Customer Reviews for

The Amber Room

Average Rating 4
( 156 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Amber Room

First of all, I am a huge Steve Berry fan. I think his writing style and stories are at least on the same level as Dan Brown's books for this genre.

What I like about Steve Berry's books is that he finds some unique episode or item in history and turns it into a t...
First of all, I am a huge Steve Berry fan. I think his writing style and stories are at least on the same level as Dan Brown's books for this genre.

What I like about Steve Berry's books is that he finds some unique episode or item in history and turns it into a thriller. I never knew the Amber Room existed. Maybe I just don't know my history as well as I should, but then I've got Mr. Berry to open my eyes to some of the more interesting and intriguing parts of history, which then leads to my own exploration of that event.

Being from Atlanta, I like that his characters are or were from Atlanta. Being in the legal field myself, I like that Mr. Berry practiced law in Atlanta and that this particular character in the Amber Room was a Fulton County Superior Court judge. She was entirely believable, and so was her husband.

One thing an author has to do is convince me his characters can be believed and trusted, and this Mr. Berry does well. Also his descriptions of places make me feel like he's been there and thus knows what he's talking about. I know he has traveled to the places he writes about and isn't just getting his information off the internet or out of a travel book in order to fool me. So not only are his characters believable, his settings have the feeling of allowing me to feel like I'm right there with his characters.

Along with all of Steve Berry's books, I highly recommend the Amber Room. It is both entertaining and informing--a good combination.

posted by 1945760 on September 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amber room

People who like Dan Brown's work would enjoy this book, however predictable it was. The book should have been editted down, plot twists too easy to see coming, but an enjoyable read with history and geograph lesson thrown in

posted by Lynn_Wright on September 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    The Amber Room

    First of all, I am a huge Steve Berry fan. I think his writing style and stories are at least on the same level as Dan Brown's books for this genre.

    What I like about Steve Berry's books is that he finds some unique episode or item in history and turns it into a thriller. I never knew the Amber Room existed. Maybe I just don't know my history as well as I should, but then I've got Mr. Berry to open my eyes to some of the more interesting and intriguing parts of history, which then leads to my own exploration of that event.

    Being from Atlanta, I like that his characters are or were from Atlanta. Being in the legal field myself, I like that Mr. Berry practiced law in Atlanta and that this particular character in the Amber Room was a Fulton County Superior Court judge. She was entirely believable, and so was her husband.

    One thing an author has to do is convince me his characters can be believed and trusted, and this Mr. Berry does well. Also his descriptions of places make me feel like he's been there and thus knows what he's talking about. I know he has traveled to the places he writes about and isn't just getting his information off the internet or out of a travel book in order to fool me. So not only are his characters believable, his settings have the feeling of allowing me to feel like I'm right there with his characters.

    Along with all of Steve Berry's books, I highly recommend the Amber Room. It is both entertaining and informing--a good combination.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    First Berry book I read, and I was hooked on his writing from th

    First Berry book I read, and I was hooked on his writing from then on. Excellent research and craftsmanship in the writing. Topical subject, lots of facts, and keeps you guessing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    I LOVE THIS BOOK

    Wish he still wrote these kind.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Good

    Berry focused on history and art and in so doing sacrificed solid character development. His characters, especially Rachel and Paul were not believable. But it was an action-packed fast-moving novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Great Read!

    The Amber Room is Steve Berry's first published work, which he points out came after 81 rejections! Well, he got it right! His skillful blend of historical facts with fictional circumstances is what makes his stories so hard to put down. He now has seven books out in the Cotton Malone series as well, which I highly recommend. If you want to get hooked on mysteries based on events that took root in times long past, Steve Berry is your kind of writer!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Amber room

    People who like Dan Brown's work would enjoy this book, however predictable it was. The book should have been editted down, plot twists too easy to see coming, but an enjoyable read with history and geograph lesson thrown in

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2007

    Cover said Best Seller should have put Best Staller

    After reading many thrillers one expects that a book that earned a Best Seller title to be original, instead this book played out just like all the others. The Amber Room had too much potential at the beginning, but was lost half way through and never regained it's magic. What a disappointment. Take a piece like the Amber Room which is supposedly part of Art history with so many theories and turn it into a blah at best mystery. Where was the mystery, where was the secret to the possession of the Amber Room, and where was the intricate plot and climax? I for one am still searching for it, as I guess historians are still searching for the real Amber Room.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    Very predictable

    I picked up the book after reading the synopsis. I was intriqued by the idea and the first chapter caught my attention. After that it was all downhill. The plot was very predictable and I could tell the ending about a third of the way through the book. I kept expecting a twist since it was so predictable and it never happened.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2003

    Chock Full of Adventure and Intrigue. This has it all!

    Steve Berry has turned out a first novel that is every bit as good as a Grisham, a Clancy, a Crichton, and any other writer of the adventure/thriller genre I can think of. He's brought fresh air to the market, and I look forward to all the books this creative mind can generate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Loved it

    I am a pucky ready and couldn't put it down. I was hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Beth

    Ugh....*plugs my ears* U CANNOT LURE ME TO AUBURN! YOU CANNOT LURE ME TO AUBURN! YOU CANNOT LURE ME TO AUBURN!.......not working -,-

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Not To Be Missed!

    Just discovered this author, and love his work! I've read two of his books and ready for another one. I especially enjoy the historical part of his books. Once you start you won't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Great!

    I thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The book is a great and easy read. Pure Berry-entertaining and light: full of historical facts to create his plot.

