Customer Reviews for

Amazonia

Average Rating 4.5
( 273 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(159)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

I have never written a review before so I decided to pick one of my favorite books and Amazonia definitely qualifies. I loved reading this book and did not want to put it down. It really grabs you and doesn't let you go. This is definitley a re-read for me. Nathan Rand ...
I have never written a review before so I decided to pick one of my favorite books and Amazonia definitely qualifies. I loved reading this book and did not want to put it down. It really grabs you and doesn't let you go. This is definitley a re-read for me. Nathan Rand is an exceptional main character who isn't in a race to be the next Rambo. He's a hero when needs to be but he isn't stupid or foolish. One can very easily relate to his character. I highly recomend this book to anyone that is in search of a good thriller.

posted by Eat_The_Kids_First on December 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

There was waaay too much action for me in this story, that I found myself skipping pages. It was also in so many parts unbelievable. Bacon and eggs for breakfast, in the middle of no where in the jungle. Nate finding his father alive after all those years. All the d...
There was waaay too much action for me in this story, that I found myself skipping pages. It was also in so many parts unbelievable. Bacon and eggs for breakfast, in the middle of no where in the jungle. Nate finding his father alive after all those years. All the dangers they faced daily, that could have easily killed them all. This book could have been written in less pages, there was too much to take in. They no sooner got themselves out of one mind boggling dangerous situation, they were facing another. I like action packed stories, but I also like to know the main characters a little more.
If you like non-stop action in a book, this is for you.

posted by 8429876 on August 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing

    I have never written a review before so I decided to pick one of my favorite books and Amazonia definitely qualifies. I loved reading this book and did not want to put it down. It really grabs you and doesn't let you go. This is definitley a re-read for me. Nathan Rand is an exceptional main character who isn't in a race to be the next Rambo. He's a hero when needs to be but he isn't stupid or foolish. One can very easily relate to his character. I highly recomend this book to anyone that is in search of a good thriller.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Recommend-must read

    Once you get started reading you need keep turning the pages.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Highly (x3) Recommended!

    Awesome book! I could hardly put it down! If you like action, adventure, and learning about new cultures and places (or at least getting inspired to go do some research) then this is the book for you-as well as any other book written by James Rollins!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    I purchased this book at 9:00 PM and couldn't put it down till

    I purchased this book at 9:00 PM and couldn't put it down till I finished it at 5: AM.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Love it!

    Since the first book I picked up of his, I've never been dissapointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    A great read.

    James Rollins fans must read this book. It is every bit as good as the Sigma series. James Rollins uses both historic fact and well researched fiction to craft a suspenseful story in the Amazon jungle.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Amazonia is awesome.

    This was the first novel I have read by James Rollins and I am hungry for more!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    G

    Awesome book
    Very interesting animals that scare you but also grab your attention.dont read if you get scared easily.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    Amazonia is now one of my favorites! It is such an amazing book, and has you not wanting to put the book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Loved it

    Amazonia, for me, was a mega adventure. Full of danger, excitement, discoveries.With Rollins writing style and descriptions of events (excellent as always), the story was so vivid and had a terrific ending. James Rollins never fails to transport me into a place far more exciting than even my extremely vivid imagination can take me. I love all his books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    James Rollins creates a roller coaster of a ride through the jun

    James Rollins creates a roller coaster of a ride through the jungle in Amazonia. The book is filed with scientific drama that never seems to end. Once one new bizarre species is discovered, Rollins creates two more waiting around the corner to attack. Each chapter is a nail bitter as you fear for your favorite character's life. The writing style and the addition of 'pointless' characters for killing off is similar to Michael Crichton. I highly recommend this book for people who like fast paced books with mind blowing plot twists that keep you turning the page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    What I really like about Rollins is how he dips his fingers into

    What I really like about Rollins is how he dips his fingers into the various cultures around the world. Coming from a remote area, there are many things we used that treated common illnesses where here in the U.S., medication is almost always sought after. This book is a great example of using what resources you have to treat what we suffer from. Not to mention the suspenseful journey they go through to get to the climax of the story. This is one of my favorite novels by Rollins and will keep reading his works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Highly recommend

    if you like adventure novels, James Rollins has done it again. A fun faced paced fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Loved Amazonia!

    I really enjoyed this book. I loved the mix of scientific fact woven with fiction. It's entertaining, suspenseful and thrilling. It really makes you think about how much knowledge we could actually be losing every day with rain forest destruction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Great read

    Totsl nail biter. Reminded me of Chrichton. Really impressed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    I enjoyed reading this story very much. Great writing and chara

    I enjoyed reading this story very much. Great writing and characters, along with the storyline kept me happily entertained!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    Good Stuff

    Just what I was looking for!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Fast read

    Very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    An amazing book by an amazing writer

    James Rollins is bay far my favorite scientific thriller writer. I love that he weaves scientific fact with fiction so seamlessly, its almost impossible to tell where the line is. Each story is unique and suspensful. This book is long but worth the ride. I learn something new with each of his novels and he always has a section at the end explaining what is fact and what is fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    This is my favorite James Rollins book. I had trouble putting it

    This is my favorite James Rollins book. I had trouble putting it down and was sorry when it over. I ran right out and got another book by him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8