leave her biggest passion in life, or start a life with someone she meets. And Melanie, with the huge change in her career that affects several lives close to her, eventually gets through with also, someone she ends up meeting. The author does a phenomenal job going through all of these situations. I thought it was truly amazing how she wrote about three completely different problems, and connected them all. She alternated chapters between the different stories, and every now and then they'd be together, helping each other, getting through. It was probably one of the most clearly written books that I have read. With everything going on, you would think that it would be hard to understand, but she made it completely easy to read. Most of the events happened for a reason, leading from one point to another. Something I really liked was the suspense in the book. With all the decisions they had to make, you really wanted to know what was going to happen next, which kept me reading. Also, with all three situations going on, she took turns with the major events happening. So if the big climax of one was going on, then she wouldn't have all three doing to the same at once, which kept balance. However, the thing I didn't like was since there were three things going on, sometimes it wouldn't always go situation 1, 2, and then 3 all in a pattern. She would skip around sometimes so you would have to remember what was happening at that certain time of the problem, which was hard sometimes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    A Good Book For Quite Nights.

    This book was a really good book, it was not dramatic, it was very relaxing to read. She managed to really put out the character's personalities out and intertwined them together. It was not boring, but just a bit slow at times. It was also a realistic story line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Hello?

    Anybody alive out there?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    Sup Grace

    U there? Wanna chat?

    *by Cade*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Camp amazingness!!!!

    Welcome to camp amazingness. This is a greek camp. Demigods of minor gods and goddesses welcome. Hunters of artemis reside at artemis's cabin. Post bios at res two chat room res three weapons bay four athena cabin five. Claim cabins after that and post where they are at res three which is the chat room. When posting that state your name and that you are head conselor for that cabin. This map skips any preorders or magazines. Sincerely, Grace, head of athena cabin and founder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Manda

    *shuffles in a frown on her face her brown eyes watery and her blonde curls shiny*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Alice

    She strodes in and sits. "Hey." (Are you really 16? I never can find 16 year olds on here most people are younger by a lot.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    River

    A girl with puffy blonde hair walks up (yeah are you really 16)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Bella to austin

    I believe u but half of us think ur lying becuase most rplies lie bout there age im 16-17 u have to guess

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Austin

    Why do half of you think im not 16? I wouldn't lie about my age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Highly recommend!

    One of Danielle Steel's best!! She hasn't written a bad one yet, but this one is one of the very best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    &Theta &pi Obsidianflame & Co. &pi &Theta

    &Theta &pi • Obsidianflame; Gender: &female Mate: Lionsroar. Kits: Swampkit & Owlkit. Looks: Black with Deep Orange eyes. • Swampkit; Gender: T &male m. Crush: Enderkit. Looks: Murky Gray with Dark Green/Dark Brown eyes. • Owlkit; Gender: &female Crush: Shadekit. Looks: Dark Golden/Brown with Orange eyes. •••• Ghostfur; Gender: &female Mate: Enderfur (Old). Kits: Enderkit, Firkit, Shadekit, Brakenkit, & Bramblekit. Looks: Light Gray with Light Violet eyes. • Enderkit; Gender: &female. Crush: None. Looks: Black with Deep & Dark Violet eyes. • Firkit; Gender: &female Crush: None. Looks: Light Gray with Golden eyes. • Shadekit; Gender: T &male m. Crush: None. Looks: Dark Gray, Dark Blue streaks, & Dark Blue eyes. • Brakenkit; Gender: T &male m. Crush: None. Looks: Dark Brown, Black, with Amber eyes. • Bramblekit; Gender: T &male m. Crush: None. Looks: Dark Brown, Black, with Green eyes. • &pi &Theta

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Goldenstar's bio

    Name:Goldenstar | Rank:Leader | Gender:Male | Look:Light Golden with Dark Golden Tiger Stripes, Deep Green Eyes | Life Story:Touchy Subject

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Ocle

    Nah i kid

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Nick

    Walks in "sorry"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Amiti

    I like your story, Glimmer. It's pretty intresting. ~Amiti

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    The title tells it all. A story of lives changed forever becaus

    The title tells it all. A story of lives changed forever because of an earthquake and amazing grace.
    Sarah and Seth's lives crumble as effects of the earthquake brough wrongs to light. Seth found out one cannot escape being caught when one does something wrong. Sarah's life was turned upside down as she struggles to forgive Seth.
    Melanie, a singer, struggles to break free ofher Mom's control. To discover herself and her dreams. Her Mom is then freed to move on with herlife. Melanie finds Tom because of working together at shelter during earthquake aftermath.
    Everett, a recovering alcoholic, is photographer at an even when earthquake hits. He finds friendship with Maggie, a nun. And then he finds his son and finds he has a family. Plus so much more.
    Maggie finds challenges and faces decisions in her walk of faith. Amazing grace brings freedom out of circumstances beyond our control.
    I was facing my own struggles while reading this and found freedomto make a choice. Onemoves forward one stap at a time in grace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5