Customer Reviews for

Amazing Peace: A Christmas Poem

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2006

    A truly beauitiful book

    I was so very touched when Maya read this poem at the lighting of the national christmas tree on December 1, 2005. It was truly a special moment for our country. What a wonderful and meaningful Poem.It still brings tears to my eyes every time I read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2005

    Absolutely beautiful

    I heard Maya Angelou read this poem on Oprah and found myself with tears streaming down my cheeks. It has great relevance to our world today and has an amazingly strong spirit.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2005

    Maya Angelou weaves words of love and peace into a magnificent tapestry.

    Maya Angelou uses eloquence and her innate sensitivity and love for humanity to ring out a song for peace during this holiday season. Once again, she speaks for all mankind with her unifying words encompassing and crossing all boundaries. Her spirituality touches your soul, even in the darkest night.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Skip this result

    For camp amazingness

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    R.I.P.

    Rest in"AMAZING PEACE"Dear MS."ANGEL"OU"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    An exceptional gift

    This poem has become my favorite contemporary poem. It is incredibly moving, and speaks in a very relevant fashion, which brought me to tears. "Amazing Peace" is an extraordinary gift from Ms. Angelou to the collective soul of our world. My only criticism of the publication, is that I would like to see it enhanced with some meaningful illustration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Beautiful book

    The message in this book is beautifully written and beautifully illustrated. Most of all, it is beautiful because the message of peace, acceptance and love for all people at all times is so current now, as it has been always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Wonderful Christmas gift, for someone else or your own family!

    I bought a copy of this book for a family member who loves Maya Angelou, and decided to get another next year for our family... I'm looking forward to beginning a new Christmas tradition, take a few minutes to read it aloud every year. I hope it'll become, for us, a lovely quiet few minutes in what's often an overly-busy day to focus on what we celebrate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip aka "The Genius" for Kids @ TeensReadToo.com

    Maya Angelou, world-renowned poet, philanthropist, and humanitarian, brings to vivid life the true meaning of Christmas. Her poems are not the simple rhyming ones of many children's books, but rather a meshing of words that go straight to the heart. <BR/><BR/>"Come and fill us and our world with your majesty. <BR/>We, the Jew and the Jainist, the Catholic and the Confucian, <BR/>Implore you to stay awhile with us <BR/>So we may learn by your shimmering light <BR/>How to look beyond complexion and see community. <BR/><BR/>It is Christmas time, a halting of hate time. <BR/><BR/>On this platform of peace, we can create a language <BR/>To translate ourselves to ourselves and to each other." <BR/><BR/>Although this is a perfect book to share with your children at Christmas, I believe it would make an excellent addition to your home library to share as a family, again and again, no matter the time of year. The message that it sends - one of love, tolerance, diversity, and peace - is one that all children can learn from, regardless of the date on the calendar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2005

    Hope for the Holidays

    Maya Angelou's amazing words make for perfect reading at holiday gatherings. Her inspiration is what this old world desperately needs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2005

    So true for today.

    This poem is so true for todays world. Maya Angelou has done it again, she has captured what the world needs in a poem. A must read for the holidays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1