    The Amber Room by Steve Berry

    The Amber room was created in St. Petersburg, Russia, in the mid XVIIIth century. It consisted of 100,000 pieces of jewel grade amber, cut 5mm thick, polished, sometimes heated to change the color, then glued jigsaw-puzzle-style onto oak panels and fashioned to walls 30 by 13 feet. There were also a variety of fanciful figurines, floral garlands, tulips, roses, seashells, monograms, and rocaille: all made of amber in shades of brown, red, yellow, and orange. It's resting place survived 170 years and the Russian revolution only to be looted by the Nazis in 1941. The panels disappeared in 1945 and have never been seen since. This book deals with theories and fictional characters of its looting and disappearance.

    The maim characters are Judge Rachel Bates-Cutler and her ex husband Layers Paul Cutler. The Judge's father, Karol Borya Yvo and his friend Chapaer Dana have been corresponding about their dealings with the transport of the loot by Hermann Goring, Hitler's second in command and responsible for most of the art looting in WWII.

    The bad guys are a group of nine very rich and eccentric European art collectors: "The Retrievers of Lost Antiquities"; mainly two of the respective families: Monica and Franz Fellner of Germany with their Acquisitor-the one that does all the stealing, killing and any illegal work to acquire the loot-Christian Knoll. The other family is Ernst
    Loring of the Czech Republic and his Acquisitor, Suzanne Danzer.

    Following leads thorough different pathways, Suzanne Danzer and Christian Knoll discover that Karl Bates, Rachel's father-who had changed his name back to Karol Borya-was in the "Russian Registry" as one of the prisoners involved in the theft of the Amber Room by Hermann Goring. Knoll gets to Borya and kills him.

    In Borya's will, there are letters that disclose all the correspondence between Borya and his cell mate Chapaer Dana; with may lead to the localization of the famous Amber Room. Even though her father tells Rachel not to go after the Amber Room, she takes flight to Frankfurt and a rental to Burg Herz, Germany to find Chapaer Dana. Knoll paid a cabdriver to almost kill Rachel, so that he can save her, thus befriending her. He uses his charm to get all the information Rachel has. They are going to go together to visit Chapaer Dana.

    Unfortunately, Suzanne Danzer beats both of them to Dana; and kills him before either one can talk to him-however she uses Dana to draw a map of a mine to create a trap for Knoll and Rachel. As they enter the mine, an explosion occurs, however both Rachel and Knoll survive: Knoll disappears and leaves Rachel behind. Rachel is rescued by tourists and understands that not only did Knoll left her there to die but she also remembers that Knoll had taken a knife and was about to kill her to kill her before the explosion occurred.

    Suzanne had befriended Paul, and warned him about Knoll. When Rachel does not check in with him after two days, Paul goes to Germany, so Rachel wakes up in the hospital next to Paul. This is the beginning of their reconciliation.

    Before long, they are in over their heads. Aided by a fortune hunter by the name of Wayland McCoy they are locked in a treacherous game with both killers-Knoll and Danzer-and they find themselves in a collision course with both The Fellners and Ernst Loring-the forces of greed, power and history itself.

    The book is a great and easy read. Pure B

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Amber Room

    The protagonists were not believable, especially with respect to their interaction with 'the bad guys (and girls)'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I Loved the Amber Room Then & Now- Just Bought The Audio Version

    I was one of the first people I know of to have read Steve Berry's Debut Amber Room. I just bought the audio version so I can listen to it while I'm driving. The Amber room is still one of the most intriging mysteries that I've ever read. It made me an instant fan of Steve Berry. Strap on your seat belt, and open that book, you're in for the ride of your life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Gripping story

    I was hooked from the first page. The storyline of the Amber Room, which I remember hearing about from my elder relatives in my childhood, woven into a great mystery was fantastic. Another great book by Steve Berry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    I've Found my Light

    This is a great book that i recommend to everyone. He makes the unexpected happen. Steve Berry is Brilliant and im going to barnes and noble to buy his newest book. In this book, anything can happen. im not the one who goes around reading every day, but Berry makes me want to do it. THANK YOU.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    SUPERB READING OF A SUSPENSEFUL DEBUT NOVEL

    To borrow an old radio show title, 'I Love A Mystery'! For me, the mystery is even more intriguing when it is based on an actual occurrence, a crime that to date remains unsolved. So often in the case of an event that has garnered much newsprint, many will offer solutions or imagined scenarios based on the incident. Such is the case with this suspenseful debut novel, superbly read by actor/writer Scott Brick. In actuality, the Amber Room was a hall like structure with walls covered in amber and semiprecious stones. Presented by Germany to Russia's Czar Peter the Great in 1716, it was lost when the Germans overran Russia during World War II. Theories abound as to its fate, and Steve Berry's well thought tale brings it to the fore once again. Judge Rachel Cutler is one tough cookie as we learn in the opening of The Amber Room. She's good at what she does and enjoys doing it. Her father has what he believes are clues as to the location of the Amber Room and when he dies unexpectedly, the secrets he has kept are made known. Cutler doesn't believe for a moment that her father's death was due to natural causes, so she and her ex husband, Paul, go to Germany in search of answers. Little do they know that they're not alone in their quest - others seek to discover the whereabouts of the Amber Room, including two unscrupulous collectors who compete to find lost or stolen pieces of art. Thus begins an exciting danger filled chase throughout Europe. Stakes are high and lives imperiled in this quest for a treasure. Narrator Scott Brick has a mantel crowded with awards for his voice performances. One more may well be on its way for his reading of The Amber Room. Highly recommended. - Gail Cooke

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8